View Full Version : First Jack on SP's
Archer
06-09-2006, 02:54 PM
Hit the water at 6:30am this morning for a fish with Mick on the Richmond. Rivers still dirty from last weeks rain but clean enough on the high water for flicking SP's around.
Headed downstream to find some clearer water starting with a run along the walls. Both Mick and myself both dropped good fish about 10mins into our first run against the incoming tide. After a few good hits i snagged up on the rock work and being the lazy bugger i am grabbed the 5Kg Raider pre riggged with a Snapback in watermelon, 1st cast Bump hrmm re cast to same area few metres out from the wall and im slammed by a good fish. Some good runs at the wall and than upstream had me calling it for a Jew first off. To see those lovely crimson red flanks down deep as i worked it up was a bit of a surprise to be honest. What a lovely way to start the day my first Jack on SP's coming in at 50cm. To say i was happy would be an understatment of the century. Whilst i have caught a few jacks over the last few years never on SP always on bait. My goal for the season was a Jack on a rubber and well the season hasnt really even started yet and i can add another fish to the growing captureed on SP's list. 8-)
Rest of the day was fairly uneventful even the smallish bream and lizards were slow between hits. Still no complaints from me what a top day. :D
Joe
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/Jack.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/jack2.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v125/Archer/jack1.jpg
Canoedle
06-09-2006, 03:01 PM
Awesome looking jack Joe, lucky bugga! ;)
Smailesy
06-09-2006, 03:15 PM
sounds like a great day what about the fangs on that jack
far.kwirk
06-09-2006, 03:19 PM
If I landed that I would still be smiling at Xmas :). Well done mate.
fish2eat
06-09-2006, 03:29 PM
what an absolute corker of a fish, on plastics and at the threshhold of the season.....very well done [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]
themisses
06-09-2006, 03:33 PM
Awsome Fish!!
Great fish, shallow fried jack with chilli sause mmmmmm ;D ;D
Cheers Ian
T-roy
06-09-2006, 05:05 PM
Great fish mate, their my favorite to chase
T-roy
Archer
06-09-2006, 05:10 PM
Thanks guys. ;)
nathan_fishing
06-09-2006, 05:39 PM
nice jack sp hears one that i got!
Fisher4life
06-09-2006, 05:41 PM
Top fish there. That particular plastic seems to be a real jack of all trades, always a reliable choice ;)
gregdeeth
06-09-2006, 06:00 PM
congrats on the first sp jack. its a beauty as well. the first of many
maxwellson
06-09-2006, 06:06 PM
im jealous ;D ;D
great fish archer
what a start !!!
wallow in it mate.. ;D ;D ;D
i would... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
congratulations to ya !!
cheers Maxi
06-09-2006, 06:59 PM
Archer
mate you must have been happy as i see you must have celebrated hard as there is a empty botle of grants in the back ground
Steven
Robo29
06-09-2006, 07:02 PM
is there a better fish in the sea
candogu
06-09-2006, 07:12 PM
great work :) ball biter jack mate 8-)
Archer
06-09-2006, 07:29 PM
Archer
mate you must have been happy as i see you must have celebrated hard as there is a empty botle of grants in the back ground
Steven
Rofl ;D ;D
06-09-2006, 07:35 PM
I have to give Jack fishing another go after seeing your success. I have tried and come close to getting them but that was in the days that I was using insuperior quality gear. Slightly better armed these days so I hope to do as well as you have. Well done!
maxwellson
06-09-2006, 07:38 PM
gees robo 29
what a question after that brute !! ;D ;D ;D
archer ????
the balls in your court... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
chillihead
06-09-2006, 07:44 PM
HEY WHO MAKES THAT LURE HANGING OUT OF HIS GOB!!!!
mate says it is a Berkley?
Bloody corka of a Jack mate!!!!
Now you can say "JACK LIVES HERE"
Archer
06-09-2006, 08:07 PM
gees robo 29
what a question after that brute !! ;D ;D ;D
archer ????
the balls in your court... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Have to agree wholeheartdly bloody great tasting fish!
06-09-2006, 08:10 PM
:'( My post went missing.... And it was a good stab at Karl :'(
Top jack mate! It's a cracker!
Chillihead - It's a snapback
Archer
06-09-2006, 08:13 PM
HEY WHO MAKES THAT LURE HANGING OUT OF HIS GOB!!!!
mate says it is a Berkley?
Bloody corka of a Jack mate!!!!
Now you can say "JACK LIVES HERE"
Not overly sure it has Terminator written on the top of the pack??
Terminator Snapbacks...Great rubbers last for ages bit more exxy than some of the others but even after that Jack had a good old chew on it the SP was fine so yeh they last really well. Bit of a pain to get on the jig heads because of how strecthy they are but once youve used em a few times you get the hang of it.
Joe
BrandonH
06-09-2006, 08:16 PM
Great catch Archer!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) :) :) :) only 10cms longer than my best :-[ lol, I can't wait to get onto some that size!!!! ;) I have a pack of them watermelon snapbacks ;) Only managed a good creek taylor on them so far.. Might have to give them a go next trip out!! But as you said its not really seasion for them yet :'( Will just have to wait till its time or jag one if I am lucky enough!!!!
Tight lines
Brandon...
chillihead
06-09-2006, 08:57 PM
Thanks archer much appreciated I'm going chasing Jack's this Summer with Maxwellson...that's if he will show me the right spots to target!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D
Slient
07-09-2006, 01:07 AM
Archer,
Good job and know how you feel "high" after first MJ on SP... :D
Question time - Does Richmond River have common MJ and seem interesting that MJ can be found further south away from Brisvegas...
I remember and saw a thread long time ago that MJ has been caught in Sydney... :-/
Happpy fishing
Silent
maxwellson
07-09-2006, 05:55 AM
nah silent noy many red terrors down this way ;D ;D ;D
they are caught (by those in the know) as far down as coffs harbour and beyond !!!
cmon chillhead......ive got to find them first......then you can get on your knees ;D ;D ;D ;D
Archer
07-09-2006, 07:04 AM
Archer,
Question time - Does Richmond River have common MJ and seem interesting that MJ can be found further south away from Brisvegas...
I remember and saw a thread long time ago that MJ has been caught in Sydney... :-/
Happpy fishing
Silent
There more common down here than alot of people think they are but for what ever reason theres not that many in the know and those that are tend to keep it rather quiet. I would say its easy to get one on the Gold coast or in Brissy, There common enough to target specifically. The Clarance also holds ALOT of Jacks but again there not talked about as much as north of the border.
Lets put it this way most of my fishing from now untill late March will be targeting Red fish. ;)
P.S Where this one was caught isnt a normaly "jack" spot more a luck catch than anything...But ill take it. ;D
richieboy
07-09-2006, 07:13 AM
Nice fish Archer. Great fight I bet. looking fwd to getting onto a few myself.
Richy
Craigus
07-09-2006, 08:25 AM
Great fish Archer! :o
Canoedle
07-09-2006, 09:21 AM
:'( My post went missing.... And it was a good stab at Karl :'(
NO ROD HOLDERS FOR YOU!
07-09-2006, 11:00 AM
NO ROD HOLDERS FOR YOU!
HA HA HA HA ;D
You know you love it!!!
And if it wasn't me, Joe would've done it ;)
P.S Where this one was caught isnt a normaly "jack" spot more a luck catch than anything...But ill take it. ;D
was it in the carpark? ;D ;D ;D
I got my first jack (on SP too) in a canal after a flood!!
Rock walls are a good location for jack. just look at the popular spots in the tweed river and see how they compare to where you were in the richmond. steep sloping rockwalls with plenty of food passing by. lots of crevices to launch an ambush or seek shelter from the tide and any predators (if there is such a monster that eats jacks). I reckon Ballina is prime jack territory that is often overlooked.
congrats on a fine catch. I'm sure you'll nail plenty more this season. I'll have to come down(home) one day and give the richmond a go.
cheers, Roo.
Matthias
07-09-2006, 11:18 AM
Nice fish Archer. Those snapbacks are great. I have seen some big jacks while snorkling around Ballina. Well done.
Silent- there have been jacks recorded down in sydney, this is because the fingerlings (after hatching)swim from the inshore reefs to the nearest estuary, so prob the occasional one would get taken by the current far south.
Pete.
lattic
07-09-2006, 01:36 PM
well done mate, top jack and a ripper for the start of the season, spent a few hours up the creek last night with a few poddy mullets, not even a bump , very frustrating stuff.
muz
corby1
07-09-2006, 08:54 PM
werent my pics good enough. and did you let everyone know i actually caught it lol
nah was a good day even though i came home empty handed.
and a great fish
Archer
07-09-2006, 09:36 PM
werent my pics good enough. and did you let everyone know i actually caught it lol
nah was a good day even though i came home empty handed.
and a great fish
HAHA Mick i was going to let everyone know how it took you 4 hours to boat your first fish....Hrmm come to think of it that lizard didnt actually get to the boat. :P
Those "pics" you took were actually Movies lol so just aswell i had forgotten the knife. Must have bumped the camera switch when i got it out of the bag. :-[
White_Steenbras
08-09-2006, 12:19 AM
Nice Jack mate, I have only ever caught them on plakkys, yet to carck the 50cm mark though, top effort and a great PB.
Looking forward to the warmer Jack weather.
stonecold
09-09-2006, 08:09 AM
Nice work Archer, always liked Ballina as prime jack country. Along with Brunswick and Evans rivers, I had a half hearted attempt last season but until now I've been to busy chasing jew. Now you've got me curious again I'll have to take up Seans jack challenge.
Cheers Mark
chicken
09-09-2006, 03:35 PM
Great fish [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]