View Full Version : Great plakky session

White_Steenbras
08-09-2006, 07:32 PM
Howzit going all.

Well after getting back from S.Afr, moving house and chasing Whiting on bait over the past few weeks, I decided to try my old favourite spot with the plastics this arvo.

1st cast of the day was a little flatty that released itself as I was about to help it....mmmmm great start. Had a few more flicks and then moved along a little further to my possie where I usaully pick up the odd small Jew.

I wasn't using my usual Gulps, had a 75mm squidgy in gold on as it suited the discoloured water perfectly. Cast out up current and started my drift towards me, a couple of twitches to feel where my lure was in the current and Bang zzzzzzz zzzzzz zzzzz, I'm thinking this is a nice Jewie, then thinking good flatty, then big Tailor, this fish just slugged it out using the current so well pulling bits of drag, changing direction constantly, at this stage I was pretty chuffed that I decided to up the leader to 14lb, a couple more runs and finally I see a lovely looking Snapper round the 60cm mark, wahoooooooooo. After a few nevous moments trying to lift it out of the water my final measurement was 57cm. I was so stoked and called the girl straight away to cancel dinner plans tonight, we are having Snapper baby.

Ran to the car and grabbed the esky with shaking hands hoping that I would pick a few more up, fished for another hour for 3 more flatty's biggest going 61cm, lucky day for them as I already had dinner stiched up. Had one more good run and dropped the fish so called it a day as I had some preparation to take care of for our dinner.

I really enjoyed todays session and I think the I'll leave the Whiting in peace for a while as I have missed feeling those solid bumps I get fishing the Plakkys.

Happy fishing to all and vote the Fishing Party.

Chhers Barnesy ;)

08-09-2006, 08:02 PM
Nice snapper. Well done. Did you take some pics of it? Where abouts did you fish?

Great_White
08-09-2006, 08:15 PM
Well done , would love to see the photo's :) :) :)

What sort of SP's did you use and what depth of water did you fish ;)

Good to meet you yesterday Poodroo :D :D :D

Peter ;)

Bundy_Burp
08-09-2006, 09:19 PM
Yes would love to see some pics sounds like a great session .

Bundy 8-)

solwota
09-09-2006, 06:07 AM
nice fish steenbras especially for land based

richard

09-09-2006, 06:41 AM
Well done , would love to see the photo's :) :) :)

What sort of SP's did you use and what depth of water did you fish ;)

Good to meet you yesterday Poodroo :D :D :D

Peter ;)

Likewise Peter. It never ceases to amaze me at how I get to meet people some days. Never thought I would have met you whilst on the job, always thought it would be more likely to be out on the water. (Perhaps me in your boat and Herm in Scalem's) ;D ;D ;D

09-09-2006, 07:38 AM
Ist to the thread writer. Barnesy, am I right in saying you did this from land?? If that's the case, your results are truely impressive! :o I thought, as you are trying to guess what fish, you might have wondered if the quarry was another squid ;D ;D Not so eh?

Peter/ Poodroo - Is it any wonder why I have a top- of- the- range repco mountain bike bought at a very good price!! Just need to get this pergola project out of the way, and then we are on!! Have to get out in the paddock soon, I keep failing to resist the specials at various shops for plastics, so my Berkley bag is overflowing. ;D There's one of two solutions.. Buy another bag or use up the plastics I have ::) ::)

Barnesy, again, well done! I wonder if you have a boat or access to one, or just prefer having a flick off this secret land based spot you keep catching fish from???

richieboy
09-09-2006, 08:11 AM
Don't worry Scalem. I think his boat plans are in the making but as he's told me he loves his landbased fishing as well.
Not too bad at it either I must say Barnsey. (Don't get a head swell champ :P )
On the few occasions I've been fishing with him he always seems to pull a few decent ones for a feed. Great post mate, and we're all waiting for what next you're going to catch landbased. Just don't do it when I'm with ya. You've made me look bad enough times. ;D ;D
Will be in touch this arvo after footy champ to let ya know if we are on for Sunday.

Richie ;)

Craigus
09-09-2006, 04:01 PM
Great snapper Barnsey, Super effort land based.

flickflack
09-09-2006, 04:15 PM
Barnsey

Good session mate, trust you had a good holiday in SA

Cheers Rod

T1
09-09-2006, 10:38 PM
ALLEGEDLY!!! ;) When are you going to get a camera?! No doubt you'll have it on your phone...

Take Care T

gregdeeth
10-09-2006, 09:36 AM
great work, from land too!

White_Steenbras
11-09-2006, 10:52 AM
Cheers Fellows,

Scalem, problem with the squid is that Richie has caught them all, ha ha. I've found a new spot now for squid, don't think they have ever seen a jig b4, had some great results there already, but this ones a hush spot. And yes mate, all landbased.

HI Rod, you are right had a great time spending the $$$$, still pretty cheap there so might head again next year, should try and organise a fishing trip.

Hey Richie, great to see you yesterday, got 1 off the wall afterwards, not a lot around though plus water clarity didn't help. Picked up a 53cm Liz though which was turned into a curry, left for home straight after I got him.

T1, How was your first Fathers Day my Friend, thanks for the call the other day, we will catch up soon.

Ahoy Barnesy ;D