View Full Version : Pleased to meet you- New member
Muddy_Toes
10-09-2006, 03:08 PM
Have been waiting for a rainy day to join Ausfish after having been avid readers (bordering on addiction, at times) of the posts in this section. Today appears to be that day!
Just wanted to introduce ourselves. We are a keen fishing couple (joined under the same user to start with as the skipper isn't so flash on the computer yet- though he's learning ::), so thought best to save you all the pain of reading double posts, etc) based on the southside.
We frequent the Logan River almost very saturday for a full day on the water, usually chasing bream, whiting and the odd flattie. Would love to get into the bigger stuff like jewies, so hopefully with some inspiration from you lot, we'll get there!
Spent a painful 7 hours on the logan yesterday with dirty water, wind blowing it's ass off and a truck load of weed for one 26cm whiting and an average bream. Last half hour came up trumps with 3 whiting over 33cm, even though by then it was blowing at least 20 knots- amazing what you'll do when faced with prospect of coming home with only 2 fish!! ;D See pic for total catch. Also had a visit from Fisheries around lunch time, not overly friendly but guess they're only doing their job- though was surprised they asked to see lifejackets and licence??
That'll do for a first post, but gotta say that we love reading all your great posts, learning a lot and sometimes end up in fits of laughter- seem like a friendly bunch not afraid to have a dig at each other!! ;)
Til later,
Technologically-challenged Skipper and his beer / fishing wench ;)
Muddy_Toes
10-09-2006, 03:12 PM
Sorry, think pics will need to be compressed before posting them- will work on it :'(
Great_White
10-09-2006, 03:18 PM
Hi MuddyToes, you need to have your photo's under 100 to post.
Welcome to ausfish to you and hubby ;)
My wife loves to fish as well she goes buy Herm :)
Have fun it's a great site ;) ;) ;)
Peter :)
10-09-2006, 04:01 PM
Welcome to Ausfish Muddy Toes. Yes you will find there are a bunch of great blokes here and very willing to part with knowledge to help a fellow fisherman/lady out. Occassionally you may even bump into one of us out there hey Great White? ;D ;D ;D Not sure what programs you use to edit your photos for shrinking down the file sizes etc but I can say that Paintshop Pro works well. You can download Adobe Photoshop free as well I believe too. A few programs out there do the same job and as Peter explained you need to use files 100 or less. Nice to have you onboard. ;)
Muddy_Toes
10-09-2006, 04:07 PM
Thanks Great White and Poodroo. Image files seem fine (now they are compressed) but for some reason they still won't attach. Have asked for help in the help section so won't bother you guys with it.
Will be getting an Ausfish sticker for the boat so will be identifiable soon!! ;)
10-09-2006, 04:10 PM
You're welcome. If you are still having troubles attaching pics after being in the help section I won't mind helping. That was a little dig at Great White in my last post because I was out on the job last Thursday and met him at his work. Always marvel at how small our world is at times. Happy fishing and great to meet you once again.
chief
10-09-2006, 04:29 PM
hi ya muddy toes, he's to many more posts from you and hopefully some better days of wheather ahead. cheers
maxwellson
10-09-2006, 04:52 PM
hi to you both welcome..
Muddy_Toes
10-09-2006, 05:23 PM
Had technicologically-adept neighbour pay a visit (probably shouldn't bag out old boy about crap computer skills!! ;D when suck at it myself!!) ;D ;D
Here they are:
wetnwild11
10-09-2006, 05:24 PM
Hi Muddy Toes, I guess you got the name from standing on too many Logan River sand banks ;) ;). Welcome to you both, you will no doubt enjoy Ausfish as much as I do ;D ;D ;D.
Eric
Muddy_Toes
10-09-2006, 05:24 PM
and another
10-09-2006, 05:29 PM
Those larger whiting are beauts. Well done. I live probably fairly close to you too in the Beenleigh area. Perhaps we could meet up for a fish sometime. When the weather clears up if I can't be someone's deckie I am contemplating a land based Jack hunt soon.
Murks
10-09-2006, 05:54 PM
welcome mr and mrs muddy toes, nice first post enjoy the ausfish banter
Seahorse
10-09-2006, 06:37 PM
i have been fishing around logan and pin and lately come home with nothing. Normally on here when people good some nice catches they tell everyone else the exact spot where the fish were caught. isnt that right fellas? ;)
Good luck, and have fun.
greg
Bundy_Burp
10-09-2006, 07:34 PM
Welcome to Ausfish Muddy Toes
Bundy 8-)
chrisfish
10-09-2006, 07:41 PM
Welcome Muddy Toes. I haven't fished the Logan for years, is it still productive? I know someone at Sunnybank who has asked for tips on it and I've just said try the sandbars between Carbrook and the mouth, and the further downriver you go, the better. I doubt I'd eat anything from around the Albert, the water quality gets pretty poor up there.
Any advice to pass on?
Chrisfish
10-09-2006, 07:43 PM
Welcome muddy toes,
We've quite a few husband and wife teams joining now and it's good to see. The Logan is 5 -10 mins down the road from me, but usually flogg it to death when the prawns are migrating in March/April, otherwise Snapper in the bay is too strong a magnet.
Hope you enjoy our company, don't be afraid to ask anything, and get yourself Ausfish stickers for your boat so we can say hello when out there. ;)
BilgeBoy
10-09-2006, 09:26 PM
Welcome to the mad house Muddy toes....
Ya first post and more hits than a sand bank. Great bunch here and will always get a great response to you post. Remember no question is stupid one....because I have asked them all. Enjoy and best of luck.
Seahorse
10-09-2006, 09:36 PM
thats right. no such thing as stupid questions , only stupid answers. ;D ;D ;D ;D
aussiefool
11-09-2006, 04:24 AM
welcome aboard to both of ya
Got_the_Fever
11-09-2006, 06:59 AM
Welcome aboard to both of you, this is a great place to learn and make new friends.
Kel
Welcome to both of you and hope you enjoy the laughs you pick up on this site!!
As silly as this may sound, i still have to ask... Are you both husband & wife or similiar, or father and son, or just 2 buddies?
It's just you don't get too many women who refer to themselves as 'wenches'... ;)
Take Care T
11-09-2006, 07:38 AM
Gidday and welcome :)
Beauty whiting you got...champion...betcha they were good in the pan.
Good to see some more people close to me. I'm just near the river at Loganholme.
Probably see you on the water somewhere some place real soon. :)
Now you know how to bung a picture on you'll have to put a picture of your boat up so everybody knows.
Cheers Scott
11-09-2006, 07:45 AM
Welcome to the site guys. It's a great site, and if you're like me, you'll be spending an awful lot of time on here! 8-)
There's heaps to learn, and everybody is keen to help with advice.
Enjoy yourselves!! :)
PS: Be careful of a bloke called Choppa up Bribie way. Just a bit of friendly advice.
Muddy_Toes
11-09-2006, 07:58 AM
Yes, last time I checked we were definitely a Mr and Ms Muddy Toes, T1!!
;) ;) - not married though.
Been told multiple times he's the captain and I should know my place (on the boat at least- but why is my place catching more fish than him then?? he he ;D) so thought wench would describe our on water relationship pretty well. ;) ;)
Only had the boat for 6 months and already got me pulling anchor, pumping yabbies, and gutting / filleting fish!! The beer bit is pretty self-explanatory, isn't it?? - just jokes, he's a very fair skipper (when he's got the no. 1 fish in the esky ;))
As for the secret spots...... well go to the logan (muddy toes) ramp, turn right, go 1km, turn right again, under the bridge, do a 360deg turn- clockwise only, and then you know that big tree on the left hand bank......well that's not it. ;) ;) ;) Probably wouldn't eat anything from there either, Chrisfish!!
We find the Logan fine for our purposes which is to get out on the water once a week, wet a line and usually come home with a decent feed. If nothing doing in river, can always head out and try powerlines??? It's nice and close to home for us so is perfect. Never come home empty handed so far but do need to be prepared to try everywhere in there.
In summer thinking about heading to Wello or similar to see if we can up the ante somewhat ;D ;D
Thanks for all your positive introductions. Sounds like this will be fun :D
Later,
Mr and Mrs Muddy Toes (quite like the sound of that!!)
solwota
11-09-2006, 09:14 AM
welcome aboard guys. You gotta love this site. It's it's own little community of nice helpful folk. Looking forward to more posts
richard
JasonT
11-09-2006, 02:27 PM
Welcome Mr & Mrs Muddy toes!
Going on reports from married members on this site - the couples seem to do quite well on the water!
Maybe my tactics are all wrong! Perhaps I should forget about techniques and tackle etc... and just get married!
Any takers ?
;D
Pitsta
11-09-2006, 04:16 PM
Welcome guys . Im pretty new myself !
This is a great site and a good insight
into the world of fishing..!!
mark ;)
the_baker
11-09-2006, 11:50 PM
hello & welcome to the site :)
dave.
Mr and Mrs Muddy Toes!
Welcome to Ausfish! :D
It is addictive and you can spend alot of time on here! ;) Warning - The housework may end up suffering! :-[
Another wife and husband team here and at the moment the tally is Herm - 2 Great White - Nil ;D ;D ;D
But he is trying so hard to catch up! :)
When you are coming up to Wello - let us know - we are just around the corner! and hopefully we might know where to go by then! ;) GW is reading over my sholder as I type and commented that he thought this last comment is a bit ambitious! ;D ;D ;D
:)Janine
seafarer3
14-09-2006, 07:40 AM
Welcome muddy toes
shayned
14-09-2006, 08:49 AM
Welcome on board.
Canoedle
14-09-2006, 09:04 AM
Muddy toes is better than muddy knees, which is what I got shortly after muddy toes last week trying to get out of my kayak at wivenhoe, hope we get LOTS of rain soon and put some water further up the banks.
Welcome to the forum. :)
_Dan_
14-09-2006, 09:59 AM
Welcome, im new also and live about 500 meters from the logan, may see you down there sometime..
Muddy_Toes
14-09-2006, 08:17 PM
Great to hear the gals outfishing the fellas, Herm. ;D ;D
Went to tackle shop on saturday and got chatting with the man that worked there. Thought he was lovely until he said that the reason why girls usually outfish guys is because we play less sport, and are a lot slower so don't tend to strike as fast and rip the hook away too quick!!- bit of a stereotype but don't mind being called slow if it means we catch more fishies ;D ;D What do you guys reckon??
Talking about housework.....Gotta love the friday nights you both have a packet of Twisties for dinner because there isn't enough time after rod and tackle preparation for the weekend to make a well balanced meal!!- at least the priorities are right!!
Never been to Wello either so were going to wait for the weather to sorts itself out and then plan a trip. Will give you a yell when we go and maybe we can head out together- like the blind leading the blind- sounds like fun ;)
Let the battle of the sexes begin!! Look out GW ;)
Muddy knees doesn't sound like fun, Canoedle. You're not the lunatic on the motorised kayak in the logan sometimes, are you?? Saw the post about the kayak guy that caught the stonker flattie in the logan a few weeks back and then saw him out in the middle of the channel the weekend after- that's committment!! :D
While on the topic of drought (and this may have already been discussed elsewhere) but do level 3 water restrictions prevent you from giving your boat a quick spray with the hose and flushing the motor for a few minutes?? Surely it becomes a bit of a safety issue if your boat isn't properly maintained??- what do other boaties do?? have seen a few boats at Carlovers lately....
Maybe will see you out on the water Dan. Chances are we already have and not known it. 8-)
Black Ausfish stickers have been ordered so will be identifiable soon. Mr Muddy Toes is a bit funny about his anonimity so doesn't want to post a pic of the boat yet- sorry. Sure when he scores his next great catch though that he won't mind having his face plastered all over the site though... he he he.. :D
Thanks again for all your friendly intros. Very sad as can't head out this weekend due to family committments, so those of you that do- give it HEAPS!!!!!!!
Later,
Mr and Ms MT