View Full Version : 92cm FLATHEAD PB!!!
flickflack
13-09-2006, 02:13 PM
Hi All
After a few good sessions up at the pin with a few fish in the 80's I decided to try in the Tweed for the big girls. I got my pb from there last year at 89cm so wanted to chase them hard this year to try and break 90. I jumped out of bed as soon as the alarm went off and after a bit of indecision over the weather decided to chuck in the wet weather gear and head out. Put the boat in and headed for one of my favourite spots. On the first drift I had a good hit and set the hooks into what felt like a good fish. It was a short tussle because of the heavy gear I use when chasing them but when the big girl came up next to the boat I went a bit shaky. The Flattie had a head like a shovel and even though I had a huge net it was a battle to get her in there. I headed over to the bank and convinced an oldie on the bank to take a few pics for me. A quick measure and she went 92cm ;D ;Dwoohoo my biggest Flattie yet!! I popped her back in the water and watched her swim off. An awesome morning in spite of the weather.
Cheers Roderick
flickflack
13-09-2006, 02:14 PM
the release ;)
_Dan_
13-09-2006, 02:33 PM
Very nice fish mate... Congrats
13-09-2006, 02:33 PM
top stuff Rod.
fish2eat
13-09-2006, 02:34 PM
yep......she's a beauty
good on you for releasing her, even though you could have kept her, in NSW you can keep one flattie over 70cm.
gregdeeth
13-09-2006, 02:35 PM
congrats on your pb, that girl is huge, its good to see some big ones coming from down this way. awsome photos from your bystander too.
Murks
13-09-2006, 02:41 PM
excellent work mate and well done on the release
Fisher4life
13-09-2006, 02:50 PM
Top stuff, and as mentioned above, it's good to see that you released the big girl.
Congrats on the new PB
Creek_Vermin
13-09-2006, 02:52 PM
nice fish! what did u catch it on?
JasonT
13-09-2006, 02:54 PM
Nice fish Rod!
Seems the fish don't care too much about the weather!
I've had better luck on overcast and rainy days than I've had on fine clear days..!
Thanks too for releasing it! I can't bring myself to keep the big ones either! They're too important.
Jason
13-09-2006, 03:03 PM
Cracker of a flatty Rod
Now you'll be chasing the three figure job
Excellent PB
Steven
mickstar001
13-09-2006, 03:06 PM
Thats a cracker FlickFlack ;)Well done.
keen_as_mustard
13-09-2006, 03:08 PM
Rod - top fish that!
In future though to make sure you have a photographer on board, let me know when you are going and I'll come along - might even bring a rod or two ;D ;D
See you at the Classic
Marty
Nelster
13-09-2006, 03:39 PM
mate looks like a turned down a good fishing session this morning.. o well these things happen..
but now that the tonsils are gone .. i'm not going to get sick some much..
sweet fish mate .. i'm sure that will be on the front page of the brag book and in the next fishing column.
cheers.
13-09-2006, 03:42 PM
Wow Rod. You're a man of many talents! What a beautiful girl. Congratulations on your PB and maybe your "oldie" photographer has just snapped the cover pic for the next NSW FM???? :o
Zulu_1
13-09-2006, 03:52 PM
Top work mate nice fish ;)
Smailesy
13-09-2006, 04:25 PM
wow that is a nice fish mate well done
13-09-2006, 04:26 PM
An outstanding catch!
Very well done!! :)
13-09-2006, 04:33 PM
Congrats on the nice flatty mate. That is one of the best if not the best I have seen. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
maxwellson
13-09-2006, 04:36 PM
congrats mate !!
great colours on the old girl !
good to know that there are still plenty of fair sports fishers out there who practice the CPR method of bragging rights. ;D ;D ;D
(C atch P hoto R elease)
cheers Maxi
chrisfish
13-09-2006, 04:40 PM
What a ripper of a flathead, good one.
Gorilla_in_Manila
13-09-2006, 04:40 PM
Great fish, well done.
Hope you told her about the QLD slot limit and to stay on the north side of the tweed. ;)
Jeff
flickflack
13-09-2006, 04:53 PM
Keith I got the big fish on an Atomic 6 inch shad
Thanks guys yeah its hard to believe that you can still keep one in NSW, I think that a lot of guys would agree that their are a lot more big fish around lately so it must be working in QLD
Cheers Rod
mylestom
13-09-2006, 04:56 PM
Congratulations on you PB and well done on the release.
Pity a lot more anglers in NSW would not do the same.
We have introduced for the local fishing comp down here three years ago that all flathead over 70cm can only be weighed and entered in Catch n Release.
If you don't let the breeders go there will be nothing left for our kids and grandkids.
Congratulations on good photos as well.
Good promotion for ALL Caring Fishers.
Trev
NeilD
13-09-2006, 05:15 PM
That is one heck of a Lizard. The Tweed certainly produces some amazing fishing at times. Great effort and well deserved as most would have let the conditions put them off.
far.kwirk
13-09-2006, 05:30 PM
Aww man. I want one. ;) Great work there on the catch and release. Imagine what she'll be like in a couple of years
maxwellson
13-09-2006, 05:42 PM
Mylestom..
where does that comp exist ???
for once the caneys have got it right.. ;D ;D ;D
no seriously guys , i wish our stupid hieracy would see the sense in the slot size, it irks me to think of the breeders still being killed down here.
bloody stupid to put it mildly. our local paper runs a year long comp. and blatently condones (by way of publishing pics) the killing of female flathead. myself and a couple of other guys have expressed our disgust in this, but the editor is a moron and couldnt give a **** about it.
any thoughts on how we could make him see the sense in making the flathead live weigh in only ???
i have suggested this, but it fell on deaf ears (again)
maybe if some of you guys were to expell some of your disgust on him it might help the cause..
every week 3.5 4,0 3.3 4.8 kgs
im getting cranky now >:( >:( >:(
thats enough ;D ;D
cheers maxi
ps. will post e mail address if any takers
thanks guys.... and sorry to hijack your thread flick flack
fishin_till_late
13-09-2006, 05:46 PM
Well done Rod that's a beast of a fish.
Great to see some massive flatties coming out of Tweed.
I'm hoping to get into them soon.
cheers jono
Great_White
13-09-2006, 05:47 PM
That's huge :o :o :o
Well done on the catch and release, have not seen a bigger flatty than that. What sort of gear were you using ????
Peter ;)
ele-phrez
13-09-2006, 05:55 PM
monster flattie ;)
flickflack
13-09-2006, 06:01 PM
Great White
Mate I use very heavy gear and specifically target them. I only got 2 bites for the morning, the flattie and a gt. I use an 8 to 10kg baitcaster with a daiwa blacksheep and xos Softies.
I did an article on deepwater jigging for big flatties for GO FISHING MAGAZINE, it should be out this month. Have a read its got heaps of detail in it.
Cheers Rod
heathrow69
13-09-2006, 06:09 PM
flickflack well done on your new pb!!!!! ;) great pics of the fish. it is prob the biggest i have seen.
Congrats 8-)
Mullet_Musketeer
13-09-2006, 06:49 PM
Brilliant fish - an estuary fishermans dream - well done
Steven78
13-09-2006, 06:55 PM
Well Done, Mate I would love to see ya next post
bdowdy
13-09-2006, 07:13 PM
;)as one legend would say ( crikey mate thats a croc) bloody ripper fish mate congrats. cheers bdowdy ;)
chief
13-09-2006, 07:26 PM
great fish mate and the old boy was pretty handy with the camera, Well done
13-09-2006, 07:28 PM
Looks like the same one I caught & released at the 'Pin' two years ago, but back then she was only 89 cm ;D
She must be on a holiday down at the Tweed.
Never ceases to amaze me some of the quality fish still to be found at the 'Pin'
Well done FF [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
freddyfish
13-09-2006, 07:29 PM
That is a huge flatty
Brad
Bundy_Burp
13-09-2006, 07:41 PM
Congratuktions on the PB and very well done on the release .
Bundy 8-)
RobSee
13-09-2006, 09:10 PM
Top Fish Rod,
That would have beaten the biggest fisg caught at the classic for the last 3 years I think. Greenie got one 91 last year, and prior to that it was 89 in 2004 I think.
Greenie won a sounder for his trouble.
Rod, do you find that your Tweed technique works as well att he pin, given thatt here are no rock walls really in the area up there?
13-09-2006, 09:28 PM
:o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o
They don't come much bigger do they? If they did, you'd have to have it shod ;D ;D
flickflack
13-09-2006, 09:38 PM
It works anywhere that there is deep water.I use a very similar technique for the Jewies , just lighter gear.I like to fish right under my sounder on the bowmount.
Cheers Rod
vanurose
14-09-2006, 03:37 AM
Your photo should be on the front cover of a magazine. I am still in awe of your catch, but more in awe of the fact that you let her go to breed more just like her.
Another photo that took my breath away was the one of the 10kg Trevally from a kayak.
You do all the fishos of the future a great service by your catch and release
Rose
aussiefool
14-09-2006, 05:39 AM
What can I say that has not been said before? ..... nothing mate so I'll repeat it well done on your P.B. and release. Almost makes me want to put the boat in and target them (flathead) but as I do not eat flatties I choose not to fish for them in the first place just incase I gut hook one by accendent.
Anyway top stuff mate
Aussiefool
part_time
14-09-2006, 08:40 AM
Great size mate, well done on a PB ,makes you feel good to see the photo of her being released...
snapperm8
14-09-2006, 08:55 AM
nice flattie m8 :D
flickflack
14-09-2006, 10:42 AM
Thanks guys, they are too good at that size to catch only once. Could you imagine how many lures and baits that fish would have seen in its life :o
Rod
14-09-2006, 11:14 AM
Great catch Rod, well done indeed. Not only thinking of how many baits & lures the big girl would have seen but how many little babies she has produced :o
Thats something she can continue to do now thanks to you, well done again on an excellent catch & release.
Cheers and Beers
SCOTTYGC
14-09-2006, 11:53 AM
great catch rod
can you tell me what ramp you will be useing for the classic so i can follow you around ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
I will be keeping my eye out for that mag to have a read on your thoughts
scotty
slymo
14-09-2006, 01:37 PM
Nice work and great photo to boot! :)
Slime
richieboy
14-09-2006, 03:54 PM
Well done ROD. What a croc!!
Rich ;)
Craigus
14-09-2006, 04:02 PM
Massive Flatty Rod. Well Done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Why-ting
14-09-2006, 07:04 PM
That's the way Rod, use up all your luck before the flattie classic. :)
Well done mate great fish.
Cheers Whytey
chicken
14-09-2006, 08:53 PM
Top stuff [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
matthill80
14-09-2006, 09:12 PM
top flattie rod u chased them up around the black watches before? i have seen some monsters nailed up that way
top fish mate well done
cheers matt
flickflack
14-09-2006, 09:51 PM
Yeah mate have got a few up around the 70's there, there are normally pretty good numbers up that way.
Cheers Rod
gogecko
15-09-2006, 01:48 PM
Great pb rod. Where can I buy Go Fishing mag? I dont think Ive seen it before.
Do most newsagents carry it?
flickflack
15-09-2006, 02:34 PM
Yeah most of them carry it, it doesnt come out every month though so you have to keep a look out for it.
There are some good pieces in it. I think the September issue should be coming in about 2 weeks.
Cheers Rod
Franco
16-09-2006, 09:36 AM
Big Fella!!
Brilliant fish! Nice to see you giving your boat a little character with the oyster paintwork finishing touches as well!! We might have to change your habits when you buy a glass boat!
You've upset Brad now coz you've peaked too early before the Classic ....... all your Karma used up too early bud! You're in trouble now!
Top catch and report ...... but please refrain from putting more photos of you in magazines where small, innocent children may see them ...... kids find big, brown, slimey, spikey, OS flathead already scarey enough without your mug next to it!! Aaaarrrrrrggggggghhhhhhhhh!!!!!! LMAO ;D ;D ;D
See ya soon buddy!
nathan_fishing
16-09-2006, 07:03 PM
nice fish i got this on a 2inch power bait>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Rogue2
17-09-2006, 05:17 PM
Dam that is a monster.....Well done
:o :o :o