View Full Version : Windy & Rainy Up the Passage

Mullet_Musketeer
17-09-2006, 11:40 AM
I couldn’t fish on Friday as my oldest was off sick from school. I did think of taking him out but the raging winds would probably not have been good for his fever so I had to back off and was fortunately granted permission to go out on Saturday instead.

Left at three am and headed up to Bribie - there were a few showers around but a little less wind. I stopped off first for a fish off the ledge on the mainland side of the Bribie Island Bridge. I like to have the bridge lights to fish by as it’s a bit creepy wandering around in the water in your waders in the dark. I wandered out to about the edge of the main channel and nearly jumped out of my skin as one of the resident dolphins surged forward after some baitfish about ten yards away. There were plenty of rays around but I only got a few tentative nibbles on the soft plastics so I wandered back to the car.

It was raining a bit now so I got a coffee from the servo and drove down to Buckley’s Hole and waited for it to drop off a bit. I should mention that the new rod is a Gary Harvey custom built Samurai 6ft 6 1-3 kg. It feels great - really light and great for the plastics. I was obviously keen to christen it. The rain stopped and I wandered out as close as I could to the big drop off at Buckley’s Hole but with low tide at 10.55am, I was still a fair way off it and the big winds had left behind a fairly heavy swell which did not help. I was casting out over it and I got snagged a few times on the edge and then finally around 6.10 am I got a nice 29cm Bream on the Pumpkinseed 2” Minnow Grub. This was followed by a few pike and a tiny Fingermark who all hammered the Natural 2” Shrimp. As the clouds gathered the swell got even worse and the rain started so I ducked into a café for a bit of breakfast.

Once the rain stopped I went up to White Patch to flick around for some lizards. The weed was everywhere and I could not really get much of a rhythm going so after a couple of hours of wandering around there ( with only a couple of bites) it was back down to Buckley’s Hole by 11.00 am to see if the run in tide would be any better.

The rain had stopped and the water had calmed right down and sure enough about 11.30am I started to get a few more bites. A scout group from Brisbane had about 30 kids, all with bait rods fishing all along the beach. So I reckon we now had a good burley trail. By 12 noon I had caught and released two more pike and another small Bream. Around 1pm I finally hooked into a 43cm lizard using the new 3” Gulp Squid in the New Penny Colour. About ˝ an hours later I got a nicer flattie – this time on the Pumpkinseed 3” Minnow – he was just over 50cm and I towed him up to the beach to get him off the hook. The new rod performed excellently with both fish. At about 1:45pm I thought I would pack it in as it looked like more rain was coming. I wandered back across the mouth of the small lagoon and just before reaching the old breakwater, where the Scouts were fishing I got a nice hook up and pulled in another lizard – 46cm this time.

Seemed like a long day and pretty hard work but I ended up with a decent catch. I was surprised that dawn was so unproductive but maybe the wind, rain and swell did not help. Can’t wait for next week and I am very happy with the new rod. :)

chrisfish
17-09-2006, 12:55 PM
sounds like you put in a long day - glad to see you got some fish for your efforts :)

serene_lady
17-09-2006, 02:54 PM
Good report there Mullet. Looks like your persistance paid off. I have also had a couple of wet and windy trips this week but it was worth it as we got a good feed also. Bob.

Bundy_Burp
17-09-2006, 04:25 PM
Another great report musketeer and congrats on the new rod it sounds like it is working really well for you .

Bundy 8-)

Rogue2
17-09-2006, 05:10 PM
Thats a nice feed there. Must have kept the better half off the back for a while. Only thing ive been getting in the passage is sand crabs.

Ken :)

BR65
17-09-2006, 07:59 PM
Good fishin MM.
Never say no to fresh flatty fillets

snapperm8
17-09-2006, 08:11 PM
yer sounds like u stuck the hard days work in to get ur bag o well all the fun ]

17-09-2006, 09:00 PM
All for one,one for all, it looks like the muskateer got a good haul. ::)
Good to see that the hard work paid off and you at least got a feed for the effort. Well done.

robersl
18-09-2006, 06:36 PM
mullet
did you have waders on and fishing waist deep in water on sat at buckleys hole if you did i commented to my brother that you had to be nuts we were putting the pots out for a few sandies in front of there and saw someone fishing blowing a gale and swells up to about a metre at about 5.40 to early to be that deep in water nice catch by the way

Mullet_Musketeer
18-09-2006, 08:04 PM
That was me -completely nuts!!

18-09-2006, 08:08 PM
good catch mullet,,

i (thankfully,, now that the trucks back),, placed a few hours on sunday morn at the secret spot in ningi creek,,,, as you reported,,, the place is alive with bait at the moment,,, and i also pulled in a few sandies as well,,,

bream were the flavour of the morn,,, i fished from 5 til 8.30ish,,, and ended up with 7,,, and a handful of undersize pickers,,

heaps of cloud,, but no rain,,,i've got this thursday off due to hospital,,, but its an early appointment,,,so i'm planning on hitting it again in the arvo runup,,,

got a bit of catching up to do :) :) :) :)

Great_White
18-09-2006, 10:38 PM
M M good report and a nice catch to go with it. Let me tell you I would have filled those waders up pretty quickly if a Dolphin did that to me ;D ;D ;D

Peter :)

4x4frog
18-09-2006, 11:01 PM
Good report and catch as usual MulletM....BTW, I'd get that windy rainy passage looked at soon too, sounds a bit troublesome ;D ;D