View Full Version : Pin today  20/09/06

iank
20-09-2006, 05:10 PM
After yesterdays trip (see murphy strikes again in offshore reports) todays trip to the pin area chasing flatties went like clockwork, the only problem was some one forgot to invite the flatties to where we were fishing. ;D Have to also admit that we only fished for 4 hours (7-11am) for a total of 7 flathead caught, lengths were 42,51, 62,65,67,71 and74cm with the big one my mate's Mick, best on plastic yet. All of the fish came on the first 2 hours of the run out tide while the water was as clear as, once the water dirted up (normaly our favorite time) we couldent pull a hit so after 2 hours of nothing we decided to have an early mark. Mick did drop one fish that was over the 80cm mark, he got it to the boat only to watch it spit the hook and settle back to the botom (3 foot of crystal clear water) on dropping his plastic back in front of it, it grabed it again only to spit it again after a couple of short runs away from the boat, tried to tempt it again but it had lost interest in playing. :) At one stage I hooked a small flattie (aprox30-35cm) and when I got it near the boat we could see another flattie of around 65-70 cm) following it, I stopped the retrieve and the big flattie hit the small one that hard it knocked it off the hook, once free they both swam off with the small one following the large one. Plastics used, myself- 100mm squidgie shads in TNT, black opal and evil minnow plus 125mm bozo mullet in an orange and yellow colour, these were all used on 3/8 and1/2 oz 5/0 TT jigheads. Mick used just the one plastic and it was a 7 inch gulp jerk shad in pink on a 1 oz 10/0 TT jighead.

Cheers Ian
PS also hooked a turtle on the shell but managed to do an in water release geting the hook out with no harm to the turtle or ourselves.
Micks 74cm flattie

iank
20-09-2006, 05:11 PM
The release

iank
20-09-2006, 05:12 PM
Away she go's, bloody rod in the road ;D

Dirty
20-09-2006, 05:19 PM
Bautiful flatty champ!!!!!

Sounds like a great day @ the pin....lucky bugga!

Treasure the time you have, thanks for sharing a fabulous report and telling us about your tactics!

George.

Bundy_Burp
20-09-2006, 05:31 PM
So much for the greenies and all there rubbish looks to me like the pin is doing just fine , well done on the flathead and good job on the catch and release .

Bundy 8-)

ele-phrez
20-09-2006, 05:46 PM
great pics

gregdeeth
20-09-2006, 05:46 PM
nice flattie, great realise shots.

Why-ting
20-09-2006, 06:49 PM
Shame there wasnt alot of fish but the size was deffinatly there. Nice effort for the morning. The backgound in the first pic looks good. Next time can you not crop your pic so i can get a better look at it ;)

Cheers Whytey

flickflack
20-09-2006, 07:24 PM
awesome pics once again Ian , well done on the good quality of the fish

Cheers Rod

20-09-2006, 07:29 PM
Congratulations on a nice haul! :)Looks like lovely conditions too. :)

Best wishes.....

Far_Canal
20-09-2006, 08:22 PM
nice session none the less boys.

am heading up there in the morning myself to try and tempt a few.

iank
20-09-2006, 08:37 PM
mad max, will be there again early tomorrow as well, am in a 435 hornet trophy with a 50 yammy 4stroke, minn kota bow mount and ausfish stickers up near the nose. If you see me come over and say g'day.
Cheers Ian

nabs12
20-09-2006, 09:32 PM
well done Ian.. nice session again.
Good luck tomorow.

stalker
20-09-2006, 09:41 PM
Many more to come for the classic I Hope ..Well done ............. :) :)

woppa
20-09-2006, 10:04 PM
good work mate!

we're heading down the pin for 5 days next week. if i get some nice flatties like that i'll be like a pig in mud!!

Far_Canal
20-09-2006, 10:10 PM
no worries ian.

im in a not so flash 4m flat nose with a small blue spray shield up the front, 30hp merc.

have a good one.

Hornblower
21-09-2006, 03:45 AM
Great Post, I am eager to get out there on my days off, starting after this shift Yeha ;) ;) ;) ;)

21-09-2006, 07:00 AM
I really think the flathead population must be really thriving judging by everyones' reports. Good to see that we have become a more responsible fishing community and releasing the lizards to do the breeding thing and hopefully to fight another day. Just out of curiosity how big would that turtle have been? I doubt that you could slow down a real big one could you? Would have been interesting to see a pic of the turtle release. 8-) Well done!

T1
21-09-2006, 09:04 AM
Hale the King of the Pin! Another great day by the sounds of it! Haven't fished the Pin for a while, may have something to do with the lure of the SNAPPERRRRRRRRRR.....

Take Care T

snapperm8
21-09-2006, 09:07 AM
nice lizards and great jo on the catch and release :)

part_time
21-09-2006, 11:57 AM
Great report and a top story ...... so good to see the fish being released
Water quality is just perfect and the photo's...

gogecko
21-09-2006, 01:06 PM
Well done Ian. Thats a good result on the old squidgies. I thought it might take longer for the water to clear up. Might get out for a fish tomorrow AM.

wetnwild11
21-09-2006, 02:08 PM
The pin might be well m8 but apparantly it does not fish as well now as it did when "they" emptied the sh%tcans out at the bar ;D ;D