View Full Version : Mud Island 41cm Knobby
mickstar001
22-09-2006, 02:52 PM
Headed to mud Thursday morning after getting some gps marks of a fellow ausfisher (very nice man), and thought id give it a crack. Bite period was from 5.30-6.30am with only squire coming aboard which i though was wierd (and great). Total of 5 keepers all 40-41cm, still cant seem to catch any bigger than that! Got smoked a couple of times by what felt like a whale taking my plastic, and got bitten off >:( >:( >:(. Guess thats what keeps us going back!! Could not believe the knob on the 41cm squire - this fish was the same size as all the others mind you. Does this mean i have caught a bay snapper ;D ;D ;D, cos it has a knob? All in all a beautiful morning in the bay, little bit lumpy all morning but very workable. PS 3 squiries were released over 35cm for the next person who heads out there ;)
mickstar001
22-09-2006, 02:53 PM
ESKY
mickstar001
22-09-2006, 02:54 PM
End result
mickstar001
22-09-2006, 02:55 PM
Funky - he's proud of his knobby!
snapattack
22-09-2006, 03:04 PM
Thats not a knob. :-? Thats a result of being caught in a net at some stage. ;) But you can call it a nobby. ;D Good to see you got a feed. Weather would have been a bit ordinary out there yesterday eh. Bait of placcies and if placcies which ones did the damage.
U got a good feed. I was out there Tuesday and only caught a couple of legals, but I too only caught squire. No grinners and no pike yet there was heaps of bait showing on the sounder. :P
Look out Sunday here I come again.
Snap
22-09-2006, 03:26 PM
It's a negative knob... Means when you do get a good one, you can't count it ;D ;D ;D
I can't wait for the grassies to come on the chew properly... They taste delicous!
mickstar001
22-09-2006, 03:36 PM
Im addicted to the squire let me tell ya, this is the first season i have gone after them, dont want them to disappear! When roughly will they start disappearing? Snapattack, all were caught on 4in pumkinseed gulps (worms) and saltwater assassins. ;) The result of being caught in a net hey - interesting very interesting!
woppa
22-09-2006, 03:43 PM
that's a good looking knob on such a small fish!!
22-09-2006, 03:45 PM
They'll be around for while ;) Grassies pull hard too though, so even if they do go quiet, you'll be right.
The SaltWater Assassins have done very well for me too. Although I've found that the colour that works for me in the northern bay, doesn't work as well in the southern... Don't fish in the south half too much though, so would be interesting to see if there is a major difference.
You occasionally get a fish that has very similar injuries. You see it on Bream a bit.
Fisher4life
22-09-2006, 03:53 PM
very interesting looking 'knobby' :-?
sounds like it was a fun couple of hours this morning, with some good results to show for the time as well.
well done!
blue-mako
22-09-2006, 04:03 PM
I'd call him a Nobby! Looks like a deformatey :-? . He was the smartest Squire from the school! His head grew quicker then the rest of him and still managed to catch him!
Troy
mickstar001
22-09-2006, 04:21 PM
Was going to post the first pic by itself & let people guess how big it was, had to be honest tho ;D ;D.
foggy
22-09-2006, 05:36 PM
Well done mate. Got a good feed there. did u try those placcies. ;)
Foggy
22-09-2006, 06:34 PM
Ya gotta be happy with that catch. ;)
Very well done!! :)
aquarius
22-09-2006, 07:59 PM
Looks like a top session you had there mate.
Some nice fillets off that lot. Well done.
Cheers Brent
22-09-2006, 09:28 PM
Mate
That bloody poor nobby, he thought that he survived the hardship of growing up and all was good.
Then u came along
Hope he tasted god mate
Nice catch
Steven
22-09-2006, 09:50 PM
Nice feed,
I think it's a tough world when you are a little fish. Some bigger fish took a swipe at him but he "Just" got away.... Till he met you :'( :'(
Poor wittle fishy!! ;D ;D
mickstar001
23-09-2006, 08:27 AM
Did try the placcies foggy and they went well! Lost a couple of them from being bitten off, so put them away for another session, couldnt see myself going through 4 of them in one day!
Murks
23-09-2006, 08:30 AM
great report Mickstar, well done