View Full Version : Jacks and Flatties.

Matthias
07-10-2006, 01:58 PM
The weather has warmed up nicely on the GC and the humidity was also on the rise the other night. I fished a new spot on the GC after netting a few livies. I threw an unweighted herring into a snag and got smashed within a few minutes. A nice jack was landed. After another 15min I got some good hits and a solid run but the hooks pulled. Another bait and another good hit....then after 3 more re-baits I finally hooked up and another jack was landed.

I ran out of bait and the cast net was along way away so I pulled out a shad rap and flicked into the snags. After about 30min I was feeling discouraged when a flattie hit the lure at my feet. I caught another flattie (undersized) and decided to call it a night after a good session of bait and lure fishing. Went home with a nice jack and flattie for dinner.

pete.

Matthias
07-10-2006, 01:59 PM

T-roy
07-10-2006, 03:10 PM
Great fish mate, sounds like a good session

Pitsta
07-10-2006, 03:36 PM
Great looking JACKS there matthias !!
well done !

MARK ;)

DazSamFishing
07-10-2006, 04:47 PM
Well done mate!

You'll need to share some tips for GC jacks!

ele-phrez
07-10-2006, 06:14 PM
great to see the jacks are coming on the bite, great pics

aaron_gilmour
07-10-2006, 07:29 PM
It might be time to stop targeting flatties and aim up on some jacks. Great work with the Jacks. I think there will be a few soft plastics go missing to bream fisho as the weather warms and the red bream start to play ;D

Aaron

richieboy
07-10-2006, 07:53 PM
Beaut. fish Mat. Good to hear a few of the red devils are starting to show up. Looking forweaqrd to targeting a few myself in the canals up here on the bay.
Out of curiousity tho what gear were you using. ie lb line and leader?? :-?

Cheers mate.,

Richie

zach
07-10-2006, 08:08 PM
great fish mate cant wate till i get one this seson if i do...
zach

07-10-2006, 08:12 PM
One of the best eating fish out there I reckon. Jacks with a flatty side dish would be all I need for dinner. Well done.

gutzy
07-10-2006, 08:30 PM
you bastard!!!! ;D ;D
You seem to catch jacks on a regular basis!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D
Well done mate they look awesome , thanks for the report and photos keep em comin 8-)

serene_lady
07-10-2006, 08:40 PM
I have got some some new tackle on order and hope to chase a few jacks myself soon. Just one of those would make me happy. :) :) .Bob.

geoff72
07-10-2006, 08:52 PM
sent a pm

Matthias
07-10-2006, 11:20 PM
Hey.
Cheers guys!

Richieboy- I was usin 14lb braid and 15lb leader. The jacks won't bite you off due to their conical canine teeth but they might drag you over some oysters. These jacks weren't monsters but I did get busted up tonight on 15lb leader and has definately re-enforced some respect for the jack.

Poodoo- I recon the jack are best eating when they are baked off the rack (not filleted). But if you do fillet them- some finely chopped Italian pasely, garlic and lemon rind diped in olive oil and grilled....ohh yeah.

pete.

Bronson
07-10-2006, 11:45 PM
well done mate nice jacks

bronson

gregdeeth
08-10-2006, 02:19 PM
great report pete, good to see some jack reports turning up.