View Full Version : PB Snapper at Mud Saturday

SURLY
07-10-2006, 08:59 PM
Hi Guys,

Well what can i say after setting a pretty high standard a year or so back when my third ever fish on plastics was a 81 cm 5.25 kilo snapper I have finally managed to beat it.

I am an avid reader of this web site and love reading the reports from the plastic brigade particularly fishing around mud. I am fortunate to have a few mates who have boats and are just as enthusiastic about soft plastic fishing as I am. In fact we always seem to catch a few legals, although some times we have put in a large amount of hours. Anyway when a mate from work siad that he had acquired some 'javalons' and was keen to try them, you didnt have to ask me twice. (especially after seeing foggy's success on these plastics)

We headed out from whyte island around 4.30am to be greeted with just a slight sea breeze as we left the river mouth. There was not a lot of boats out today, it might have had something to do with the few showers that came our way. We visited our regular haunts around the north eastern side of mud and we were kept entertained by the abundant small squire,grinners, sweetlip,cod, whiptails etc. For your information we would have caught 10 or so squire around the 34 cm mark. We did manage to catch a 36 and 38 cm squire but we released both to fight another day.

Around 11 we headed to spot XYZ which we had tried first thing in the morning but as the wind had died down to virtually nothing we gave it another go. Mark switched to a Pumpkinseed Shaky Shad around 3 inches and was almost instantly rewarded with a 44 cm specimen which was promptly put in the esky. We continued to drift around this area and I soon hooked onto something really solid. All lines in and we gave chase only to eventually loose the fish when it snagged the line on the bottom. I could feel the fish on the other end but also could feel it rubbing along the rock and eventually it gave way. I dont know about anybody else but many days you only get one shot at what i thought was a big snapper, so I was cursing what could have been but luckily not for long.

By now it was around 1pm and we decided to do one more drift around our spot. I decided to try the pumkinseed shaky shad as well on a jighead that i had never had much luck with before ( not the standard jighead with the weight half way down the hook). Almost instantly I was on. As line was streaming off Mark bought all the lines in and started the motor and gave chase. After what seemed like ages mark netted a very fat 90cm snapper. (to see the big flash of silver and red down deep defintely gets the heart going). I have no idea of the weight but it was a very fat fish. I would like to tell you that I caught it on my new Daiwa rod with a Fleuger reel loaded with 10 lb braid but no i didn't. Instead it was caught on cheap 2 piece rod that i have had for 5 years and a NZD$70 shimano reel which was loaded with 8lb nylon although i did have 15lb leader.

I have probably already gone on too much, but it was truly a memorable day. No luck on the javalons today but definitely impressed with their action. I have been using a Mann's hard nose 6" worm over the last few months and have lost some big fish on them as I did today. They seem to be more durable than the Gulp minnow worms and the scent seems to last a lot longer. The majoirty of our smaller fish today were taken on the 3inch gulps.

Finally a big thank you to Mark, for not only inviting me fishing but also for your assistance in catching this fish. I am sure next time i will be the one doing the driving whilst you do battle with the big snapper.

I will be getting my mate nathan to put the photos up tomorrow.

craig

Adamy
07-10-2006, 09:36 PM
Seems as though big snaps were on the menu at Mud today... You and Dale 2 90cms plus in one day - shoulda been at Mud!! ::) good on you!! Cant wait to see the pics!

Adam

Seaduction
07-10-2006, 09:36 PM
Craig,

Nice one! Looking Forward to seeing the pics for this one.

Jim.

07-10-2006, 09:37 PM
Mate that is outstanding. A good read and I will be waiting in anticipation for the photos. ;)

Great_White
07-10-2006, 11:07 PM
I too can't wait to see the photos, well done :o :o :o Me thinks I should have been out at mud today :( :( :(

Peter ;)

08-10-2006, 06:57 AM
Feast or famine at Mud,

but put in the time like you have, and up come the rewards. You are giving me the inspiration to hit the water again and try better my PB, which this fish definitely would have if I caught it. Well done.

Lager
08-10-2006, 09:16 AM
Picture 1 of Craig's PB snapper

Lager
08-10-2006, 09:22 AM
Picture 2

ele-phrez
08-10-2006, 09:29 AM
massive snapper

foggy
08-10-2006, 09:58 AM
Good snap guys.

Foggy

Adamy
08-10-2006, 11:02 AM
That Snap was a visitor.. from outside - not a resident Bay Snap - notice the prominent knob developed from head butting the reef... maybe he was visiting Dales Snap ;D ;D

Nice pics!

Adam

Hsvjones
08-10-2006, 07:40 PM
Hi Craig,

You had to do it didn't you. You could not let me have the glory for more than a month.

Anyway, ever since you got me onto this SP fishing I have not had this much fun. That is a monster fish and I wish I was out there when it happened. If you had the feeling that I had out there then you will be right for the next month. Well done again and I hope I can get you back next month.

Pitsta
08-10-2006, 08:04 PM
Congrat's top fish !!!

MARK ;)

Steven78
08-10-2006, 08:10 PM
Well done surly i know how it feels to get a big one and you will not forget it.

marty+jojo
08-10-2006, 08:18 PM
:onice one well done

White_Steenbras
08-10-2006, 09:20 PM
Great fish mate, bet you felt chuffed after that.

richieboy
08-10-2006, 11:32 PM
Quality fish mate. The big fellas are certainly showing up around Mud lately. With the amount of people cosistently pulling in big ones I'm surprised there are still some around. Well done and top pics.

Rich ;)

SURLY
09-10-2006, 07:07 AM
Hi Guys,

Thanks for all your kind words.

Adam, yeah i was suprised to see the knob on the snapper as my other 2 large ones that i have caught at mud did not have such a bump.

Chris, sorry mate. I wish you were there when I pulled it in as I was when you got your beauty a month ago. My reaction was probably the same although I was not near as loud as you. Mark did tell me to sit down as he thought I was going to pass out. I heard you did quite well on the sandies off wello that morning. We were going to go crabbing down that way but changed our mind with seabreeze changing the forecast late friday (lucky we did). Next time we go out i will show you the jighead I caught it on. It seems to suit shads only as the worms need a skinnier hook. I havent had a lot of luck with shads until now i seem to have more success on them catching flathead.

I also want to ask all the other ausfishers who fish the plastics around mud, after what point of the cast do you find most of your big fish strike?

Personally the majority of the keepers (especially the larger ones as in this case)I catch seem to strike before the plastic hits the bottom ie immediately after casting. I usually twitch the rod a couple of times on the way down. The smaller fish seem to hit it after it has been working the bottom a bit. This means I generally do not leave the plastic in the water before re-casting as long as others. I know foggy mentioned that he catches a few trailing a line out the back and holding the plastic mid water.

I am just interested in your opinions.

Smailesy
09-10-2006, 07:28 AM
that is a nice fish

ballsie
09-10-2006, 07:34 AM
now thats an awesome snapper bay or offshore. must have went like a train in those shallows. congrats.
ballsie

part_time
09-10-2006, 08:05 AM
Great snapp craig.....that is well worth bragging about for some time yet.

mickstar001
09-10-2006, 08:50 AM
Beautiful fish mate well done!!

themisses
09-10-2006, 09:43 AM
Great fish!! Has the grin started to fade yet?? ;D

Fisher4life
09-10-2006, 11:40 AM
that is an awesome snapper, :o and to be brought in at mud isl on light line must have taken some turning!!

Well done

Rufus
09-10-2006, 12:04 PM
Hey Craig, Great catch, who caught all the Whiptails??

Benny_78
09-10-2006, 12:26 PM
Mate, That is a brilliant fish, well done.

SURLY
09-10-2006, 12:26 PM
hey Guys,

Yeah it definitely went like a steam train, I only had about 50 yards of 8lb line left before we able to start chasing it. As i said in my original post I have a new diawa outfit with a flueger reel that loaded with 10lb braid that i am yet to blood a legal fish on. The outfit I caught this one was just a cheap outfit with ordinary 8lb nylon and my thoughts were continually of the rod breaking or leader knot giving way.

Ahh rufus, one must practice on the whiptails before you proceed to snapper this size. By the way who is still king of the grinners!!

cactus_jack
09-10-2006, 01:20 PM
Very, Very impressive! Looks like it was a good day out there as well, beats working anytime

T1
09-10-2006, 03:39 PM
I would like to tell you that I caught it on my new Daiwa rod with a Fleuger reel loaded with 10 lb braid but no i didn't. Instead it was caught on cheap 2 piece rod that i have had for 5 years and a NZD$70 shimano reel which was loaded with 8lb nylon although i did have 15lb leader.

I think this best illustrates when it's your turn to catch a stonker! I like hearing about the less conventional - a lot say you have to use this and that and you need to change this and that but... the proof is in the pic's!

I remember sitting on the esplanade as young teenager with my pride and joy birthday present - a brand new Wilson General Purpose Rod and an Alvey 600B - thinking i was top sh%t! Next to me is my younger brother who is there with his coke bottle and some shonky line tied to it - he's winding in Flattie after Flattie while i'm sitting there not more than 3 metres away with nothing against my name! Yes, i had the u-beaut gear!! Hmmm...

Nonetheless, another TOP SNAPP from Mud! I fish Wello and i seem to pull the larger fish from the bottom generally although i do get a lot mid to top after a cast. Wello is not as deep as Mud though...

Take Care T

Great_White
10-10-2006, 09:57 AM
Top photos I was waiting to see them.

Well done again, I hope there is one out their with my name still on him ;D ;D ;D

Peter :)

scooter5
12-10-2006, 08:29 AM
What a top fish. Well Done.
:) :) :) :) :)

Scooter5

12-10-2006, 10:03 AM
Lovely fish mate, especially on an SP.