View Full Version : Flathead Classic HAPPY DAYS
flickflack
09-10-2006, 11:56 PM
HI All
We entered this years classic as Team ATOMIC and had a game plan to try and target the big fish. We had some truly memorable pre fishes as I am sure did many of the compettitors. THe first day saw us put 14 fish on the ruler with the biggest being an 85cm model caught by Bennie. All the fish were in good size with only one under 50 and a few in the 7o's. We managed to squeeze into 5th spot and things looked good. THe second day was about the same with 14 fish again. This time it was Brad that got amongst them getting 2 70's in successive casts. I couldnt buy a big fish getting amongst the mid size fish. At the end of day 2 we were in 4th and I was doing pretty good in the individual standings lying third . Unfortunately another busy night at work took its toll and the final day was a bit much with Brad actually nodding off during casts. (they had waited up for me the previous night to work out a game plan and I had only left the restaurant at 2300)
We ended up with a few fish but slipped a fe psitions and closed the comp off coming a respectable 6th place. I dropped to 6th place in the individual standings but was still very happy with our results. We had heaps of laughs and will be hanging sh#t on brad for many moons to come about his laps in concentration. It sounded somethung like "yup ime on!GRAB THE NET QUICK (NO RESPONSE)THE NET QUICK BRAD!!!(FOLLOWED BY I BIT OF A STUTTER and something like " COME ON BOYS I WAS JUST HAVING A BIT OF A YAWN"
once the fish was netted we laughed for about 10 minutes ;D.
A great 2 and a half days on the water and we are lookin forward to next year.
We didnt take any pics throughout the Classic so I have attached some pics of a few 80 plus models from our pre fishes
Cheers Roderick.
flickflack
09-10-2006, 11:57 PM
:)
flickflack
09-10-2006, 11:57 PM
flickflack
09-10-2006, 11:58 PM
flickflack
09-10-2006, 11:59 PM
flickflack
09-10-2006, 11:59 PM
gogecko
10-10-2006, 10:04 AM
Well done rod, thats a good effort. Did you fish the seaway area at all in the comp, or just the pin? I noticed you did a bit of prefish there, and I think I remember you hitting it this time last year as well?
Is Go Fishing out yet? I got last months edition at my local newsagent in Ashmore.
aaron_gilmour
10-10-2006, 10:47 AM
Hi Flickflack
What was your standout lure? There are some nice fish there. I popped out on friday afternoon and forgot the comp was on. Saw a lot of boats and managed a few flathead but nothing to go raving about. I launched at the coomera and fished up to soverighn island.
Great work and congreats on top 10 finish. Who won? Greenie??
Aaron
flickflack
10-10-2006, 12:26 PM
Andrew.
Go Fishing should be out in the next few days. We didnt fish the seaway at all just between the pin and tipplers. Greenies team won but I dont think that he did as well as last year, the team was still tops so it didnt matter.
Aaron.
6 inch Atomic Jerkbaits, 4 inch Atomic shads were our two standouts. We also used a few gulps in the dirtier water but couldnt really say that they outperformed the normal plakkies.
Cheers Rod
10-10-2006, 01:48 PM
Good effort Rod.
Congrats to yourself and the team on a fine effort :)
snapperm8
10-10-2006, 04:28 PM
yer thats a nice ranking 6th is pretty good aye
good work
cheers dave
10-10-2006, 06:54 PM
Well done rod and team
excellent effort
richieboy
10-10-2006, 07:48 PM
Great hearing every teams performances. Dissapointed I didn't enter this year as I couldn't get a team together.
Next year I'd be keen as to get amongst em. just need a team.
Well done Rod and co. 6th place individually is an achievement to be proud of.
Consequently who came out on top in the individual standings??
Rich
flickflack
10-10-2006, 08:13 PM
Rich
I think it was a guy called Bret Howe, someone will have to help me out there because I took off back to work before the proceedings were finished.
Rod
richieboy
10-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Rich
I think it was a guy called Bret Howe, someone will have to help me out there because I took off back to work before the proceedings were finished.
Rod
Cheers champ. ;)
Toppy
10-10-2006, 08:36 PM
Hey flick flack nice pics of the boys with fish!
Have you recovered from the lack of sleep yet? I'm almost there but I bet you need a couple more sleeps than me to get over that huge effort!
Fish all day work all night, batteries must have been way low.
Hope things are different 4 you next year, that way if I a mirical happens & I woop your arse there will be no excuses. ;D ;).
Toppy
flickflack
10-10-2006, 08:51 PM
Toppy
Yeah mate its all good now, thinking about who is gona get the first Jack again this season. I gave you a pretty good head start last year ;) ;). Might just go out tonight and try for one.
;D
Rod
ele-phrez
10-10-2006, 09:14 PM
some really great pics.
RobSee
10-10-2006, 09:59 PM
nice work Rod.
Keep us up to date on how you go with the jacks. I'm keen to get amoungst them up my end of the coast. I'll have a run around sovreign and Runaway bay canals.
flickflack
11-10-2006, 10:19 AM
No worries mate, there are a few coming out already just havnt had the time to go and chase them yet.
Rod
SCOTTYGC
11-10-2006, 01:02 PM
well team SSS didnt do so well this year with one of my team not landing a fish for the comp
i did catch a 74 on the friday around the pin area on a bozo lure, so that put me in the draw for the trip to darwin , i think i was sitting next to you robsee during the draw
anyway i was 5th last to go out
i must say this is a well ran comp and a big thanks to the commitee for all the hard work
i will be back agian next year
scotty
gregdeeth
11-10-2006, 05:56 PM
congrats on a great result rod.
Toppy
11-10-2006, 07:27 PM
If you go tonight 4 a jack I hope you bomb out!
Would'nt be any fun if you win this quick, maybe it should only count when we are fishing together that way there is no cheating....... ;) ;D
flickflack
11-10-2006, 07:38 PM
Toppy
That will should be okay, you can come with me as long as you troll the outside rod all the time :D :D
You know skippers rules and all that ;)
Rod
Toppy
12-10-2006, 07:55 AM
:P
Smailesy
12-10-2006, 08:02 AM
some monster fish there guys
grich
12-10-2006, 09:42 AM
Awesome fish guys. What line class were you using and what was the outfit? G.
12-10-2006, 10:25 AM
A top performance Rod...especially running on low battery power :D How many competitors entered this year mate. Certainly something to aim for next year to beat this year's outstanding efforts. You might need to pack No Doz in the boat for your sleepy crew ;D
flickflack
12-10-2006, 04:34 PM
Not sure of the exact no but there was a hundred odd teams and the majority of them had 3 members per team
G
Custom built spin rods and baitcasters in the 4-8kg range and 6 - 14lb fireline depending on the strength of the wind
Roderick
Some figures for you from the Classic - 295 anglers caught 2764 flathead over 2 1/2 days. 98 flatties went 70cm or bigger (3 in the 90's, 23 in the 80's, 72 in the 70's) best went 98cm. We gave away around $60,000 in prizes and give-aways.
Team Dead Fishy 2 again took out the Champion Team Trophy - David & Michael Green with Kelvin Williams caught 111 flatties between them - and only won buy 35 odd points or 1 legal fish from Team Dog. Brett Howell took out the Champion Angler Trophy with an impressive 47 fish caught and released. Joel Gartner took out the Juniors trophy for the second year in a row.
Hopefully next year we can make it bigger and better.
flickflack
12-10-2006, 10:09 PM
john
Thanks mate, those are pretty impressive figures. Look forward to next year and once again many thanks to you guys that made it happen.
Rod
flatheadfred
15-10-2006, 08:18 AM
I got to get me some flatheads like that.....someday :)
flatheadfred :)
Franco
17-10-2006, 09:33 AM
Hey Rod mate how ya doin!
Sorry bout the late reply.
Just back from an abysmal trip to Fiji so not on the net since the classic. #Left the morning after the classic (yet another night of 3 hours sleep) to arrive in Fiji on a small island with a massive tropical low surrounding us. #Basically it pissed rain continuously every day for 7 days solid, with 35kn winds to match. #Didn't go for one single swim, fish, or snorkel. #Couldn't do anything except eat sleep and read books in our Hut (sounds like a holiday for Brad!!). #All activities were cancelled. #
What a depressing week. #It was like being stranded on Gilligan's island!!
Congrats on team Atomic's performance in the classic! #Can't wait for Brad to fall asleep on our Awoonga trip so we can put flies up his nose etc etc.
Our team (Myself, Toppy and Lynchie) ie "THE JIGOLO"S" did alright in the end despite the electric breaking down after day 2. #We finished 12th in the end and only slipped 1 place on the last day without the leccy. #Thankfully the boys fished really well to make up for my performance! #It's tough being a guide!! #;D
Man we had some laugh's though!! #With more to come, as you know!
Unfortunately my bad luck (always comes in three's) started with the electric breaking and
ended with Fiji weather .... but the worst was the second thing: #Busting 4 of my best estuary rods when the garage door accidentally came down in a horrific moment. #$2000 worth of rods go into multiple pieces before my eyes. :'( >:( [smiley=wut.gif] [smiley=oops.gif] [smiley=hammer.gif] [smiley=furious2.gif] [smiley=furious.gif] [smiley=bigcry.gif]
I'll have to give a detailed account (the funeral service) in another post so I can have closure. #[smiley=angel.gif]
Chat to ya soon buddy.
PS to JT, Robsee, and all who made the classic such a great event .... Thanks Fella's!!
bdowdy
17-10-2006, 07:38 PM
:)gday franco i fished the classic with mitch you may remember getting introduced, i wish i knew you were off to fiji as im flying out in november and would have had a talk on spots and were to fish as im fishing off nadi and hope to have better weather than yourself. any how hope the new rods you get catch some great fish . cheers bdowdy aka brett ;)