View Full Version : Lack of Bait at Sandgate
19-10-2006, 05:11 PM
I normally like to pay sandgate pier a visit every so often to keep the freezer stocked up with herring and hardyheads. The last two trips I've had zilch and this morning I managed around 40 herring and a dozen poddies for 2 hrs work! :o ::)
The same time last year would've seen half a dozen chucks keeping me in bait for a couple of months. There's a distinct lack of bait in that area atm and I reckon they must be up the pine and needing a good wet to flush 'em out.
Popped up to cabbage tree creek for a chuck and got only 4 more mullet and not a single herring. Met a fellow ausfisher who was born and bred in my home town back in the UK and even born in the same hospital as me and my sons. Seems he was joining the ADF at the same time as I was joining the Force in the UK and doing his bit in 'Nam whilst I was doing my bit in Aden. Nice to have a yarn, and goes to prove the old adage that "it's a small world"
Just thought I'd give the heads up (or thumbs down) on the bait situation as it may save fellow ausfishers a fruitless visit.
Jim_Byrne
19-10-2006, 06:53 PM
Your not wrong about needing a good wet!
Rainbowrunner
20-10-2006, 06:08 AM
seems the same up here in gladstone at the moment kev, anyhere i look for bait in my old haunts its not there, but there seems to be heaps up the river, wheres that wet?
Freeeedom
20-10-2006, 06:55 AM
I've noticed the same thing recently Kev. I usually launch at Cabbage Tree Creek or Clontarf and start by locating a school of herring on the sounder then putting the cast net over them. Lately I've been hard pressed to find any at all and have had to fall back on frozen bait. Bring on the rain!!!
Cheers Freeeedom
sharkbaithoohaha
21-10-2006, 11:50 AM
Bring on the rain alright.My old skipper always said "Drought on land drought at sea"
Kingtin,there's a small feeder ck that runs into Boggy.At low tide on the left hand side of the bridge the is a weir that traps the bait.3-4 throws will keep you going for a while. :-X Mainly mullet.
shayned
21-10-2006, 01:32 PM
Kev,
Did you try that mullet spot we discussed on the Pine? It always seems chock a block, mind you I've not been there for approx. a month.
richieboy
21-10-2006, 01:39 PM
The fresh should also bring out the prawns. I had a quick cast this morning for some poddies and netted a few smallies around Tingalpa. They should be around soon I hope.
Rich
21-10-2006, 03:59 PM
Kev,
Did you try that mullet spot we discussed on the Pine? It always seems chock a block, mind you I've not been there for approx. a month.
Yeah mate, plenty of mullet there but they were all poddies not the big buggers that you can get further upstream. Only tried the once though. I only use Sandgate pier to avoid shitting up the tinny during the water restrictions. No doubt, if the wete doesn't come soon then I'm gonna have to use the pine for herring.
21-10-2006, 04:00 PM
Bring on the rain alright.My old skipper always said "Drought on land drought at sea"
Kingtin,there's a small feeder ck that runs into Boggy.At low tide on the left hand side of the bridge the is a weir that traps the bait.3-4 throws will keep you going for a while. :-X Mainly mullet.
Thanks for that mate. I have no problem getting mullet anytime it's the herring that's scarce.
shayned
23-10-2006, 11:11 AM
Kevvy,
Did you try netting from the pontoon at DWB? Rarely fails and occasionally pick up live prawns as well. If you're still struggling give me a pm and I'll put you on to another spot that rarely fails.
king_fisher_nick01
23-10-2006, 11:16 AM
i seem to get a shit laod of herring and gar. i see heaps of mullet but i cant seem to get them with the cast net of the drag net.
nick
23-10-2006, 11:42 AM
Kevvy,
Did you try netting from the pontoon at DWB? Rarely fails and occasionally pick up live prawns as well. If you're still struggling give me a pm and I'll put you on to another spot that rarely fails.
Cheers Shayne. Yeah mate, I have no problem getting 'em in the Pine, I'm just surprised by the lack of 'em at Sandgate and Shorncliffe. Just a change of venue as sometimes trying to get onto the pontoons at the Pine when it's busy is a bit of hit and miss.