View Full Version : logan feed
darrmun
23-10-2006, 05:08 PM
talked the minister for war & finance into taking the little people fishing sat morning , so it was up early swallow a couple of panadol ( a couple too many the night before ) race back to the gem bait & tackle & bought some blood worms , go back home hook the boat up & toss the kids on the ute & slip on down to the ramp 1st trailer in the park couldn't beleive it , anyway raced down to aggeston sands pumped some yabbies & started fishing.
ended up with 11 whiting biggest was 37cm 3 bream & 6 sandies , had my pots in for a few days without a single keeper , so as a last resort & not to let the little people down friday morning i shifted my pots down outside the mouth & picked them up on the way home to score the 6 sandies
darryn
darrmun
23-10-2006, 05:09 PM
another
23-10-2006, 05:33 PM
Kids looked like they had a ball. Well worth going despite the hangover I'd say ;)
LIVE_2_FiSH
23-10-2006, 05:38 PM
those whiting and sandies will go down a treat. A feed fit for a king or queen
23-10-2006, 05:40 PM
Having two little people myself I nearly melt when I see other little people having a good time fishing. Priceless moments and you got a nice feed there as well. Congratulations. :)
23-10-2006, 07:12 PM
Congrats!!
I guess it's no secret where you get XOS whiting in the Logan, especially now judging from the background in your pic ;) ;) ::) ::) ::)
Very nice photos of the Kids, well done!
castlemaine
23-10-2006, 07:41 PM
Darrmun
You just showed what fishing's all about (fish was only a bonus)
heathrow69
23-10-2006, 08:40 PM
Mate what a day to spend with the kids!!! :D Hopefully they did not out fish you ::) good size whiting there, If you dont mind me asking whre abouts in the logan river!! as i have just moved over this side of town??
CHRIS_aka_GWH
23-10-2006, 08:52 PM
Congrats!!
I guess it's no secret where you get XOS whiting in the Logan, especially now judging from the background in your pic ;) ;) ::) ::) ::)
what on earth are you on about scalem ? shaddupwillya ;)
Great feed darryn. The little man seems to know his stuff.
What sort of boat have you got ? - it seems to be a very good build - full length gunwhale welds and all .
Pitsta
23-10-2006, 08:56 PM
Not the best deckies , But you gotta luv em ! I've got one that likes it & one that hates it . :o
matt_fraser
23-10-2006, 09:56 PM
Great work Darryn, that is a top session with the family onboard. My crew are only 6 months and 2 yrs old, but we got out weekend before last. Only managed one legal whiting that trip.
Can't wait 'till they're a bit older! Still lots of fun though!
Do you get many undersized bream and whiting as well? Because we seem to get plenty of them, and the odd ray.
We only use yabbies, and I usually try to throw a soft plastic around when I get a chance.
shonkyshaun
23-10-2006, 10:42 PM
thanks for the new fishing spot darryn,good to see you got out fished by the kids again. :-X ;D
Deiter
23-10-2006, 11:01 PM
priceless M8, absolutely priceless.
I am taking Miss 4 for a fish and her first crabbing session on Wednesday. she can't sleep thinking about it.
Did i say priceless?? ;)
Damo
darrmun
24-10-2006, 10:35 AM
thanks for all the kind comments , we did get quite a few throwbacks ,
there's certainly no secret where on the logan it was , ya just can't miss that dirty great lone pine in the background
AND YES i did get out fished i only contributed the biggest whiting & 1 bream , i got to play deckie ........ more bait dad , a cuppa dad , can you get this fish off pls dear etc etc . & i loved every second of it !!!
the boat is a stessl / mako , its a ripper , the more i use it the more i love it , has 40 / 4st yamaha ( another 20 hp wouldn't go astray )
Duyz72
24-10-2006, 04:30 PM
I reckon we all got a great story from our child hood which really got us in to the joys of fishing. I can't wait to get my kids out there, little miss is nearly 3 and she can't wait for me to get a boat and take her out!
We have been looking for tinny or half cab for about a year now, on and off and she comes with me to look at the boats.
Whenever we look at a tinny it's
"This a good one Dad, I like this one. You buy this one and it be my boat OK? We do good fishing with me in my boat Dad OK?"
You gotta love it.
manchild
24-10-2006, 06:21 PM
Exellent job ,well done looks like the little ones had a ball as well.What more you can wish for?
Chris with the sun rising you just made it more obvious ;D damn you ;)That must be my favourite drifting spot inside the mouth ,you can even get squire if the water clean enough .
George
CHRIS_aka_GWH
24-10-2006, 07:10 PM
Chris with the sun rising you just made it more obvious ;D damn you ;)
did it ? ;)
that means my favorite spot in coombabah creek will be left alone. :-X
manchild
24-10-2006, 07:12 PM
Not really, jack season approching my friend ;)
George
24-10-2006, 07:50 PM
LOL
My guess is that the Nerang river will be firing up around the Council chambers soon too Chris!! ;) ;) ::) ::) ::)
You still gotta have the know how whereever you fish.... Let me see, I must have a few shots of the council chambers around here somewhere... :-/ :-/ :-/ :-/
whitingkiller
25-10-2006, 11:28 AM
Darryn,
did you catch the sandies along the greens that lead into the logan or
was it further out near the powelines, rocky point area?
timor_2
25-10-2006, 12:06 PM
Thats a nice feed of fish there, I have heard that the weed has been a bit of a problem in the Logan at the Moment was that the case on Saturday?
geoff72
25-10-2006, 12:18 PM
Great time had with the little nippers,cant wait till my little fella is old enough to take with me. Love what the wives get called these days, ball and chain,fun police, minister for war and finance is the best i have heard in a longtime.Well done.
whitingkiller
25-10-2006, 01:30 PM
hi darryn.
Did you catch the sandies around the green beacons as you exit
the logan? or was it further around near the powerlines/rocky point
area??
darrmun
25-10-2006, 02:55 PM
hi whitingkiller / blinky , i assume it's you andrew with a boat description of 16' c/console with yellow clears & an 89 johno & fishing the pin area as long as i have of over 30 years !!!! , if it's not you andrew then sorry whitingkiller
no i didn't get them near the greens got them up toward rocky but they're really thinning now , there haven't been any near the greens @ all this time round
whitingkiller
25-10-2006, 04:12 PM
Darryn.
yes mate it's me..Blinky...mate if you want a feed of sandies, you
need to go up the bay, we have been braining them.
i have been on about 8 trips since september and probably caught
around 250 crabs!!!!!
I will start to look like one soon if i keep eating this many !!!