View Full Version : Week of jacks and cod
Creek_Vermin
21-10-2006, 01:54 PM
Had a good week on the jacks plus a couple of cod to top things off. Went out on thurs arv throwing lures and come up with 2 little ones but the 2 big ones I lost hurt. 32 and 34 pulled the monsters up. Hit it again this morning for 2 more better fish but lost 5!!!!!!!! Getting frustrating but you've gotta hook em to land em. 42 and 44cm. The 44 had a top set of dentures that I'm sure would punch fingernails. Towards the end of the day my bro chris hooked up to an obvious freight train. A couple of minutes later had a 67cm black spot eastuary cod in the boat. Give him plenty of stick and had high hopes of seeing a big flash of red. A new pb for him and we called it a day. All fish were released in good condition and were caught on tropic angler shads and squidgy flick baits. Gotta love Spring!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Creek_Vermin
21-10-2006, 01:55 PM
Mmmmm
Creek_Vermin
21-10-2006, 01:56 PM
44cm
Creek_Vermin
21-10-2006, 01:57 PM
Gone!
Creek_Vermin
21-10-2006, 01:58 PM
42cm
Creek_Vermin
21-10-2006, 01:59 PM
67cm Cod
Matthias
21-10-2006, 02:06 PM
Nice one CV.
Thats a lovely cod and the jacks are gettin bigger each time.
Pete.
esselte
21-10-2006, 02:09 PM
Some great looking jack mate. Going looking for some of them tomorrow.
A nice cod to.
Happy Birthday aswell mate [smiley=birthdays.gif]
Jayj
richieboy
21-10-2006, 02:50 PM
Some sweet pics CV (as always). Hoping to get up my local creek for a Jack fish tomorrow. This forecast rain may put a dampener on things but should flush the creeks a bit to improve the fishing in the next few days.
Solid cod to mate. Nice bycatch hey!
Rich
Craigus
21-10-2006, 02:54 PM
Awesome pictures and fish CV.
bewdys mate where u get em
nob
T-roy
21-10-2006, 04:00 PM
great couple of fish mate, what estery where you in
Bronson
21-10-2006, 05:01 PM
nice work mate keep up the good stuff
bronson
nice jacks mate i went todai to try and get some but didnt have any luck just ended up getting some bream and trevs nice cod to
zach
Rogue2
21-10-2006, 05:12 PM
Dam nice Catch..... Well done mate
:) :)
Dylan_Rylatt
21-10-2006, 05:22 PM
wow top report got me drooling.....
Dylan
serene_lady
21-10-2006, 05:23 PM
Good report. Well done. Excelent quality fish. Bob.
jackash
21-10-2006, 05:24 PM
Awesome fish mate. As the others said what area. Defs not after specifics jsut a general idea. Bloody good few days though!
Jackash
21-10-2006, 05:42 PM
Good report mate and brilliant pics. Well done. The pics of the placcies are good too 'cause I'm a visual learner and although I may forget the names, the pics will be in my mind next time I go to buy placcies.
gregdeeth
21-10-2006, 05:50 PM
excellent work guys, some terrific fish!
that action shot of the realise is unreal, so much power.
ele-phrez
21-10-2006, 06:43 PM
nice cod angry little man
21-10-2006, 06:59 PM
Very impressive fish and excellent photos of them. Quality cod! ::)
Why-ting
21-10-2006, 07:16 PM
You've been having a very good run of late. Some awesome fish there. Bet that cod went hard. I got one today that went 55cm and he gave me a fair workout. I think Ive lost it with the jacks cant catch one to save my life at the moment. Ill have to look up C.V charters ;D
Nice work mate
Cheers Whytey
Sea-Dog
21-10-2006, 07:19 PM
I love the quality of the photos.
Forget the location of where u caught the fish.......
What sort of camera are you using, and what settings are you using?
Flash on? What ISO setting, Shutter speeds or all just Auto.
Cheers, Ross
marty+jojo
21-10-2006, 07:21 PM
pine river hey :-?
Pitsta
21-10-2006, 07:32 PM
That bloke Makes my 3 look like babies :( !!
Well done fella's
Canoedle
21-10-2006, 07:46 PM
Wow, that's a huge cod from up a creek like that, love the release shot of the jack too. SEE YA! SPLASH!
Kendall249
21-10-2006, 11:24 PM
Good effort, well done.
gogecko
22-10-2006, 07:12 AM
Top stuff mate. They keep eluding me, although Ive been out trying. All I can get is flattys?? Oh well, we like em for dinner.
Bring on the jacks.Those jack pics are so good thats its easy to forget just how good that cod is for an estuary. Well done, dont give the spot away.
MidgieFood
22-10-2006, 08:25 AM
Nice Cod and Jacks.
Looks like great fun.
I am going up noosa way middle of next week (hehe boss dont know that yet).
Your great catch has given me a little confidence.
Well done.
And here i was thinking that river was fished out well done...
Slient
22-10-2006, 08:49 AM
CV,
Brilliant report & pic's... 8-)
Think you need change your handle to "Creek Jack"... ;D
Happy fishing
Silent
Love the jacks, but I bet that bloody cod went hard
king_fisher_nick01
22-10-2006, 02:00 PM
nice catches.im interested in trying to catch some jack but im landbased and mainly go to deepwater bend and currumbin creek. i dont want to use $10 lures and then loose them. i will use sp's and love doing so. i have never caucht a jack can someone help me please.
nick
Creek_Vermin
22-10-2006, 02:42 PM
The fish didn't come from the pine guys. They all came from the creeks in pumicestone passage. All of them hold quality fish. Although the cod is well above average. But theres plenty of them and bigger under the bribie bridge. I just use a 5 megapixel olympus camera and run it on auto most of the time as I know bugger all about photography. I just make sure i take plenty of shots from different angles and generally end up with a few good ones of each fish. The release of the jack was pure arse. Might have to blow that one up.
TIM-DONSELAAR
22-10-2006, 10:09 PM
nice jacks there Creek Vermin and congratulations to your brother on that ripper of a cod [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
i do what you do with the pics,take heaps and hope one turns out awesome ;)
cheers tim :)
thirsty_work
23-10-2006, 09:15 PM
things are lookin up phat stuff. top photos as usual. great effort on the cod chris. you always seem to jag something decent. bastards. sonics sweet.
DazSamFishing
23-10-2006, 09:21 PM
I am going up noosa way middle of next week (hehe boss dont know that yet).
Your great catch has given me a little confidence.
Well done.
Good work fellas... Top fish and beaut cod!
MidgieFood: did you know your boss uses Ausfish?
Daz ;D
Smailesy
24-10-2006, 07:56 AM
great fish you pair nice cod angry unreal pics
chicken
24-10-2006, 05:37 PM
Top stuff Keith. Your brother isn't getting any better looking though is he?