View Full Version : Coomera 28 oct 06

keen_as_mustard
29-10-2006, 08:43 AM
With strong northerly winds and a hot day predicted I decided to have a look in the Coomera for my first Jack for the season. Fishing solo meant I could take more rods that usual and have a number of different sp's and hardbodies tied on and experiment with some untested lures.

Started at first light and managed a few Bream early on lightly weighted gulps. Then I threw a Halco Scorpion 35 and hooked a small Moses Perch - this fish was very hungry as the lure was half it's size.

Continued working thru the morning with the odd Bream coming on board to keep me interested, before deciding to try my new Micro Mullet. After about six casts the lure gets hammered, the drag screams, and I try to move the boat into the open, grab the net and tighten the drag all in one go. Unfortunately this run was too quick and all of a sudden the line comes free and I am missing the fish, lure and half my leader. There is only one estuary fish I know that hits a lure on the way back to the snag, but if I don't say it's name it doesn't hurt so much :'(

I realise the last few months of flathead fishing have resulted in me not tightening up my drag enough - a tough lesson for the start of summer! Pity as that was a good size fish...but I know where it lives so I will be back. I look for my other Micro Mullet then remember it is at home.

Time to try something new so I grab a Kokoda G-vibe that I bought from a bargain bin. A few casts later and I get a solid hook up, and with newly tightened drag, steer this fish into open water. I see a bronze-brown flash in the water and hope it is Mr Jack, but instead turn out to be a nice estuary cod. That fish goes into the well to become dinner.

With the wind starting to turn and water chopping up I manage a small flattie and a couple more Bream before calling it a day. If I don't think about the lost fish or lure, it was a good morning's fishing.

10 fish (4 species) from 4 different lures - nothing like variety.

keen_as_mustard
29-10-2006, 08:43 AM
greedy mp - the body of this lure is 35mm (for scale)

keen_as_mustard
29-10-2006, 08:50 AM
another fish on the bargain bin lure

29-10-2006, 08:56 AM
Nice cod there Marty. Shame about that big cattie that ran you back into the snag, but catties are no good, so probably for the best ;D

29-10-2006, 09:32 AM
Just love a good read. I start to think of myself in that situation and it gets my urges to get on the water boiling. Nice report and nice pics. :)

Canoedle
29-10-2006, 10:04 AM
Nice session mate :)

richieboy
29-10-2006, 12:57 PM
Well done, pity about the lost _ _ _ K..... Don't worry I won't even say it.
i can sympathise with ya a little tho, when I thought I had my first jack, only to come up with a PB cod instead.
Like you said, you know where he lives.

Richie ;)

zach
29-10-2006, 01:13 PM
sounds like u had a good session mate and nice cod
zach

goggles
29-10-2006, 02:31 PM
great session on lures.can u tell me if the bottom is sand as I saw some great whiting come out of the coomera? Thanks Wayno

keen_as_mustard
29-10-2006, 02:45 PM
wayno,

the area i was fishing is mostly mud bottom

gregdeeth
29-10-2006, 04:00 PM
good to hear they're (starts with j ends in k) starting to heat up on the goldy too. looking foward to hearing the results of your next trip out.

T-roy
29-10-2006, 07:25 PM
Great couple of fish mate

TIM-DONSELAAR
29-10-2006, 10:43 PM
Good session there marty_z [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

I hope you get that jack that stole your lure ;D ;D

cheers tim :)

flattymattyb
30-10-2006, 12:05 PM
Hi Marty,

Good little session there mate pity about the big bream busting you up though ;). I must say I had a hollow feeling when I saw you had posted as I had to turn around halfway down the Highway on Saturday due to circumstances beyond my control and I thought bugger he's onto them already, we have to get a few on the board before John gets back at least ;D ;D

Matty

keen_as_mustard
30-10-2006, 12:35 PM
Matty,

I've got JT's measure - last year he hardly caught any jacks when he fished with me, so this year I will make sure I am all over every session he goes on ;D

Keith went to Noosa Sat morning but also failed to boat a red fish. He is keen to organise a post Jack session bbq brekky when John gets back - apparently two of his mates in the challenge are chefs ;).

I'm busy next 2 weekends, so if all goes to plan might try a before/after work trip or two in that time.

Marty

gogecko
30-10-2006, 01:53 PM
Im sure it was just a trevally marty. They can be speedsters too :-?
I was getting ready to go out sat AM, but we had a garage sale on at home, and my missus wanted some support. I'll get out in the next few days tho.

Hmm moses, cod, flattys, bream and things that go zooom, now where would that be ::)

flattymattyb
30-10-2006, 03:46 PM
BBQ sounds great, do we have to wait for JT :-X we can have another when he gets back ;D ;D. I am hoping for a couple of late arvo sessions myself as pre work is out of the question hopefully get one in on Wednesday arvo see what happens ::).

Matty