View Full Version : Kawana Weir/Parrearra Tues Arvo
imnotoriginal
31-10-2006, 05:55 PM
Fished the weir for a couple of hours this afternoon for some good results. First cast was a moses perch and it was the first of many. Casting right into the corner on the parrearra channel side was very productive, with a fish every 2nd or 3rd cast, and some of them did have some size, with two past the size limit. After having some fun in that corner I decided to have a few casts toward the pylons and first retrieve I got absolutely nailed by something quick that had teeth. For the brief second or two I was connected to it, the fish went like a rocket. Unfortunately, I didn't stand much chance on 6lb mono leader and not surprisingly, Mr MJ or trevally or whatever he was won easily.
After trying to get hooked up to whatever it was a few more times I moved back to the bridge over parrearra channel at the Kawana Way, taking the biggest Moses Perch as a very large live bait. Dirty little bugger swam me round a rock or something under the water and was lost, with no fish caught on the SPs while I was there. Overall, it was quite a fun trip, especially all the moses perch.
Joel
cuzzamundi
31-10-2006, 06:40 PM
great report mate. some big jacks in there, i dare say that's who busted you. what were you targeting with the legal mosey as bait??? bugger that - too great on the chew to throw away for bait. anyway hope you naikl purple man nexxt time.
cuzza
imnotoriginal
31-10-2006, 07:27 PM
Cuzza,
My guess was an MJ too, just cause of how quickly he managed to cut the line, plus he didn't actually hit the placcy until it was right near the jetty. I was surprised with the ferocity it was taken, it was only a little berkley 3 inch power minnow, but apparently he liked it. To answer your q about the moses perch, mate anything. He'd already nicked my thumb with the spine on his gills, so I was kinda hoping something big would give him a little nick ;D I might be back to try and nail him tomorrow afternoon if all goes well, if anyone wants to join me pop on by. Hopefully this time with a better end result ;)
Joel
cuzzamundi
01-11-2006, 02:08 PM
good luck mate and let us know how you go!
cuzza
marty+jojo
01-11-2006, 05:10 PM
good to here that you got some legal moses, i have caught stacks of em, but all undersize :(.
cheers mate
Marty
imnotoriginal
01-11-2006, 05:49 PM
Ok, went back again late this arvo and when I got there the water was running hard again and this time the herring where quite thick in the water. Second cast I was tapping away, tap tap, tap tap....zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz! Hit like a freight train again and boy did he want to go. He kept getting downcurrent of the drain and really working me against it. After 5 or 10 minutes I managed a sight of him, a nice looking GT. Luckily, after yesterday's bust off I had decided to upgrade the leader from 6lb to 10lb mono. The leader was just long enough for me to grab it and I brought in a nice GT of about 45cm.
Not long after, the herring disappeared and I thought that might be game over, but another 10 minutes later, same again and after a similar fight I brought in another GT of about 35-40cm. Stuck around for another hour and a half, managing only a few moses perch, a tiny little estuary cod (they'll go anything they can fit in their mouth) and what I think may have been a whiptail. It had the little filament hanging off the top part of the tail fin and had a beautiful blue colour to it, with a very pronounced stripe running down the lateral line. It went electric blue across the top when I put him back in the water. Interestingly, he also had a little chunk taken out of his tail.
Anyways, that was the result of today's trip. Will definitely be giving this area another go before I head back to brissie.
Joel