View Full Version : Big fish in Hamilton??
darebrizzyriver
24-10-2006, 04:29 PM
I live on the Hamilton strech of the Brisbrine river. About 5 k's upstream from the Gateway bridge. I fish from a pontoon accross the road & have been getting some huge runs at night by what looks like a big Jew. yet to land one as I keep getting busted off trying to get it up. but have beefed up my gear this week for an assult on Friday night. Anyone know what else is around this section of the River?
Truck
24-10-2006, 04:42 PM
Bull Sharks
Barra_Hunter
24-10-2006, 04:45 PM
Could be big threadfin salmon?
Smailesy
24-10-2006, 04:52 PM
very big bull sharks
heathrow69
24-10-2006, 05:05 PM
Mate They are getting big threadfin salmons about this time of the year!!!! :D but are you getting bitten off if so prob bull sharks >:(
Cheers Heath
ps where is this pontoon you talk about if you dont mind me asking??
jim_farrell
24-10-2006, 05:35 PM
ps where is this pontoon you talk about if you dont mind me asking??[/quote]
Yeh tell us all. ;D ;D
How heavy was your gear? were you getting bitten off or rubbed off? Any abrasion further up the line?What weight leader?
surfsup
24-10-2006, 05:48 PM
darebrizzyriver
My brother and I fished that same pontoon last year and got hammered by horses we couldnt stop them an old salt there said they must have been bullies big bastards at that. The father in law swears he used to catch big jewies where the brekky creek flows into the brissy. I would love to give it a go soon.
blue-mako
24-10-2006, 07:34 PM
Check your P.M.'s mate.
Troy
Braddles
24-10-2006, 11:07 PM
Where is this pontoon? What were you using for bait? Was the bait weighted (on the bottom) or floated?
I would LOVE to have a go at catching something land based that was decent and local!
PM me if you prefer,
Thanks mate,
Brad.
chrisfish
25-10-2006, 06:49 AM
Use a long wire trace so if it is a shark you won't get rubbed off on its skin.
25-10-2006, 07:18 AM
Be careful fishing off pontoons there... I've had police turn up and have a chat to me because there are signs on them all now saying no fishing...
Having said that, there are some very good fish to be had along that whole stretch. Cameron's Rocks fishes very similar to that pontoon, is near the Breakfast Creek mouth (with all it's eddies, structure,etc) and has a nice big hole irectly in front of it (Drops to about 15m)!!! Also - No one can stop you :D
Rainbowrunner
25-10-2006, 08:04 AM
i drive over brekky creek there sometimes 10 times a day, and have often wondered about some nighttime livies fished off the bank there where it meets the river. The amount of terrrified bait I have seen in there and along sandgate road also near the hospital leads me to believe that even with the amount of pollution in there it would still hold good fish.
darebrizzyriver
25-10-2006, 11:34 AM
Yeh I saw some young fellas row a toy boat out to the middle with a ft long mullet for bait trying to catch bullies.
I was cast netting for mullet & herring & putting them live on a 5/0 or 7/0 depending on the size. using about 20 pound line & fairley big sinker.
It sounds like a few people have the same idea as me finding a GOOD land base to fish from around this area. Good to hear there's more around than just Catfish & rays. I'll let you know how I got on Friday Night
Sandman
25-10-2006, 12:00 PM
Fished there years ago and yes we got Jew and yep they are big but the majority of the catch was BIG catfish never caught a bull shark there but i certainly wouldnt swim there . Bait was large prawns possibly why the catch was either of the 2.
Braddles
25-10-2006, 12:12 PM
Does ANYONE know where this jetty / pontoon is that was mentioned??
thanks - Brad.
sharkbaithoohaha
25-10-2006, 12:24 PM
I regularly fish that pontoon and like Fishin_Dan ,have had the water Police stop and have a chat when I was prawning.The problem is that a small percentage of user's are abuser's,in that just about every time I go, I have to wash the pontoon off.There's either mud or dead bait , or blood or stingrays tied up to it to rot.If people cleaned it before leaving we wouldn't get harrased all the time.Won't be long before there's a gate on it.
fish_n_chick
25-10-2006, 02:34 PM
Too right Sharkbaithoohaha! I've been there myself when it's been in that state - not nice :'(. At times like those, all these people asking where it is could just follow the steam coming out of the responsible fishinfolk's ears ;D, frustrating indeed!
25-10-2006, 02:43 PM
Does ANYONE know where this jetty / pontoon is that was mentioned??
thanks - Brad.
I do.
But the fact it is illegal to fish off it makes it not very wise for me to tell you... Also it is someone's secret spot, and wouldn't be nice of me to tell you because of that either.
Not being mean about it, but everything you can get off that jetty is just as catchable from Cameron's Rocks, and a whole lot more. The green beacon is your friend at Camo's ;)
blue-mako
25-10-2006, 03:42 PM
darebrizzyriver: Those guys you saw rowing the lines out were me and my friend Jordan. I sent you a P.M. Which fella were you? I may remember if you stayed and had a chat while we were fishing there.
sharkbaithooha: I know what you mean about the people leaving junk all over the jetty. We are always washing mud and crap off with buckets as well as picking up left over rubbish from people that have yahooed the night before or while we are fishing there.
Like Dan said. Its some ones secret spot ;) .
Troy
Duyz72
25-10-2006, 03:54 PM
Off the pontoon there at the rocks, thats the exact spot where I was flicking SPs the other week back in to the eddies during my lunch break, picked up a nice bream.
Spoke to a bloke walking his dog and he trolls the brekky creek, but gets nothing from the main bridge to the mouth.
However just out the entrance, just turn left from the entrance, apparently a few metres out from shore there is a nice drop, then a few m's and rises back up, then drops back down around the pylons etc.
He has sounded up some nice fish in that first channel.
So the fish are definitely there.
rando
25-10-2006, 03:58 PM
Dont worry about the pontoon, try to find a good spot for yourself and keep quite once you do. I fish that area regularly, good spot to have a line in the water and a coldie in your hand as long as you dont have aspirations of taking a feed home. A rare thing to get quality in that area . Yes there are BIG catties there for a bit of fun on light gear, yes there are bull sharks, but you can get them just about anywhere in the river. Ive personally seen very big Rays , and Pike eel caught there and some bream in winter. Ive not caught anything there to get excited about, although Ive seen pics on this site of a couple of decent threadfin from the area. Breakfast creek itself cops a flogging with cast netters getting bait ( I only live a couple of blocks away& see it all the time) it surprises me that there is anything in there these days.Its only a small system and there is access to it at a lot of places.
Rando
Mullet_Musketeer
26-10-2006, 01:53 PM
Yes - If it is the one I occasionally fish - head for Bretts Wharf Seafood restaurant and park in the carpark then head towards the Citycat pontoon - there is a private pontoon about halfway between Bretts and the Citycat pontoon. I would think expeditions would only be good at night down at the mouth of breaky creek - any other time you have major wash disturbance everytime a city cat comes by - good luck.
shayned
26-10-2006, 02:19 PM
Now that someone has opened their mouth on location, as Dan said, illegal to fish there and if it gets abused it's only a matter of time before the gate goes up. Another lb spot gone.
rando
26-10-2006, 02:58 PM
I used to have a quiet fish and a coldie on the little jetty in Yowgerra Park on Breakfast creek. I never caught much there but it was a nice convenient spot to while away an evening, and relax with a line out.
Now the St Margarets school has built a rowing shed there and installed a pontoon ( the jetty was demolished) and put gates on the bloody pontoon.
I realise that they have probably leased the area and spent big bucks on there facilities, but why exclude the locals , not fair in my opinion!!!. I pay taxes too and there are very few fishing spots that were as convenient as that quite little spot.
rando
flynny15
26-10-2006, 04:53 PM
hey scotty more work and less talk, your productivity is very low.
imnotoriginal
26-10-2006, 05:06 PM
I lived right near there for a while, I'm guessing it was you and your mates I saw there a few times Troy. I was definitely put off trying there because of the citycat disturbance, the mess that always seemed to be there and the louts that seemed to show up sometimes. It's a pity the minority wreck it for so many others.
Joel
mat_anderson04
26-10-2006, 05:17 PM
yeah dont fish there no fish at all ::)
shayned
26-10-2006, 05:22 PM
Thats only 'cause some mad bugger in a blow up pool toy keeps scaring 'em away by dropping lumps of concrete on their heads. ;) Least its not toxic like lead.
Braddles
26-10-2006, 10:33 PM
Yes - If it is the one I occasionally fish - head for Bretts Wharf Seafood restaurant and park in the carpark then head towards the Citycat pontoon - there is a private pontoon about halfway between Bretts and the Citycat pontoon. I would think expeditions would only be good at night down at the mouth of breaky creek - any other time you have major wash disturbance everytime a city cat comes by - good luck.
Thanks Mullet Musketeer... much appreciated... I owe you one! ::)
As for the couple of anti socials here >:(; I am sure there isnt too many public access jettys in the Hamilton Stretch - Mullet just has been a good sport, a gentleman, is contributing to make Ausfish what it is today, and has saved me the time and effort and cost of fuel searching... One day you might need ask for my help, in a different way, in the hospital, and I bet you hope I do.... Be nice!
Brad. ;)
shayned
27-10-2006, 08:28 AM
Brad,
A quick PM from MM would have achieved the same thing, failing that there was enough info to quickly work it out by taking a stroll along the river front at Hamilton if you were keen. General info should be enough for my mind because unfortunately its not only the members who read the pages. So far I've found the people on here to be like minded in their attitude towards maintaining fishing spots and fisheries, the casual visitors attitudes, who knows?
Now which hospitable was it and I'll PM you and let you know if I'm ever on my way there and in need of assistance. ;) :)
cuzzamundi
28-10-2006, 05:32 PM
gday brad,
like shayne said, a pm would have been more the go mate. also as he said, it aint just members who can read these posts, so you never know who will take advantage. it's the same as sharking rules - you do the time in the field to find your own spots that work, and (painfully) learn about those that dont. same goes for table fare fishing, particularly land based. so yeah mate, these blokes aren't 'anti social' at all, i'd personally vouch for them being the opposite, they just care about the spots they do have and know.
anyone ever pulled any rays or pike eels from cameron's or along that stretch? have fished there a bit for catties only, but certainly looks like their terrirory. dont get out that way much, but would be interesing to know. there are also some great spots for breambos landbased up near pinkenbar if anyone's interested.
gday shayne, will be in touch real soon mate. hope youre good.
cuzza
Braddles
31-10-2006, 06:23 PM
I accept that a PM could have been made... but then any one else could have PM'ed me prior and hadnt...
ANyway...
I do appreciate MM for taking the time to help me and I will certainly look out for him if I can help anyway in the future.
I do wonder why Ausfish is "overly generous" in allowing visitors to read everything we post? Perhaps some forums could be locked to members only? It doesn't cost anything and is very easy to join, in fact I have probably gained more from Ausfish than I have given really as there are so many far more experienced than I... I dont understand why a visitor wouldn't want join up if they were interested in fishing / boating... and share their experiences and know how..
OK - I'm off to read the new BCF junk mail...
Brad.
timddo
01-11-2006, 11:31 PM
the only jetty i know of in hamilton is near the city cat ferries.
just drive along that stretch and look for fishermens.
NeMo84
01-11-2006, 11:43 PM
nice one cuzzamundi you hit the nail right on the head mate, can't really add much except that i reckon some people seem to want all the instructions like it's a recipe or something, in my opinion half of fishin is doing the hard yards and figuring things out for ourselves trial an error, oh and anywhere along the river that you can cast and hit the water puts you in with a chance, if u can get in trouble fishin somewhere, why not walk 20 metres either direction and cast from there? just a thought :)
Braddles
02-11-2006, 08:02 AM
nice one cuzzamundi you hit the nail right on the head mate, can't really add much except that i reckon some people seem to want all the instructions like it's a recipe or something, in my opinion half of fishin is doing the hard yards and figuring things out for ourselves trial an error, oh and anywhere along the river that you can cast and hit the water puts you in with a chance, if u can get in trouble fishin somewhere, why not walk 20 metres either direction and cast from there? just a thought :)
What Ever! I'm over it... Never expected such a bashing for asking where to F*&king fish and then get some poor fella in the ka ka for being kind and telling me...
NeMO84 - I guess you dont read the fishing reports then and see what is biting where to increase your chances of a catch? You dont read a map or ask for directions when lost? I suppose any road you turn onto = "your in with a chance" as you say... ... Why not pull your head in... "now there is a thought". And I promise, no recipe needed!
darebrizzyriver
02-11-2006, 08:35 AM
Mate dont be such a bloody sook & find your own spot. I dont care if it's also my spot but thats what fishings all about. Maybe when you do find a great spot that hasnt been overfished yet you wont be promoting it to the rest of Australia.
sharkbaithoohaha
02-11-2006, 09:57 AM
Cuzzamundi / NeMo84, took the words out of my mouth.I've been fishing since I was 3 and was taught by trial and error.Before I fished the Brissy river area I would walk around and check it out,at high and low and in between to see what the water does,where it eddies,where the bait holds up ect,and when you do start finding fish there's a lot more satisfaction.It reminds me when I worked on a charter boat,we occasionally get what we refered to as "BLUDGER'S" coming on board with their hand-held GPS and go into the head and plot in our marks.
My skipper had been a pro for 30 yrs before he started charters and a lot of marks were unknown.It was his lively hood,however if you find something on you own accord as he did - good luck to you.
This is just my opinion, and as they say "Opinions are like Ass@#les, every one has one.
sharkbaithoohaha
02-11-2006, 10:01 AM
I went of on a tangent- Cuzza I have caught pike eels off Cameron's but no stinga's.I'll send a PM and let you know where though if interested.
NeMo84
02-11-2006, 10:07 AM
[quote author=NeMo84 link=1161671361/30#33 date=1162388616]
What Ever! I'm over it... Never expected such a bashing for asking where to F*&king fish and then get some poor fella in the ka ka for being kind and telling me...
NeMO84 - I guess you dont read the fishing reports then and see what is biting where to increase your chances of a catch? You dont read a map or ask for directions when lost? I suppose any road you turn onto = "your in with a chance" as you say... ... Why not pull your head in... "now there is a thought". And I promise, no recipe needed!
Braddles you are a bloody sook mate, nevertheless i've got a great spot for you, awesome drop-off, get up onto the top of the gateway bridge, walk up to the middle and take a sharp right over the fence, let us know how u go big fella ;D haha
cuzzamundi
02-11-2006, 03:54 PM
lol!!! Nemo84 was just putting it simply braddles, his head's fine and doesn't need pulling in!
gday sharkbaithooha,
that'd be great mate! lemme know if you want some good land based shark spots too mate.
cuzza