View Full Version : Mud island thursday
alleycat
02-11-2006, 10:52 AM
Went for another trip to explore mud this morning and what a beautifull morning it was, anyway was checking out a few deeper areas as opposed to shallower eastern reefs and found a few squire, best was 44cm out of 6 caught and i kept 2 for dinner, also went back to my old rig , a 3-5kg dropshot with 1500 symetre, found i enjoyed fishing with this better than the outfit i bought to chase mackeral and snapper which is a pflueger 8-15lb with a 4000 symetre, just found i liked the little outfit better, but im not real sure it would handle a big snapper?, what do yous reckon? would it handle it with 10lb braid?.
Oh and got pulled up by water police for second time in 3 weeks for safety check, the first time saw me with a 150 dollar fine as somebody had swiped my flares, second time was much nicer lol.
alleycat
02-11-2006, 10:56 AM
Dinner.
TIM-DONSELAAR
02-11-2006, 11:02 AM
Nice squire there alleycat...Well Done [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
cheers tim ;)
Hampo
02-11-2006, 11:17 AM
Nice work, Thiank about getting out there this afternoon if the weather stays friendly.
snapattack
02-11-2006, 11:24 AM
Good work mate. I think the line capacity on a 1500 would be your only downfall. You might just have to chase the bigger ones.
Snap
alleycat
02-11-2006, 11:32 AM
Good work mate. I think the line capacity on a 1500 would be your only downfall. You might just have to chase the bigger ones.
Snap
So if i got the next sized symetre which is what? a 2500 or 3000 ! do you think the rod would take it? its a berkley dropshot 6ft8 3-5kg.
Slient
02-11-2006, 11:40 AM
Nice Squire and fit-out... 8-)
Did you see any boiling water there... Mackeral ot tuna I mean
Happy fishing
Silent
alleycat
02-11-2006, 11:53 AM
Nice Squire and fit-out... 8-)
Did you see any boiling water there... Mackeral ot tuna I mean
Happy fishing
Silent
Hell yeah!! both tuesday and today both near mud and over in the shipping channel, think they were all mack tuna though, i chucked a few slugs near the channel markers but didnt get a hit except for jellyfish you could dam near walk on, geez they were thick today, and can somebody tell me how to go about catching a few spotties? , should i troll? drift a pillie? or cast?.
02-11-2006, 12:48 PM
A nice feed there, Alleycat. Very well done! :)
For_Steve
02-11-2006, 01:03 PM
Just checked the Shimano website for you for info about the Symetre. The next size up is a 2500.
Regarding the line, 10lb Fireline apparently has a diameter equivalent to 4lb mono. Therefore, in theory you should fit 200+ yards of line on the spool (Shimano claims 200 yards for 6lb diameter on the 2500).
Now the rod, 10lb line is about 4.5kg. As your Dropshot is 3-5kg line class, it falls within the range.
alleycat, I'm far from being an expert on these things but thought this might be helpful. There would be many others more experienced to get ideas from. Let us know what you decide.
Sorry no comments on the mackeral. My only experience is trolling big lures for my Spanish friends up north.
Cheers, Brad.
Slient
02-11-2006, 01:08 PM
[quote author=Silent link=1162428774/0#6 date=1162431638]
can somebody tell me how to go about catching a few spotties? , should i troll? drift a pillie? or cast?.
I rather floating pillies and chuck chopped pilles for bruley trail...
Don't forget add mono lead at end, not wire because mackeral's shy to wire...
You probably see schoolies out there also
Hope it's help you...Good luck
Silent
land-lubber
02-11-2006, 01:53 PM
Hey allycat
i have a 2000 size reel spooled with 8lb braid and i have stopped 4kg blackall (similar shape and fight to snapper) (70odd cm) landbased and hit my backing before i could stop him, about 150m of line out, so u should have enough time to get up and chase it b4 ur spooled, the only concern is that the fish may brick u, but thats the fun of fishn! so id say the 2500 would be ok, but make sure ur drag washers are up to scratch :o
lunatic
02-11-2006, 03:29 PM
G'day mate!
Good feed there.
Are flares compulsory? If so I must duck down to the shop and get some!
Lunatic
marty+jojo
02-11-2006, 04:48 PM
if you are drifting, the 1500 should have enough line. When you hook a good snapper and it's taken a lot of line you should have plenty of time to start the motor and give chase b4 being spooled.
I landed my pb snapper at mud (72cm and 5kg) on a 2-4 kg rod and a daiwa capricorn 1500 loaded with 4 pound fireline, i was by myself and i gave chase with the bowmount. Besides the smaller the reel is in the photo the bigger the fish looks ;D
straddy77
02-11-2006, 05:11 PM
good work mate. i got checked over by the water police at mud on tuesday. bloody nice boat they had too just quietly!
Smailesy
02-11-2006, 05:52 PM
good work mate. i got checked over by the water police at mud on tuesday. bloody nice boat they had too just quietly!
they pulled you over because you are a angry little man
02-11-2006, 09:08 PM
Good catch of fish there
Getting back to what you are asking, whenever I have fished two rods for snapper, it's almost as if they know to latch onto the lighter outfit. I often bring a small rod that really is a bit of a joke if I am expecting to catch a decent snapper - its more what you would use for stealth fishing for bream in canals with 2KG leader. But guess which rod I get the most bites and fish for the table?? ::) ::) I can stop snapper up to around 50cm ( had one beside the boat at wello recently, but he spat the hook - but that's another story) After that I am in serious trouble only because of small line capacity.
Want a real buzz? Fish 2KG for snapper. Sure you get busted off frequently, but if you stay connected, the light line gets more hits that is for sure. ;)
chicken
02-11-2006, 09:11 PM
they pulled you over because you are a angry little man
Were you in the boat with him smailesy? if so they pulled him over because you are a big ugly man
Fisher4life
03-11-2006, 02:40 AM
Are flares compulsory? If so I must duck down to the shop and get some!
Lunatic, last time i was at mud isl, the police came and stopped me as i started heading home, and asked to check the flares and the date of them. So i presume that it is compulsary.
Josh
03-11-2006, 07:44 AM
2500 reel, 10lb fireline, 14 or 20lb flurocarbon leader (smooth or rough bottom), 3 - 5 kg or 3 - 6 kg rod is what I call a perfect setup for mud. I get nearly 200m of fireline on my reels, which is time enough to take chase when you have to.
My biggest ever snapper was was 89cm this time last year at Mud and was on 6lb fireline.
twodogsfishing
03-11-2006, 09:48 AM
i was told that no matter where you are fishing in the bay, always have a floating pilly out the back....ive stuck by this and had many a tussle with mackeral and large tailor at the sandhills while fishing for whiting....i just split a cork from a wine bottle in half and give it a little nick for the line to slide into....i set the cork at about a rods length above the hooks...i find using the cork helps prevent catching large grinners and rays by keeping the pilly off the bottom...same technique has also produced at mud and compass adjustment
beefaman
03-11-2006, 12:19 PM
Nice fish mate. The smaller gear is fine for snaps, but you need a bit of patience and need to chase them sometimes.
As for flares, compulsary in semi calm water, as well as a V sheet. Wello and mud fit this category.
kwijibo
04-11-2006, 02:35 PM
Flares are compulsary in waters classified as "Partially Smooth Water". In waters classified as "Smooth Water", they are not compulsary.
Basically if you draw a straight line between Cleveland point and Amity point: south of the line is "smooth water" and north of the line is "partially smooth water"