View Full Version : Boating & fishing family day out

aquarius
12-11-2006, 08:15 PM
Howdy Folks, 2 boats, Jims family in 1 and Steven 78, his wife Tammy with myself and my wife all headed out from Manly boat ramp at 8am this morning bound for Peel island.
10 knots of n/w pushed us along and it wasn't long before we were soaking a few plastics around the spit beacon area.
Nothing doing here so on to Horseshoe bay for a BBQ lunch.
To say this place was packed out would be an understatement.
We managed to squeeze in between a few hundred boats..lol
Had lunch some had a swim and others in the group just wandered around on the beach.
The Bom was predicting a freshening n/e wind in the arvo so we headed back towards Manly.
Got as far as Wello and yep just could not resist flicking out a plastic for that elusive snapper..lol
First cast and my wifes stradic screamed into life.
It was a scramble for the 4 of us on board to give her room to fight the fish.
Steve did the honours netting a new PB for the wife.
A 55cm squire went into the esky.
Other fish caught this arvo from Wello included Cod, flathead 63cm, sweetlip 35cm and the old GRINNERS!!!.
It was a great way to finish off the day.
Cheers Brent

aquarius
12-11-2006, 08:17 PM
Horseshoe bay Marina

favourite_whiting
12-11-2006, 08:20 PM
WOW what a beautiful squire!!!
Glad you all enjoy the day today
Take care
Happy life of fishing,
favourite_whiting ;)

Steven78
12-11-2006, 08:24 PM
Here is a Pana

Steven78
12-11-2006, 08:25 PM
The view looking back at us

Steven78
12-11-2006, 08:26 PM
Jim and Brent

For_Steve
12-11-2006, 08:31 PM
Congratulations on the beautiful squire. It looks like a nice fish.

Great photos there. It may have been crowded but it still looks like a wonderful place to be.

skippa
12-11-2006, 08:36 PM
Sounds like a great day guys,

Congrates on your Mrs PB, not bad for a passing SP flick and at good 'ol Wello too.

Love the Pana shot and by looks the weed on Horseshoe has started to disappear again.
Gotta luv the Redlands eh .. ;)

Tony 8-)

Steven78
12-11-2006, 08:37 PM
Its was a wonderful day. Tammy went home happy as she really enjoyed her self. Its was good to have the better halfs and kids out with us. Peel is a wonder place to take the family as you can see most of Brisbane knows that.
The Squire seem to be hitting the jellies again.

Many Thanks Steve

Here is a copy of the hi res version

www.steven-tammy.homes.com.au/Peelpana.jpg

12-11-2006, 08:38 PM
Great pics of horeshoe bay there, I love that place.... but only when no-ones there ;)

Good job @ wello, I was there for the dawn session and it was completely dead.

Great move on the panorama pics..... It'd have to be an olympus? What model? I have the MJU720, and just starting to get used to panorama function.

2DKnBJ
12-11-2006, 08:49 PM
You can't beat those days when you go out boating and end up with a few fish thrown in for good measure.
Some top pics as well.

Cheers Dazza

aquarius
12-11-2006, 08:57 PM
Hi Tony, Yes mate no weed around and i must say Horseshoe bay was at its best today even with the crowds.
So close to Brissy but you feel miles away from anywhere.
It sure is a great place to have a family picnic.
Cheers Brent

12-11-2006, 08:59 PM
Nice pinkey, Beautiful day, looks like the car park at Woollies. Sounds like you enjoyed it anyway.

sleepygreg
12-11-2006, 11:53 PM
Looks like a great day to be alive! Well done on the pinkie.......top lookin spot.

13-11-2006, 04:15 AM
A day like that will make the rest of the week go easier. ;)

Well done to Mrs Aquarius on the squire. :)

aquarius
13-11-2006, 09:01 AM
Thanks for the replies folks.
Does anyone know if camping is permitted on Peel Island?
Cheers Brent

13-11-2006, 09:28 AM
Yes you can camp on peel.... I have done on 2 occasiions for a week long stay.

There is a sign on the eastern end of horeshoe saying no camping with an arrow....... this is a safety thing as a high tide will swamp the unexpecting.

There is a toilet on the island but thats all I am aware of without going to the ruins.

Smailesy
13-11-2006, 09:49 AM
some great pics there

skippa
13-11-2006, 10:54 AM
Brent,

another option could be Blakesleys on N Strads, less crowded than Peel but you need to take your own pooper ( or shovel ) ;)

Bit of discussion about it here.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1150446703;start=all

Tony 8-)

marlinqld
13-11-2006, 11:07 AM
what a day.................wouldnt be dead for quids................ does it get any better?