View Full Version : Wello pt sat 11\11

12-11-2006, 01:05 AM
My brothers and my old man and i went out off Wello pt in a couple of 4.2 blue fins. Scored a slatey bream(or i think it was) and a gold spot cod about 10kg(90cm). Had a big run had to drop anchor and chase but just was to big could`nt get the bugger up,line parted company soon after. My brothers scored a nannygai or scarlet sea perch(not sure) gold spot cod a large bronzey (released) spotty mack (hooks pulled at boat) plenty of squire (undersize). Good day glass-out good stuff.

Will try to get some pics up in next couple days

skulldrag
12-11-2006, 09:25 AM
Looking forward to the pics, Sounds like a great day fishing

Adamy
12-11-2006, 12:26 PM
Nannygai off Wello?? :o :o :o cant wait to see the pics of that!!!

Sounds like a good day and a very mixed bag... on ya!!

Adam

For_Steve
12-11-2006, 05:25 PM
Nice selection of fish caught. Looking forward to the pics. Thanks for the report.

12-11-2006, 05:47 PM
Nannygai off Wello?? :o :o :o cant wait to see the pics of that!!!

Adam

My little feller has caught 3 keepers in the last couple of years, well I think they're nannygai........all hard up against chain bank over clean sand :o I'll be buggered if I know what they're doing there!

Sounds like you had a top day Dave, shame about the missed biggy.

12-11-2006, 08:16 PM
Here's the pix. Sorry don't have photo of my brothers fish. I think it was a scarlet sea perch???. I thought what the hell was it doin here.

http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q125/dogsbodyray/Pic051.jpg
http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q125/dogsbodyray/Pic050.jpg

aquarius
12-11-2006, 09:28 PM
Thats a ripper of a cod there mate....well done.
What depth did it come from if you don't mind me asking?
Those other fish the young fella has is a RED BULLSEYE AND A JUVENILLE SAMSON OR AMBERJACK.
Wello reef is full of surprises and i have caught a few of these over the years.
Cheers Brent

12-11-2006, 09:47 PM
Brent
The cod was in bout 13 meters plenty of small squire and sweetlip about as well.

13-11-2006, 04:37 AM
Wow! :) Nice fish! :)

Congrats on a great day out! :)

richieboy
13-11-2006, 09:25 AM
Lovely cod!!

Richie

straddy77
13-11-2006, 11:07 AM
good work mate, nice fish

beefaman
13-11-2006, 12:28 PM
Well done mate. Beaut Cod!!
We hit Wello early and ended up with a 60 and 50cm squire, plus the normal throwbacks. It was pretty quiet compared to normal, but the tides werent the best.

13-11-2006, 07:16 PM
Beefaman
Some good squire there. Things slowed when the northerly picked up.

T1
14-11-2006, 09:44 AM
Nice fish Dave! Question though... 13M of water must have been some distance out from Wello?! I fish the ledge and it doesn't get much deeper than about 8-9m - hence you must be out further?

Were you using baits or SP's? Either way, top cod (probably the one ADAMY got bricked by a few weeks ago ;))...

Take Care T

14-11-2006, 04:17 PM
Gday T

We were out about a bit further. We got it on a pillie/squid cocktail. Haven't fished that spot before,keen to get back there and have another crack.

Cheers Dave.