View Full Version : Bay/beacons/saturday

Rainbowrunner
18-11-2006, 02:13 PM
At Dohles rocks at about 4am Sat with Tim from Ausfish for a run to chase Mackerel and tuna, he was keen for some tuna action and to score his first legal mackerel, which he did. The sun was just starting to create that orange glow on the horizon, about 10knots of SW, nice and cool and off we went. Weather reports were for 10-15knots SE, I predicted a bit less than that (I was wrong) it was definitely gusting up to 20knots easy.
Anyway headed out towards the beacons saw a few birds and tuna schools but couldn’t get a hookup, then started drifting and casting slugs around the beacons, Kaimen was the first to hookup and boated 2 nice ones over 60cm for the day, and lost a beauty very close to a metre right beside the boat my fault apparently with a missed net shot. Tim scored 2 legal schoolies and lost a nice Yellowtail Kingie to the beacon, had it right up to the boat till it saw us (musta seen the haircut Tim?) and it was off seeya later decent run and hid behind the beacon taking his lure with it. Yours truly had 2 hits and miss, and something nailed a huge squidgy on the bottom on high tide with a fair bit of weight, spitting it out and leaving me with a mangled squidgy. Other than the wind it wasn’t a bad day, there was still a few other larger tinnies and boats on the water, no ausfishers tho, and we came home with a feed.

Rainbowrunner
18-11-2006, 02:18 PM
as you can see the weather was just lovely

Pitsta
18-11-2006, 02:58 PM
Good on ya fella's . Sounds like you both had a bit of fun. Even if it got up beyond the so called breeze ;)

18-11-2006, 03:36 PM
Goodonyer mate! :)

Nice to see you get rewarded for going out in a tinnie in those borderline conditions. :)

shorty01
18-11-2006, 05:11 PM
nice fish :) you guys mustof goten a bit wet driven around in the tinni.but oh well u got some nice fish so it wouldent matter if u go wet lol

cheers davo 8-)

18-11-2006, 05:34 PM
Nice work guys considering the wind

Steven

snapperm8
18-11-2006, 05:43 PM
nice macs mate

cheers dave

richieboy
18-11-2006, 10:12 PM
Top work boys!! Don';t worry, you wern't the only ones that got wet today I reckon. Went for a jog this morning down to the harnour early and saw alot of boats heading out. Turning around for the trek home and it was really starting to blow. That was around 7am.

Richie

skulldrag
18-11-2006, 10:15 PM
Taking on the elements in the tinnie certainly paid off.
Nice fish ;)

bryansen
19-11-2006, 07:58 AM
nice fish boys
how big is that boat of yours becouse it looks like it is blowing pretty hard

Brissyguy
19-11-2006, 08:24 AM
Looks like you guys were rewarded for your bravery.

Some nice feeds there, well done !

Rich.

moondancer
19-11-2006, 10:53 AM
Well done! Hard work in those winds paid off!!

sharkbaithoohaha
19-11-2006, 03:08 PM
Top Effort guys.Looked like good kite flying weather.

TIM-DONSELAAR
19-11-2006, 05:58 PM
Thanks for the trip pete and kaimen,It was great to catch my first couple of mackeral on slugs #[smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

You forgot to mention my tiny tailor i caught #;D ;D

Cant wait for another trip fellas...U might have noticed i have advertised my overhead rod and tld 25 so i can purchase a decent mackeral spinning rod and reel...What can i say "IM HOOKED NOW"

cheers tim #:D

19-11-2006, 06:20 PM
Good times are here again. Looked like a nice day to get a bit damp on the way back in. Nice fishies.

Runner
19-11-2006, 08:19 PM
Some good Macks there, and good work with the wind.

Slient
20-11-2006, 08:00 AM
Nice schoolies and nice choppy water there... ;D

What sort tinnie you have? it seem pretty big one

Silent

Rainbowrunner
20-11-2006, 11:47 AM
gday fellas,
Yeh no worries Tim, im gonna get kaimen a one of those shimano high speed spinning reels for this as well.
Youll havta bring the gps and your patented berley next time too.
My boat is a quintrex dory 520 or 5.2 metres, 17ft, powered by a 50hp 2stroke yamaha, does the job quite well for the bay and ausfish stickers 100mm high. Weathers looking good this weekend.Hopefully ill have both days off?

Slient
20-11-2006, 11:53 AM
Nice pic of boat with background...
This rig is excellent for Moreton bay you can race to beacons in a short time... ;)

Silent

BrandonH
20-11-2006, 02:42 PM
Good catch guys ;) It wasn't much better sunday :'( we managed one mac and it wasn't anywere near the beacons ;D ;D

Cheers N
Tight Lines

Brandon...