View Full Version : Wello... take 2

Adamy
21-11-2006, 06:54 PM
After a successful day out yesterday and having had to leave my deckie (GES- George) at home... Then of course having called him to rub it in ;D - He was pretty keen to get out and have a crack at them - and I was just as keen to give him a hand... :D so off we went again this morning in search of some Wello squire... knowing that T would be down there was also an added encouragement - he often has the ability to call up the larger specimens - so if he was going to do well - I wanted to witness it first hand.

It was a gorgeous morning, with barely a ripple on the water and a very light breeze as per Monday the morning started off very fast paced with a big run on the first cast, it was a good fish but spat the hook after the first run. Within the first hour I had 3 in the boat ranging from 41-44cms. George on the other hand was having a slow start... Finally when he did hook up to a good fish - it ran him over the reef and it was gone.

Gradually though, George was able to open his account with a 41cm model and slowly added to that throughout the morning to finish with 4. Meanwhile the fishing on my side of the boat slowed considerably until on one of the last drifts my floater took off and the fish took a good run, I applied pressure and waited for the fish to turn or tire before I could begin to wind, but it didnt want to and kept going for straddie, diving over the edge of the ledge and rubbing me off on the coral... didnt even get a crank of the handle in - easily the best fish of the day for me... lost.

In the end we totaled 7 keepers between us ranging from 44 to just over legal, the quality and quantity was down on yesterday and we lost 3 fish estimated over 50cms but cant complain when looking at the total bag - had another great day on the water.

Adam

p.s to answer Alleycats question from yesterday.... we put out from wello pt boat ramp - only 4 mins to the spot.

21-11-2006, 07:04 PM
Two posts in two days with nic fish? Way to rub our noses in it Adam. :-? Well done again mate. Please don't say there will be "Wello part 3" tomorrow or I am going to spew!! ;D ;D Making me a tad jealous over here. :D

21-11-2006, 07:32 PM
Two good reports mate..well done

marlinqld
21-11-2006, 07:42 PM
I'm with you Poodroo..a nice pewk if Part 3 is here tomorrow ;D ;) ;) ;D

chief
21-11-2006, 07:48 PM
adamy , your the man ,Well done mate. All on plastics ?

21-11-2006, 07:52 PM
I'm with you Poodroo..a nice pewk if Part 3 is here tomorrow ;D ;) ;) ;D

After Wello 3, there definitely won't be a wello 4!! I know where you live Adam!! ;D ;D Nothing too serious, maybe a flat tyre or I'll padlock the wheels and throw away the key!! ::) ::)

Good fishing there anyhow, congrats!

alleycat
21-11-2006, 08:20 PM
Hmnmmmm???? could it be hybers light? or eastern side of green? or artificial reef? coz i dont know of any other reef around there!!, oh and i catch and release fellas :).

Great_White
21-11-2006, 09:44 PM
Brian, count me in ;D ;D ;D At this rate there will be no fish left at Wello :o :o :o

Well done Adam ;) ;) ;) I hear there is a deckie opening in late 2009 is it too late to apply.

Peter ;)

Adamy
21-11-2006, 10:38 PM
Geez guys... now your egging me on ;D ;D ;D I WAS thinking about doing a part 3 - just to go back and get the bigger ones we dropped today :P - T hasnt posted yet - but he dropped one over 50 and we dropped 3 -so there must be at least 4 left with my name (and jighead) on them ;D

But alas no - I think I'll give them a rest for a while, besides I was lucky to get two consecutive leave passes - wont try my luck for a third ::) :-X

Besides, you know what fishing is like - here one day and nothing the next. Its a funny thing - we work just as hard for a bagout as we do for a single fish sometimes... luck of the draw - now if I could just start to do as well on the mackeral as I'm doing lately on the squiries - I'll be a happy camper ;)

Chief - Yeh mate all on placcies - we tried putting out a pillie floater with a balloon for the mackeral that were chasing the garfish - but they werent interested in that - more interested in snipping off my jigheads :-?

Funny story: You may remember a while back beefa and T put up a post ( http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB.cgi?num=1162779867 ) with some guy claiming to have caught 5 x 60cm snaps at wello on prawns - then he was trying to tell T that placcies dont work... anyway (I shouldn't spoil T's thunder cause he hasnt posted yet) but T took out his mate this morning who apparently (I didnt see them ::) :P) caught two nice fish on his first plastics outing ever. Anyway T calls out to us how many do we have - we answer and I replied as a joke - "all on prawns - those placcies dont work" anyway his friend - I suppose he's not an Ausfisher tells T... see I told you placcies are no good... :o I cracked up..... hmmmn..... suppose you had to be there.... ::) really not THAT funny.. :-[ go about your business people - nothing to see here :P

Adam :D

GES
22-11-2006, 12:40 AM
Hmnmmmm???? could it be hybers light? or eastern side of green? or artificial reef? coz i dont know of any other reef around there!!, oh and i catch and release fellas :).

G'day alleycat.
For a financial consideration I will tell you where Adams spot is, what placcies he uses, a description of his boat so you can follow him everywhere and how he holds his mouth when he jigs his lure. But don't let him know I told you. ;) ;D
We practiced catch and realease this morning also ... often with jig head and placcie still attached to the fish.
Gee those fish are strong in that shallow water. I happened to have my finger on the braided line while I jigged the placcie when the big fish hit me. I got quite a burn from the line as it screamed out before I could get my finger out of the way... then I just couldn't stop it and it eventually bricked me and cut the line. That's what keeps ya coming back.
What a great mornings fishing.
Adam ... your reputation is growing. You'll have trouble keeping up the image my friend.

GES

alleycat
22-11-2006, 07:00 AM

G'day alleycat.
For a financial consideration I will tell you where Adams spot is, what placcies he uses, a description of his boat so you can follow him everywhere and how he holds his mouth when he jigs his lure. But don't let him know I told you. ;) ;D
We practiced catch and realease this morning also ... often with jig head and placcie still attached to the fish.
Gee those fish are strong in that shallow water. I happened to have my finger on the braided line while I jigged the placcie when the big fish hit me. I got quite a burn from the line as it screamed out before I could get my finger out of the way... then I just couldn't stop it and it eventually bricked me and cut the line. That's what keeps ya coming back.
What a great mornings fishing.
Adam ... your reputation is growing. You'll have trouble keeping up the image my friend.

GES

LoL its ok ges ive been meaning to explore more around green ect, lots of nice sloping banks coming off the bommies there, caught a dozen there in sept but all pretty small, and yeah your right about the fun of the fight, i used to fish a lot for bream but now cant be bothered once you feel the thump thump fight from a decent squire on light braid, its hard to beat.

T1
22-11-2006, 07:58 AM
Top work ADAMY - you outfished us even though you were out there longer than us! We ended up with 2 nice fish for Phil-et and i will post later today once i get a chance to scratch myself - bloody busy at the moment! Funny you mention the prawns, i told Phil when i saw him after i spoke with you yesterday and he just laughed! Even though he won't outright admit it, i know he enjoyed his first ever SP fishes and was keen to go again this morning but he is teeing off at 7am at Bribie so time constraints dictated otherwise - plus i'm seriously lacking sleep and super busy at the moment so i'll have to take a breather until the Full Moon.

Take Care T

I think that's 2 newbys (experienced bait fishos) converted in 3 days... I should run T's T-riffic Tinny Trips from Wello... :P

Tinn
22-11-2006, 08:42 AM
Looks like anyone could catch a fish at Wello at the moment ;D ;D

Smailesy
22-11-2006, 10:21 AM
great catch again half your luck mate well done

shorty01
22-11-2006, 11:22 AM
nice catch 2 good days cool

cheers davo 8-)

T1
22-11-2006, 11:24 AM
Looks like anyone could catch a fish at Wello at the moment ;D ;D

Especially if you can bagout, i guess anyone can huh TINN!!!! :P

T/C
T

Tinn
22-11-2006, 11:31 AM
True so where does that leave you old master T1? ;D

BrandonH
22-11-2006, 01:28 PM
Nice catch's Adam ;) Hope they are in close around the northern end of the bay this arvo ;)

Brandon...

22-11-2006, 06:04 PM
Come on you blokes, lets them little fellas grow up a little ;D

22-11-2006, 06:57 PM
Nice work again adam

Steven

GES
23-11-2006, 12:18 AM
Come on you blokes, lets them little fellas grow up a little ;D

Now, now, Mr Webb. There can only be one guru in this fraternity and we all know your reputation.
Mate, I don't think we could hang onto a snapper, the size you show us in your posts, in that shallow reefy water and with the comparatively light gear we use.
However, if you just pm me the exact GPS positions of your best Bay snapper spots, and include any ancillary information on best tides, times and seasons etc. , Adam and I will be very willing to experiment and post the results. ;) ;D

GES