View Full Version : bream on cheerios , yes I said cheerios!!!!!
gutzy
24-11-2006, 06:09 AM
I have set up a night fishing rig with lights and live bait tank on a pull-trolley.
Tried for about an hour with castnet for nothing but decided to throw some plastics at night around cascade gardens on the gold coast.
Thought that my leftover cheerios would be good for something.
Got a nice spot but got no hits with the 3inch grub in watermelon so tried some hardbodies with no results.
Oh what the hell chucked on unweighted cheerio straight onto hook.
Me mate got the smallest little(moses perch i think)fish we laughed for a good ten minutes.
I had 6pound main line with a 8pound fluorocarbon leader.
SMOKED!!!!!
Tried all nite for the hit again but only managed a few small bream.
Oh well got the setup now so bigger fish are yet to come.
(I see red , I see red , I see red , , I see reeee,eeeeed!)
gutzy
24-11-2006, 06:11 AM
A small bream me mate caught :D
gutzy
24-11-2006, 06:13 AM
My biggest for the nite , a lot of fun on light gear ;D ;D
fishphile
24-11-2006, 10:19 AM
The Encyclopedia of Australian Fishing (A 1979 weekly magazine) Also lists CHEESE as a great Bream bait. Have never tried it and I don't know which cheeses would work better but if nothing else they would add to your cheerios for a good fishing snack.
stonecold
24-11-2006, 11:02 AM
Also had great results with potato chips. The crappy little macas ones are no good you need the fair dinkum fat fish and chips shop ones ;)
Blue_Escape
24-11-2006, 11:31 AM
Stonecold,
I was on a houseboat at Tipplers last year, sitting around having some wine & cheese in the arvo. Thought I'd have a fish, but out of bait ...so wacked a bit of cabana onto the hook. About 2 minutes later..absolute snodger bream!! Everyone laughed an called it a fluke...till I caught a second....then third bream!!
Blue
geoff72
24-11-2006, 11:58 AM
i have thrown those cheetos chips in the water and the bream went bezzerk over them.
smokindrag
24-11-2006, 12:06 PM
hi guys
have used cornflake crumbs in berley for bream before!! worked a treat!!
maybe the MSG or the salt in the chips turns them on ??? dont know!!
Dan...
gutzy
24-11-2006, 01:47 PM
either way I think itll be a case of
1 for you , 1 for me , 1 for you , 1 for me. :P
chief
24-11-2006, 03:39 PM
you've inspired me fellas ,i'm going to rig up a weaner as a popper
fishphile
24-11-2006, 04:06 PM
Step aside Bushys Stiffy The "Chief Chipolata" should sell really well :)
stonecold
24-11-2006, 04:40 PM
Thinkin about it guys reminds me of a trolling session I had a few years back off Byron Bay, it was B.SP (Before Soft Plastics). The brother and father in law decided we were going to chase billfish wide of Byron. We had a stack of pushers and no bait. On the way to Byron the father in law says I didnt bring any lunch you rekon I'll need something. He can't go more than an hr without food so we pulled into the old caltex and he gets himself a couple of chicken sangas.
We trolled for 5 hrs without a touch and ended up at the wave rider bouy off Byron. The palce was stacked with Dollies but do you rekon they'd eat a lure, no way! we tried slugs, jigs, poppers pretty much everything in the box. It was hopeless. Until I spotted the last half of the father in laws chicken sanga ;)
On went a bit of chicken in came a dollie. That continued till the half a sanga was gone then I sliced up a dollie and we continued to catch and release fish for the next hr.
So there you go never neglect lunch ;D
hooknose
24-11-2006, 08:15 PM
Had a good session on spotties and doggy mackeral at Hummocky Island a few years back and we ended up running out of pillies. We switched to the trusty old taipan lures and were able to keep getting the odd fish. For a joke one of the lads put a raw saveloy on a set of gangs and ripped it across the surface like a pencil popper. Result 17.5 kg's of Spanish Mackeral - classic !!!
p.s. More savs were deployed but we were unable to repeat the feat!!
imnotoriginal
24-11-2006, 09:02 PM
Try throwing a chip over the side of a bridge at seaworld, you'll never want to leave.... And cheese is a bloody good bait, especially in a dough. If you can get it to the consistency of playdough it tends to stay on the hook a little longer. Give it a go fishphile., I've caught my best bream on a bit of coon tasty.
Joel
4x4frog
24-11-2006, 09:34 PM
Gutzy,
I used to fish the cascade Gardens a few times ayear when i was but a wee lad back in the late 70's early 80's when we holidayed on the Coasta t Coconut Grove Cravan Park at Mermaid Bch. I didn't think it would still exist in a fishable state after all the development on the Goldie. :o I am surrprised and pleased it's still there. We used to fish a deep hole to the right of the main corner in the gardens. I will have to have a look at Xmas time when we are down that way and take my apprentices for a fish
onionpants
24-11-2006, 10:05 PM
Another tip, for those who use soft plastics but want to save a bit of cash. Go to the confectionary section at Woolworths and buy a bag of Homebrand sour worms. They work wonders.
onionpants
24-11-2006, 10:06 PM
;)
vanurose
25-11-2006, 07:47 AM
I have just loved this thread. You all have such a good sense of humour, especially the reply by chief
chief
Re: bream on cheerios , yes I said cheerios!!!!!
« Reply #9 - on: Yesterday at 3:09pm » you've inspired me fellas ,i'm going to rig up a weaner as a popper I laughed out so loud my hubby came in and wanted to share in my fun
Go Ausfish
Rose
25-11-2006, 08:30 AM
This does not surprise me. I have caught lots of big bream at the 'Pin on beef hearts. It is an old timers' bait that I had heard about and gave a try and it was brilliant for the big blokes. Have used it a lot.
Obviously cheerios would suit the really old blokes who have lost their teeth. ;D ;D ;D
4x4frog
25-11-2006, 08:49 AM
This thread reminds me of an old bloke who used to fish down near the co-op* in Ballina. The first time I fished there I was amazed at how huge the breambos he caught were. His secret...large shelled king prawns...the narural food for the 'local' humdingers and it works. Bream must be more of a scavenger than we give them credit for because the more adventerous people tend to be the results still come
*co-op = seafood co-op
ssab1
25-11-2006, 01:03 PM
do you use tomato sauce on the sausages or doesnt it matter
4x4frog
25-11-2006, 02:15 PM
do you use tomato sauce on the sausages or doesnt it matter
;D ;D ;D ;D...I think the fish would appreciate it, ahiseed or tuna oil doesn't have the same ring with cheerios!! ::) ;D
bigal
25-11-2006, 06:49 PM
in teh eating stakes i think id rather the cheerio's. well done though and top catch on the unusual bait, chicken skin works a treat also
aussiefool
26-11-2006, 05:20 AM
Mate gota say I'm not surprised. One one the reasons I don't fish for or eat bream is that they will eat anything. When I pick up my dog's morning deposts I toss them into the creek behind my place and as soon as it hits the water the bream are all over it. Talk about waist recycling ;D ;)