View Full Version : Tin Creek Spot "Y"

richieboy
26-11-2006, 12:35 AM
G'day folks. I was going to head down the Coomera tonight but decided to give it a miss and stay local as the Tri Nations Final was on. Thank god the Aussies won!!!!
I'd intended to fish the bridge but instead, decided to fish the upper reaches at a spot I knew would hold a Jack.
Off to collect some cast net some bait and drop the pots in and I arrived on dusk to the sound of baitfish getting smashed up on the far bank. Quickly rigged up a HB but no luck.
Filleted one of the bigger mullet and sent it floating down. 5 minutes later and I'm on to something solid. A few darting runs then slack.... :-[
It was looking promising. 2nd cast and half an hr later and my little friend on the hook starts dancing before my rod tip bends and line quickly starts heading towrds the snags. JACK!!! Too slow, busted off on 30lb leader. Time to up it.
Things went quiet for a bit then on the turn of the tide it all started happening. My poddy gets walloped and again I feel the weight of a solid fish. No jack this time, not quick enough. Lizard??? zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz :-? :-/
Got back some line and ended up beaching a lovely cod. Was quite chuffed on 8lb main line. Quick pics and released to fight again. Last mullet on, and 5minutes later whack..............blown away on 40lb leader. Called it a night and home for the footy.
Tinny creek still producing some quality for a landbased fisho like me. Cheers.

Richie

cobiaman
26-11-2006, 12:42 AM
well done mate, im sure you will get that jack soon!

richieboy
26-11-2006, 12:43 AM
And another!

Rich

cobiaman
26-11-2006, 12:45 AM
did you eat that cod? go the aussies!!!!!

land_based
26-11-2006, 02:13 AM
Nice one richie, i got one this week about the same size on live herring at nudgee beach.

chief
26-11-2006, 05:21 AM
Well done richie,that creek still produces a few surprises. Hey Mason has to be approached by the wallabies after that kicking game ;D ;D

fishphile
26-11-2006, 11:41 AM
Well done mate, Will have to catch up with you soon so I can get on to some better fish. I went down there Friday arvo/night but livies kept getting taken by catfish so packed it in early.

Cheers Dave

peterm
26-11-2006, 05:13 PM
Nice Cod Richieboy - good on ya !

richieboy
26-11-2006, 05:16 PM
Chief: LOL. Left footer too, incase you didn't see it. After the wallabies end of season tour this year, I reckon they will be recruiting too. ;D

Dave: For sure mate. I'm still after that jack! I'll be in touch.

Cobiaman: no chewing, released for another day. Still got plenty fillets from my last trip to Cairns earlier in the month.

Dylan_Rylatt
26-11-2006, 06:03 PM
nice cod rich!@!@!@ you and me this week...... we gotta find jack keep in touch !@!@!@

Dylan

shorty01
26-11-2006, 08:34 PM
nice cod i havent caught a cod yet but hope to soon well done mate

cheers daco 8-)

richieboy
27-11-2006, 10:48 AM
nice cod rich!@!@!@ you and me this week...... we gotta find jack keep in touch !@!@!@

Dylan

Sent ya a PM mate. get back to me.

Richie