View Full Version : Ballina Schoolie

stonecold
22-11-2006, 02:03 PM
Jeez I'm sick to death of howling north westerlies.....screaming sou easters and then on the days its not blowing much the gentle 25 knot nor easters. I went all the way to Hamilton Island in October and caught 1 queenie about 60cm a few piddly coral trout and a tea leaf trevally of a kilo. I paid $220 for my son and I to take part in a 4 hour trolling seassion aboard a fishing charter with 5 other hopefull anglers. Trolling because our annual holiday so happened to coincide with the coral reef closure in October for spawning. All in all for our 4 hours trolling I got to watch some half cut yobbo skull drag a small spottie over the side....not happy.

I thought when I get home it'll be all better.......I'll have my boat, my tinnie and should be able to catch a few!

Well after 3 weeks of blowing like the proverbial the only trip I have managed was to flat rock last Wednesday. That trip resulted in a 44cm chopper, not a huge fish but its was enough to dull the pain and on 3kg bream gear good fun all the same.

A week has since passed and the itch in my feet had return, it climaxed this moring with some frustration over house contract settlements being delayed a fortnight longer and I though bugger this I'm going fishin!

As it was already blowing 30 knots frm the North North West I was stumped for viable options....I drove around and had a look at Ballina Fishing Park. I was met at the gate by the owner who had just finished feeding some bream. The sight of bream and other large silvery fish chopping the surface was just tooooo much...the sign said $20 for 2hrs (I rekon I wasnt gunna need 2 hrs).... I shoved the 20 in his pocket as I ran passed with rod, camera and trusty box of softies.

I parked myself out of the wind...1...2...4...6..10 cast later and nothing, this might be harder than I had anticipated. The owenr wandered on over and started chatting. Rekons I should kill the jew with the softies...right.
A change of plastics is in order. I sliped on a 120mm squidgee bloodworm 3 cast later I definate hit that failed to connect and left my plakky pantsed. A dozen more cast and on goes a gulp 3"grub, fourth cast and bang I'm on. Definite headshakes of a jew you beauty! a couple of minutes later and 3 kg of schoolie lay on the bank. A quick pic and away he went.
I stayed for a further hour and had 3 more short strikes that failed to connect but I was happy.....first jew on a SP I'm going to claim it even if it was in a fishing park.

The owner met me again on the way out and offered e some chips he'd just cooked for his lunch. We had a quick chat and he was disapointed that I had only caught the one. I said mate its OK I'll be back next week...next time a little later in the day..see you then ;)

stonecold
22-11-2006, 02:06 PM
The chopper from last week..not big but eased the pain

peeler
22-11-2006, 03:05 PM
Hi mate can you keep the fish at the fishing park?Is it on a river ? any more details would be appreciated.

stonecold
22-11-2006, 03:25 PM
Yes its on the river and yes you can keep the fish although they do charge by the kg for it. Have a look at www.ballinafishingpark.com.au.

Cheers Mark

maxwellson
22-11-2006, 04:50 PM
desperation at its best ;D ;D ;D

nice little schoolie mate all the same ;D ;D ;D

maxi

Archer
22-11-2006, 07:07 PM
Holy Crap!!!!!!
I didnt even know this place exsisted.... :o :o
With no new boat yet #:'( and not looking like finding a ride for a saturday morning fish i might just give this joint a bash. #;D
Thanks Stonecold Nice fish to by the way. ;)

Joe

P.S Anyone know how early they open?

gregdeeth
22-11-2006, 07:15 PM
nice jewy

Sean
22-11-2006, 07:58 PM
Hi Joe, They don't technically open till 8 I think, but They are pro farmers/ fishermen so they will be there early. I went there fathers day and got a similar sized jew on a 3inch shrimp first cast in the middle of the day. On sat they run like a mini comp ( not too serious). Jim has a fair bit to do with it all I think (jim the trevally man, does fishing reports some mornings). A bit exy but fun. I would love a season pass so You could stop in for 10mins or so on The way home most days. Sean

Archer
22-11-2006, 09:06 PM
Thanks Sean, Did you get to use your own gear aswell? I noted on there website its says you have to use theres. Id sure rather use my own rods.....lol ;D

fish_outta_water
23-11-2006, 03:43 AM
yeh archer was just reading that :o why is that then?and is this all stocked fisheries ? was gonna stop by on the way to yamba look alright , nice jewy on the light tackle too
tightlines

stonecold
23-11-2006, 05:43 AM
The price includes gear hire but if you ask they will let you use your own gear including SP.

I rekon for $20 it was the best value fishing I've had for a looong time.

ida
23-11-2006, 03:29 PM
gday mark nice little fish.the wind sure is frustrating! might catch up next time you & muzz go for a beer. cheers ida 8-)

onerabbit
23-11-2006, 06:47 PM
Oh cr@p, It has come to this!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

How are ya buddy, I have also resorted to the same when I couldn't get a fishing fix any other way, not with the same results though .

Will have to tell you where we go to catch mullet, they are good fun on light gear too.

Cant make it for beer o clock tomorrow, have to go to Glen Innes for my daughters birthday. ( bugger that I have to take the boys, that road is a great ride)

shorty01
23-11-2006, 07:13 PM
more and more fish are geting caught on soft plastics well done mate ;D

cheers davo 8-)

stonecold
24-11-2006, 10:53 AM
Sounds like a good plan Ida did you end up getting a fish in this week?

No worries Muzz works been a little hectic I'll drop you a line next week. We are moving house next Friday so we may have to make it a mid week coldie. ;)

maxwellson
24-11-2006, 04:42 PM
what about we organize a m&g beer or two....
for the ballina connection to ausfish....
chillihead knows you onerabbit.. but it would be great to know the rest of us !!!!

whos in ????

regards Paul

stonecold
24-11-2006, 04:49 PM
Never one to turn down a beer with mates ;)

Tony_N
24-11-2006, 05:46 PM
Yep

I'd like to be in that too. Just off to Townsville on monday for 3 weeks to fish the reef with youngest son - then off to Kiama to spend time with oldest. - back in january sometime. Keep us informed a to how you go.

maxwellson
24-11-2006, 06:28 PM
hi tony_n no mate ....what about you keep US informed as to how YOUR going !!!!!!
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

are you planning on fishing at kiama ???
if you are i can put you onto an a good boat out from the harbour.

Archer
24-11-2006, 06:39 PM
Yea M & G sounds good. ;)

Tony_N
25-11-2006, 04:36 AM
Hey Paul

Yep I always take my rods down there for a bit of LB fishing. I hadn't thought of a charter - I'd appreciate the info on a good operator. I thought that outside fishing there was pretty much stuffed. (?)

maxwellson
25-11-2006, 12:36 PM
Kiama bluewater Charters is the name of the operation and brett is the skipper, have fished with him on a few occasions after gamefish and bottom dwellers. his vessel is a 40 ft stebber, nice vessel, very comfy. tell him Maccas cousin paul sent you ha ha,

cheers paul

onerabbit
25-11-2006, 10:05 PM
Yeah, lets try the M&G thing again,

There's lots of us around in this area.

We had a mini-meet a while ago with 5 of us meeting up, which was great, maybe we should go all out & have a bbq in one of the parks?
Sort of a family thing???

No worries Mark, you know I dont need much arm twisting.

ida
26-11-2006, 03:36 PM
yeh a m/g would be good & a few coldys also.with the heat i wont need much persuading.cheers ida 8-)

Archer
26-11-2006, 09:01 PM
# # Yeah, lets try the M&G thing again,

# # There's lots of us around in this area.

# # We had a mini-meet a while ago with 5 of us meeting up, which was great, maybe we should go all out & have a bbq in one of the parks?
# # Sort of a family thing???

# # No worries Mark, you know I dont need much arm twisting.

# # Muzz
The Fishing Park would be a good venue....Went there on saturday its not to bad!!!

maxwellson
27-11-2006, 03:31 PM
hi archer
do they have bbq's and facilitys there ??

stonecold
27-11-2006, 04:54 PM
Paul,

Yes they have bbq and facilities available.

Cheers Mark

maxwellson
27-11-2006, 04:57 PM
should we start another thread on this as it is a bit buried.
dont want to miss anyone.... ;D ;D