View Full Version : Kingfish,Mac tuna,& Snapper!

theVan
25-11-2006, 11:01 AM
Well got up to Fraser again for a few days on the water.

Firstly it was good to meet John G (aka 'Vic1') and his lovely family up there at Kingfisher. Glad to hear you had a good time and the kids saw heaps of wildlife. Sorry to hear there wasnt too much fishy wildlife for Dad to show his kids! ;) ;D.

The jetty was not produceing this week with a lot of weed around causing greef.

I got out on the water on Tues arvo chasing the swooping birds just out from Kingfisher. From the size of the fish jumping , we thought it migt have been Bonito. But alas, it was just small Mac tuna. We spent the arvo flicking Raiders and Gillies at them for numerous hook ups. .... all released

Next day ( Wed) we went further a field. Spent the day flicking chromes at the beacons working our way out the shipping channel. On about the 8th marker, and just about to go to the nineth, Jack had a small school of speedsters follow him out and one smash him 6ft from the boat. I called them immediately for Kingies. After a brief panic as the strong fish tried to get back around the chains, Jack finally won the battle and boated a 60cm yellowtail king.

We got five keepers from that marker and released another five just undersize. The best release I had was quite a spectacle. We had become aware that the fish were very close to the marker and as such I was regularly hitting it (need to practise my casting). After one such direct hit with about 15m of line and lure drapeing over the marker, I reefed the line back at a great rate of knots to try and clear the obstacle. just as the lure started to come out of the water a suicidal silver and yellow fish jumped on. Now the only way to get my lure back was to try and pull the fish and all ,over the top of the marker. Needless to say my rat Kingy wasnt enjoying swinging in the air like a pendulum.He finally shook his way off before I could win the battle but the spectacle was worth it.

Thursday saw a change of pace with soft plastics and lighter gear on the agenda. We attacked the eastern side of big woody where we saw a little action the day before.
About three casts in with a berkley dropshot minnow in watermelon, I hooked onto a Queenfish that produced quite a show.
That was followed by a first for me. I cast into the same spot looking for another Queenie. I would have done maybe two turns of the reel handle when I got absolutley smashed. And the fight was much better than the queenie and deeper. With the first sign of colour, Jack called it for a Squire. And that it was. 38cm and my first on a soft plastic. I was stoked. I followed that with another at 34cm with the very next cast that was released.

Finnished with a bit of fun on Long toms and small trevally.

Yet another trip of firsts.
Cant wait to get back!

Shane

theVan
25-11-2006, 11:03 AM
Squire ! :)

manchild
25-11-2006, 06:47 PM
On ya mate ,like the statisfied smile as well ;)
George

geoff72
25-11-2006, 09:55 PM
great trip by the sounds,nice fish

Vic1
26-11-2006, 07:31 AM
Can't say I was looking forward to your report Shane......after spending the previous five days on the pier for 2 small trevs and a large sea toad!!!!! Good to see you got out with Jack and got away from the weed

Vic1

caught-ya
26-11-2006, 01:57 PM
good report and sounds like a nice trip up there, there have been a few kingies around the beacons in moreton bay at the moment with one smashing tim about three meters away from the boat and then cutting him off around the beacon and one samshing me right beside the boat and then heading back down towards the beacons wich ended up in a pulled hook, so at least you got a couple in and had a nice feed of fish.

bassamundi

theVan
26-11-2006, 02:57 PM
Just had reports from Jack up there that they are still on and some bigger ones busting him off around the chains.

bludog
27-11-2006, 05:54 PM
Good stuff some reward for your effort :D

Bludog