View Full Version : Coomera river 3/12

slyman
04-12-2006, 05:39 PM
After a very windy saturday, my brother and i arranged to make a trip down to coomera. We planned to meet our mate darren and his brothers either at the ramp or on the water nearby. We chose the ramp at the end of foxwell rd next to the little park. Chris and I arrive first, and launch by 5am, no sign of darren. So we thought we'd motor upstream and have a look around and have a bit of a fish while waiting for them to call. After passing lots of very fishy looking spots, fallen/submerged trees, collapsed banks, rock walls... we come across a channel intersection that had a large patch of very nervous water behind the marker and in front of the mangroves that the channels went either side of. So we repostion ourselves and begin to cast our plastics either side while drifting towards it. The first few casts each produced nothing, then still nothing, then we are over the bait school up against the mangroves, and I drop my storm twitching nipper over the side into about 2m of water, as soon as it hit the bottom it loaded up straight away, and within seconds I had a 45cm sand flatty in the boat who was polite enough to shake his head and fall in to the esky himself. 5 minutes later and we have another 3 in the boat all between 35 and 40cms!! Quick check of the phone, on the water less than an hour, 4 fish, and still no sign of daz, hmm.

Then the phone rings, its daz...

daz: gday mate, where are you?

sly: gday, on the water up stream from the ramp, what about yourself?

daz: still at the ramp, middle of nowhere though.

sly: middle of nowhere? Arent you next to the little park across from sanctuary cove?

daz: nah, dunno where we are, no buildings i can see.

sly: o... k...

daz: you take the foxwell rd exit? we did.

sly: yep past the train station through the roundabouts follow the blue signs down to the water.

daz: nah we saw some other bloke with a boat, thought he was going to the ramp so we followed him, saw the blue sign but couldn't read it in the dawn light without my glasses, but the bloke with the boat didn't turn so neither did I, followed him to some little ramp in the bush somewhere.

sly: (silence)

daz: we'll launch work out where we are and call you back.

sly: we have 4 fish already...

daz: (dial tone...)

Turns out they drove past the end of foxwell onto colman rd and went all the way to the end to diamond head, almost at the end of the coomera north arm. Several kilometers downstream from us. We decide to go meet them and fish a few of those spots we saw on the way up. The rock wall we spied produced a just legal bream on a pumpkinseed turtleback worm for chris and that was all for the trip back downstream. By the time we caught up with daz and his brothers we were just south of the bullock head creek entrance, since we last spoke he'd picked up his first ever jack 20cms and a dusky that went 42 both on hardbodies! For the next few hours we fished bullock head creek, the rocky point at its mouth and several of the smaller waterways off the north arm of the coomera for no luck except a 30 odd cm catfish while trolling.

By this time its nearing lunch, and the phone rings again, daz and co have headed back to where they launched for another hour or so then planned to head home around 2, so we go back to our launch and have lunch and beers in the shade, then make our way back upstream to have a flick at some of the walls lining the canals. Using the turtleback worms again and shaky shads in pumpkinseed too, we got lots of strikes but no hook ups, just lots of tailless and torn plastics. We'd been watching the clouds build out behind the mountains for a while and decided to head home, managing to get there not 10 minutes before the rain. The coomera has some great places to fish and we'll definately be going back, was a bit of a busy waterway though, large cruisers speedboats skiers tuberiders etc so we might go up further where there will be less traffic. What are the ramps like further up? I noticed there is one west of the highway bridge near the causeway while looking at the beacon to beacon, and a couple more to the east of it.

slyman

kleyny
04-12-2006, 06:05 PM
congrats on the flatties so quick after launching
always good to start a trip off like that
havent had one of those trips for a while >:(

kleyny

Brett1907
04-12-2006, 10:17 PM
That oneoff the highway is good, lots of fishy places east & west of it.

gogecko
05-12-2006, 12:19 PM
Try the ramp next to the M1 bridge at oxenford but beware of rocky shoals just upstream. Ramp at Santa Barbara is good, so is Boykambil Esplanade and Jabiru Island.

You had the best spot first up. Go back there again at dawn. Try not to tell everyone else next time :-? :-? :-?

geoff72
05-12-2006, 12:44 PM
jabiru island is a great ramp,sandy bottom,very very easy, the one on hope island towards hope harbour is a bugger, very hard put a boat back on the trailor when the tide if flowing quick.

flattymattyb
05-12-2006, 04:37 PM
only problem with Jabiru Is ramp is that it has the highest incedence of vandalism & theft on the coast beware. Believe it is because of the main road running past in plain view .

Matty