View Full Version : Tinny Today

fishphile
12-12-2006, 07:01 PM
Fished live mullet around some of my favoured spots down at Tingalpa this arvo.
Ended up with a small flattie. Some bream, cod and what I guessed as a Tilapia however I have never caught one in saltwater before hopefully someone can help me out with an identification.

Cheers Dave.

fishphile
12-12-2006, 07:02 PM
Nice little Cod

fishphile
12-12-2006, 07:03 PM
My Mystery Fish

backhoe
12-12-2006, 07:17 PM
Looks like a tilapia to me

12-12-2006, 07:25 PM
Well I'll be. That is definitely a tilapia. How in the hell is is surviving in salt water? Shows how adaptive they are. Nice fish apart from that. ;)

12-12-2006, 07:47 PM
Nice bream and cod, mate.

Well done! :)

12-12-2006, 07:53 PM
Hmmm tasty cod, nice mixed bag. Me old man was in tinny today probably fishing the hole don't know how he went as yet.
side note; have'nt read from you of late Charlie, what gives?

DaMaGe
12-12-2006, 07:58 PM
Tilapia is the common name used for a variety of cichlid fishes of the genera Oreochromis, Sarotherodon, and Tilapia. Tilapias inhabit a variety of fresh and, less commonly, brackish water habitats from shallow streams and ponds through to rivers, lakes, and estuaries. Most tilapias are omnivorous with a preference for soft aquatic vegetation and detritus.

Because of their large size and rapid growth rate, many tilapias are at the focus of major fishing and aquaculture efforts. Set against their value as food, tilapias have acquired notoriety as being among the most serious invasive species in many subtropical and tropical parts of the world.

tuskie
12-12-2006, 07:59 PM
I'm not trying to pinch your special spot Fishphile, but the Environmental Protection Authority might be interested to know where you caught this vermin. They have run eradication programs against tilapia in other parts of the state before they take over the water body.

heathrow69
12-12-2006, 08:47 PM
Hello there fishpile ;)

Definately a tilapia a pest fish, i agree with tuskie!!!!!

You are meant to kill them on the spot. I have heard you can get a fine if you keep the fish!!!
Can anyone agree or help with more info on these fish???

Heath.

suzy81
12-12-2006, 09:14 PM
the creek(storm water drain)behind the lota pcyc is full of tilapia...i notified the dpi 2 years ago and they were already aware of their presence and told me that they were all through the tingalpa waterways....horrible things....and pretty tough by the sounds of them!.........jez

Jeremy87
12-12-2006, 10:02 PM
Don't worry tuskie they already know that they're in there (overflow from the leslie harrison dam)

richieboy
12-12-2006, 11:19 PM
Hey Dave, well done mate. So much for "not as much as a sniff of cod". Looks like you're getting em now. Top pics.
I must admit tho, in all my time fishing the creek I have never ever caught one of those Talapia thingys. A first for me. Interesting.

Cheers mate.

Richie

2DKnBJ
12-12-2006, 11:53 PM
Talapia are meant to be killed and disposed of.
You can be fined if you have one in your possesion.

Cheers Dazza

onionpants
13-12-2006, 12:11 AM
Popular food fish in the USA. You see them in most grocery stores.

TheSaint
13-12-2006, 03:23 AM
That Breambo looks a nice size! Did you you put it on the stick?

Slient
13-12-2006, 06:40 AM
I'm shocking :o there's Talapia in Brisvegas and When I grow up in Townville, I used to cast net a lots of them in Townsville's waterway...I dumped them on the ground to rot and death

jimboomba_jed
13-12-2006, 07:10 AM
Mate i caught one of those talapia in the logan river bout year and a half ago, rang up dpi and they told me to ring fisheries! they couldnt give a damn it seemed to me! I cant recall any body else ever catchn any in the logan, Has any body else caught any there? There is large fines up to $33000 for having them in your possesion live or dead. Good catch any ways bloke that bream be a good brekky!

donnan

fishphile
13-12-2006, 09:49 AM
Didn't keep anything for the table this trip, Was happy just to get a few different species. All around 30 cm.
Couldn't believe that Tilapia though, I was 95% sure thats what it was so last time I looked it was swimming in the scrub being eyed off by the crows.
Does anyone know if they can breed in the Saltwater?

Mozza
13-12-2006, 03:01 PM
I think the reason for "not in possession" is because they're mouth-brooders - there's a risk of spreading the brood down toilets, etc. Tough little buggers - they're one of India's premier aquaculture species.

Used to catch them (by-catch chasing bass) growing up in S.Africa - as good a freshwater fish to eat as any.

Nowdays I catch them in my cast net in the Ross (Townsville) and I believe with a little education and understanding, we should be allowed to eat them... They have infiltrated the Burdekin River at some point north of Charters Towers I think and DPI are at a loss as to how to get rid of them. The Burdekin drains roughly a quarter of the state, so you can understand the ramifications. I'm of the impression that they'll pretty much eat anything: it's probably species-dependent but my experience has been they'll have a go at whatever you fish with.

Mozza