View Full Version : Muddies
Benny_78
21-12-2006, 07:21 AM
Just a quick report. Had the pots in for 2 days now, landbased in the Bris river. Managed 4 keepers, the biggest one going 20cm. Fickle and unpredictable the old mud crab, one day they are there, the next day, nothing. Also managed to jag a 60cm flathead in one of the pots yesterday....Xmas feast to come.
Sorry no pics, just a quick update.
Sandman
21-12-2006, 07:48 AM
Benny am having the same kind of luck with the old muddies , pulled a legal one on the weeken as i was throwing it back thinking it was a large Jenny due to the small claws i noted it was a large buck by under its carapis but with very small claws. So far have managed 6 Bucks close to 20cm but yours sounds like a buety.
Benny_78
21-12-2006, 08:14 AM
I think there is a lot of pot luck involved in fishing for muddies Sandman. I think you just have to get the pots in the water and hope for the best. Some people say the full moon is the go, I prefer the new moon. Either way the higher the tide the better. I am just hoping for some good rain to flush the big fellas out into the rivers and creeks.
tfish
21-12-2006, 01:11 PM
we have had the pots in for the past 2 days, close to home. Managed 6 nice crabs....with all of em except one...with that dark rusty x on their bellies! two more pots to check and then we are set for the chrissy banquet. I agree with the big high tide gents.enjoy ya crabs!
richieboy
21-12-2006, 02:15 PM
I'm heading out this arvo to put the pot in. Hoping for something for chrissy. Cheers mate. Nice bucks.
Richie
rollie
21-12-2006, 08:30 PM
Thanks for the report