View Full Version : bay mackerel saturday 23/12/06-late report

caught-ya
25-12-2006, 12:22 PM
Well, after concentrating the beacons and catching a few mackerel we decided to head over to the markers once again.We got to the marker and anchored up and started to throw some slugs around. We had a lot of casts without hits but than my dad finaly gets a nice spottie in the boat with many missed net shots, so in the esky it went.

We sat there for a little while longer and then some people come over to the marker and then tried to hook up to the marker with there anchor rope, so we lended them our pick.We threw aour slugs around for a little while longer and then headed over to tangalooma for a swim or to see if there was any bait there

We got to tangalooma and had a bit of a swim and then a bit of a fish without any bait coming aboard except a little whiting caught on little pieces of yakka. We headed back over to the marker and caught some bait there and then anchored up with some livies and then got hit on one of the livies and we brought it up and it was a decent mackerel and once again had a few missed net shot but finaly got it in. ;D ;D

we didn't get much after that so we headed home in 15-20 knots of wind and saw some tuna schools on the way back but just couldn't get one, so all in all we had a fun time on the bay catching some spotties and finally catching some bait at the markers for the first time! ;D ::)

Cheer's
bassamundi

picture to follow........

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 01:13 PM
so where in qld was this ?
thanks

caught-ya
25-12-2006, 01:23 PM
hey scotty_c_069

it was in moreton bay

bassamundi

scotty_c_069
25-12-2006, 01:27 PM
ow ok thanks i just thaught it might have been in hervey bay
thanks

richieboy
25-12-2006, 01:57 PM
Thorough report champ. Nice effort. Sounds like a top day on the water was had. I bet that swim was refreshing. Cheers.

Richie

chief
25-12-2006, 06:50 PM
Merry xmas mate and well done on the macs

26-12-2006, 05:36 AM
Bassa,

That sounds like a top day most people can't appreciate the beauty of our Moreton Bay, until they experience something like you just did. I was amazed how clear the water is around Tanga, and the wrecks. People come from all over the world to holiday there, and we have it on our doorstep, with some quality fish to boot!! :o :o

Well done young man, keep the reports coming!!

nob
26-12-2006, 06:12 AM
mmmmmmmmm mackeral yum............

Nice work

nob