View Full Version : Brissy River Mangrove Jack

madasacutsnake
25-12-2006, 09:01 AM
Gday All,

First post on the site, just thought id start off with a jack i pulled from the brisbane river last thursday. I trolled him up on a deep diver on my stump puller, i have been bricked a few times before here, and have landed a few jacks in this spot, but this guy was the biggest ive got in so far.
The river is very underrated and it seems in the last few years the fish have started to come back and this fish is a prime example. It took many fruitless missions to finally pull a jack, but this guy has made up for it. He was released in good nick. Merry Christmas :) :)

ps he went 54cm :)

wombie
25-12-2006, 09:10 AM
nice jack

Canoedle
25-12-2006, 09:19 AM
:o Great to see such a healthy big jack in the river mate, well done, and thanks for sharing. ;)

Mullet_Musketeer
25-12-2006, 11:43 AM
Thats a superb fish - there have been a few jacks around Boggy Creek / Pinkenba even round to Kedron Brook - I want one I want one I want one >:(

zach
25-12-2006, 12:10 PM
nice jack mate good work
zach

spaice
25-12-2006, 12:27 PM
nice jack mate, a fat as beast of a fish. havent got one in bris yet myself

25-12-2006, 01:39 PM
Beautiful work there.

I cannot wait for the day when the river comes as plentiful as it used to be 100+ years ago.

richieboy
25-12-2006, 01:43 PM
Well done to bust the 50cm mark. Top effort!

Richie

dorado
25-12-2006, 03:30 PM
Well done on a great Jack and also Welcome to the site too! :) Did you get him in the lower reaches or more upstream in the fresh? I've pulled in a couple of average sized lizards now and again from around brekky creek way but yours is the first Jack I've ever heard being caught in the river! And a great size too!

Cheers :)

chief
25-12-2006, 06:48 PM
Welcome to the sight and congrads on the pb jack. Great to see it pulled out the brissie river. Well done

Slient
25-12-2006, 07:01 PM
Oh my gosh jack's in Brissy river and finally it proved since few rumors of jack in brissy river...Your photo does prove the truth...Thanks for report also welcome to the addict site...

Fishing_Freddy
26-12-2006, 06:46 AM
Welcome to the site great looking fish and even better its not far from home weel done with jack
Ken ;) :)

madasacutsnake
26-12-2006, 09:39 AM
Thanks for all the replies fellas.
I used to troll for them right down in the lower reaches until i was driving along one day and saw a great little area just a small ride from bretts wharf, and thats where i got him.

Pistol_Pete
26-12-2006, 09:52 AM
Good jack...in good condition...Early christmas present for ya mate.... :)

marty+jojo
26-12-2006, 06:26 PM
nice one mate...
i always thought they were there,, now i know for sure. :o

geoff72
26-12-2006, 10:13 PM
thats your first post,cant wait to see the others come in,well done. top jack

madasacutsnake
27-12-2006, 04:01 PM
Going out again tomoro afternoon for another troll, ill start of up pinkenba way and work my way upriver. Ill let ya know how i go. cheers

caught-ya
27-12-2006, 04:38 PM
nice jack for the brissy river!!! ;D :o and hopefully you get a bigger one next trip

top effort!!!

bassamundi

gregdeeth
27-12-2006, 04:44 PM
nice one