View Full Version : Nerang River

Bream_Reaper01
30-12-2006, 08:58 AM
Just a couple of pictures for my two efforts in the Nerang so far,heading out again soon so no report at this time.Will fix later.

Bream_Reaper01
30-12-2006, 09:00 AM
This was a few nights ago.

dropshot66
30-12-2006, 09:16 AM
HEY THERE REAPER

Been trying to catch a jack for about 6 weeks in the nerang river, can you give me any hints on where to find them..........

I am using plastics, but will to give live bait ago if i can find where to get them, are u able to help me out........

ta Dropshot

p.s might see u out on the river say hi, i'm in a blue hornet

masterdusky
30-12-2006, 03:58 PM
coupl of nice catches mate, lanbased or from boat ???
Look forward to the report

geoff72
30-12-2006, 08:14 PM
what a top effort,well done

Bream_Reaper01
04-01-2007, 09:11 AM
Sorry guys,iv'e been fishing so much i haven't had chance to post report,i'm even supposed to be looking for a few muddies tomorrow but weather may stop that.Both catches were from my boat.

The second pic was actually the first night out,the 58cm flatty came in round the isle of capri area and also we set some pots out and caught 1 ripper muddy 18cm across the shell(have pic but didn't post).This was in the arvo and when sun went down became very cool so ducked back to car for jumper.Whilst walking 10min back to car(don't you love this time of year at boat ramps,NOT)my mate decided to have a look around and found some bait fish on sounder against a rock wall with depth between 6 to 7 metres.So we gave a go after i had returned with nice warm jumper.

First cast, i was thinking 10 seconds later OMG what had just ran my line that hard and busted me off.Hmmm re-rig and 2nd cast is away and bugger me i'm put under the rocks in a flash.Hopes were rising that Mr Jack was around so put 8lb bream gear away and upped the anti to 15lb.Pulled some nice bream and then finally landed 38cm jack then shortly after 43cm jack,both played dirty and had to be angled out of the rocks,let my mates have them for dinner as they'd never had jack before.Trip 1 at this spot saw nice some nice quality bream(lots of throw backs we don't keep under 27cm),2 jack,small cod,and moses perch.

Second trip once again was cool and is the first pic ,trev was caught in an adjacent creek on 8lb sp outfit berkley gulp 3" minnow in pearl did the trick(was flicking for flathead in shallows,so was a pleasent surprise).I was more than happy as it was my first trev on sp and he fought extremely well.Back to the wall for the night.No jack this trip but some more quality bream,moses and more small cod.One really nice blubber lip bream topped off another good night.

Except for the flatty and the trev the rest were caught at night both incoming and outgoing tide,no preference was shown by the fish,just as long as there was run we had some fun.All were caught (except for trev)on a combination of mullet,small dead fresh herring(we netted),couple on pilly pieces.Nights were definately better after boat traffic died away,the nights with smaller tides seemed to be better also as iv'e been back when we had more water in the tide for zip.Also on the bigger tide there were no baitfish to be seen on the sounder either.

Spot can be easily reached from the bank but you'd need heavy lead to hold the bottom(not sure how feasable this would be).We were only about 15 feet off the bank in the boat.I won't say exactly where but we weren't far from a bridge,a boat ramp(isle of capri) was only about 20seconds away on the plane.Drunks walking past will have conversations with you.A bit cryptic in know but i won't give this spot up that easy.

Happy fishing,
Bream Reaper.

somescott
04-01-2007, 03:00 PM
I know where you are, also good for whiting........and big snodgers if you have the right bait.

Definitely small tides and during the week to minimise boat traffic.

hooknose
04-01-2007, 11:39 PM
Top job reaper, there are great spots in both directions from where you are fishing with oyster rocks and deep water= Jack. You have been a bit generous with your clues but keep up the good work !!!
ps bet you thought that blubberlip was another jack !!

cuzzamundi
05-01-2007, 09:39 AM
fantastic catches there mate! glad to see som eone giving the MILF a go on the dinner plate - they really aren't that bad. great stuff.

cuzza

Bream_Reaper01
06-01-2007, 09:09 AM
Hooknose,blubber lip fight was dissapointing to say the least for such a solid fish,i thought i was pulling in a mudcrab,it was just a dead weight.Cuzza they do taste ok if bleed and iced immediately.