View Full Version : BIG Brekky Ck cod- 62cm

sharkbaithoohaha
19-11-2006, 04:55 PM
Hi all again.You must be getting sick of my marathon of posts, but I saved the best till last.Itook my 2 yougest kids to ,yes you guess it,Spot X again, this morning.I like to fish the run out just after the high.As soon as the baits were in the water we were into it.A small grnter bream ,then a small Moses Perch then a BIG cod. :) :) :) :) :) :)I've got to go and clean it for dinner now,and have a cold beer.As they say it's better to be born lucky than rich ( I think it was a rich bast@#d that said it )and luck was definitely on my side.It went 62cm and weighed 3.6kg.My biggest landbased cod.I still havn't caught an estuary cod from this spot,as they have all been Morgan's,not that i'm complaining as they're almost the same fish.Cheers

skulldrag
19-11-2006, 05:03 PM
Thats a massive cod for breakfast ck. Thats if i am thinhing of the same creek
in Brisbane. Well done thats an awesome cod.

19-11-2006, 06:23 PM
I can taste it now Sharkbait. Yummo

heathrow69
19-11-2006, 06:29 PM
Holy S&*& Sharkbait!!!!! :o

What a massive cod mate!!!!
Def, have to have a fish with u now mate ;) well done our your pb!!!

Congrats

sharkbaithoohaha
19-11-2006, 06:59 PM
Dogsbody- Just finished dinner with more in the freezer and yes it was BEAAUUUUTIFUL thanks.

Heath,I'll have a chat to you tomorrow.I'd like to go Thurs or Fri.Thanks mate.

geoff72
19-11-2006, 08:39 PM
wow thats a big cod, would have been an awesome fight. bet the kids were inpressed.

Brenno
19-11-2006, 08:42 PM
thats a great cod, well done.

19-11-2006, 08:56 PM
Bloody nice fish for Breck Crek

Cant but notice the T Shirt..did you decky for Pete at one stage

Steven

T1
19-11-2006, 09:13 PM
Yep, super Cod indeed that! Marvellous stuff!

WOW! Brekky creek huh?! I bet the boys enjoyed watching that one come up...

Take Care T

richieboy
19-11-2006, 10:19 PM
Big cod mate!!!! Very fat. I wonder how the autopsy went?? Top catch LB.

Richie

Brissyguy
19-11-2006, 10:29 PM
Nice cod Sharkbait.

Damn fine eating fish too.

Rich.

sharkbaithoohaha
20-11-2006, 06:16 AM
Thanks guys.It was an awsome fight taking about 15min on 15lb mono and a 30lb trace.Thank god for the heavier trace.It was well rubbed up too.
Stephen-I certainly did work for Peter .Best bloke I've ever worked for and best fisherman I've ever met.I learnt a lot from him and have a world of respect for the man.

moondancer
20-11-2006, 07:53 AM
Phew! What a fish!!!! Brekky Ck.???? Always thought it was mainly good for old tyres, rusted bits and piecses I'm impressed and amazed!! Well done.

20-11-2006, 09:21 AM
SBHHH

Yeah your right about Pete...bloody top bloke and puts in an effort for the punters on board

Steven

sharkbaithoohaha
20-11-2006, 12:41 PM
Thanks Moondancer.You are correct,there is a lot of crap in the creek,but i suppose this is what creates the habitat for these kind of fish.It's the same down at Boggy Ck.You definitely loose a lot more fish than you land due to all the snags,but that's half the challenge for me.Cheers.

Smailesy
20-11-2006, 02:04 PM
great catch

fish_n_chick
21-11-2006, 01:27 PM
Now that's a cod! :o Bet it was good eating, and the kids must have been stoked ;D

The only thing better would be a good size Moses Perch ;). Have you ever caught any of size there?

sharkbaithoohaha
21-11-2006, 05:53 PM
Yeah thanks FnC :).I got a couple of keepers early in the year around Jan/Feb,but at the moment they're all small but as summer approaches hopefully they'll get bigger.I have a spot down near Brett's that a few other Ausfishers know about where they are a bit bigger.When the Ck starts producing the keepers I'll give you a PM ;).

fish_n_chick
21-11-2006, 06:29 PM
Thanks Sharkbaithoohaha. I look forward to it! [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]

zach
21-11-2006, 08:22 PM
nice cod mate
zach

4x4frog
22-11-2006, 05:21 PM
:oGreat fish for a city environ....Haven't seen an estuary cod that size for a while. My grandfather used to talk about mothers like that up around the creeks near lake Cootharaba and surrounds but I am yet to see one myself.
That makes me keener than ever to get otu there...just one Q, early morning or late afetrnoon SBHHH??
I am wondering if the turn of the tide tomorrow will be a good bet seeing as the lunar predctions are very good?

SWFISHER
22-11-2006, 08:37 PM
top fish mate

sharkbaithoohaha
23-11-2006, 09:52 AM
4x4 it was about an hour after the turn of the tide on the run out.I find Brekkie fishes better at this point in the tide.It was surprisingly not early morn or late arv but around 10:a.m..I saw your reply in "saltwater" section and with the moon phases around 1:00p.m when you have lunch,would be a good time.Send us a PM and let me know how you go ;).

pedostool
10-01-2007, 01:33 PM
yep great fish ;D but it only has 0ne eye :-?

chief
10-01-2007, 01:49 PM
Great cod mate ,amazing what comes out of that creek and the thousands of passer bys every day. Well done

cuzzamundi
10-01-2007, 05:54 PM
fantastic mate - that is one hell of a land based cod in any location. awesome stuff mate.

cuzza

dorado
10-01-2007, 10:57 PM
That's an amazing mother of a cod! Well done!

How'd you cook him up? :)

Dorado

sharkbaithoohaha
12-01-2007, 05:52 PM
Thanks guys.It's good to see(only for my ego) this post is still getting a bit of interest.
Dorado-fish and chips mate in a beer batter.