View Full Version : How much patrol will $15000 buy me at auction?
06-11-2005, 04:36 PM
This arvo I went out to wash the old faithful MQ, it only got driven a hand full of times this last couple of years the last time was 5 months ago! anyway now I have serious rust breaking out in the chassis from past beach work so it is time to move on from the old girl :'( , 10+ years original everything 400,000 km and never a problem did she have - till now.
I have 2 choices and $15000 MAX I will spend, 1 is to buy a the 89 to 92 model? (forget what thy are called) in decent condition LWB, petrol big six for less than that or 2 to hit the auctions, I noticed a few X government GU patrols with up to 75000km max on the clock are up for auction in the next 3 days to 2 months. Are these out of my league??
Dont want a turbo, diesel, metallic paint or an automatic or a 3L.
Whats the best I can do?
look very forward to any advice, I am waaay out of touch :-/.
06-11-2005, 05:59 PM
G'day Scott,
I know this is on your "not wanted list" but I picked up a 1992 GQ Patrol, Turbo, Diesel, Auto (that's 3 out of 3 of your not wanted :-X) with 200,000klm in brilliant knick off ebay for $10,500.00.
The truck has been babied all its life, well service and maintained, a country car...too good to miss.
I have a mate in the wholesale trade, picks up country 4x4's...I think he said that he's seen petrol GU's for 15-16ish with sensible klms...could ask him to look out for you if you like...PM me if you want to look into the options...it'll only take a phone call and I'm sure he could turn up the right car...and he's really particular - steers clear of crap. If he turned something up I'd go over it..send photo's etc if that would help
I'm not sure how expensive it is to frieght a car from SEQ to FNQ but could check into that too if you like. I've got another mate in freight with Toll...again let me know
06-11-2005, 06:46 PM
Rhy's thanks for the kind offer I will get back to you on it if that is OK head is spinning atm with the whole idea of another car 3 hours old.
From the few that I have looked at so far on the net you certainly did get a good deal on yours :o
Still throwing the idea around but now I suspect the GU is not what I want anyway I drove a few towing all over NSW they were excellent vehicles and tough as nails but a little too electrically complicated and costly to repair if the need arises, but a great deal is hard to pass up sometimes!
Rhy's would you happen to know what year the petrol 4.2 went to fuel injection? hard ask I know you being a diesel man and all.
06-11-2005, 07:54 PM
Yeah Scott, I've gotta admit, I prefer the simplicity of points dizzies and carbs to the fandangled approach...but you don't get those sort of probs with deisels ;)
I'll check with Brad in the morning and get back to you...I'm sure he'll know...but it must be some time during the GQ series I'd reckon...not that I know too much about them...I was in a 60 series Cruiser back then with the attitude and all so I don't know that much about the Patrol...what a Jerk!!! ...this GQ is a bl@@dy ripper...can't believe how good a truck it is...my Patrol mate has me eating crow now ;D ;D ;D
Get back tomorrow
07-11-2005, 10:58 AM
G'day again Scott...
The EFI petrol Patrols began in 1995 ...so picking up a pre '95 GQ to meet your specs and price range should be no problem...Brad reckons you will be able to pick up a very very good low klm truck for well under your max...he has a Current model sensible klm 1998 4.5ltr for around 17K, so at the moment there are some very good buys around...PM me if you want to go further
FLATHEAD1
07-11-2005, 01:16 PM
Don't forget when buying at auction to add auction fees + rwc + what ever needs fixing + reg + transfer fees + plate fees + stamp duty etc. = can equal a lot.
I personally would look at private buys. You usually get the extras + history + you can see how the vehicle has been kept and you can get to test drive it.
These petrol GQs really suck fuel.
PS. You should jump a flight down here to sunny Melbourne. Litterally hundreds for sale. Most would never have seen a beach or dirt road.
07-11-2005, 07:26 PM
Many thanks Rhy's, wish I had 17 to spend!! Actually the less I spend the better.
I will check out some cartage quotes this week ;) :)
Two things have become apparent today 1 is that I am much closer to calling in 'Rhy's the down south trouble shooter' and 2 is I am strange because no-one ever wants the 4.2 petrol/manual, got tired of answering why I want one of them ;D... Reckon it could work to my financial advantage ;).
The dealers here seem to only stock overpriced roughies! compared to what I have seen on the net anyway.
Only found one that fitted my needs for $14990 93 model 180k but it was rough, it didn't have a square foot inside or out without a scratch, dent, stain or tear of some sort! somewhere near $10000 would have been closer I guess.
Hi Flathead yeah the devil is in the detail I would love to buy in Melbourne from what I have seen on the net there are some very fair deals on the Patrols but the associated costs would probably beat me up and so would the wife if she couldn't come along.
Will this week check out some private sellers, pretty hard to find my car with the manual trans also.
Cairn is far enough away from the major centers for some industry's to have a captive audience it seems :(
David_P
07-11-2005, 07:50 PM
Hi FNQ,
I've got a Dec '88 GQ 4.2 petrol for sale. Done 198000km, red, ac, steer, 7 seats. I bought it at the auctions in March this year. Got it registered, rwc etc, plus new tyres. Red in colour, which is badly faded. Seems ok to me, but got a brand new patrol when I changed jobs in July. It owes me $9000, but just want it gone so make an offer if interested (eg around $7500). With the change you could give it a coat of paint plus a few other things if you wished.
08-11-2005, 08:33 AM
Thanks David, I certainly will not discount it.
Would you be able to send some pics to my email address below please. Also which suburb are you in I assume SEQ. The distance is always a bugger!