View Full Version : VW Kombi offroad
mottsie
13-11-2005, 01:57 PM
Hi there! just wondering if anyone has seen any Kombis while 4wdriving? I have seen pics off them on Fraser and just wondering how they go?
Big_Kev
13-11-2005, 06:04 PM
Depends on what you been smokin.
fullscale
13-11-2005, 06:25 PM
well i can show you a picture of my dads and my uncles up the inside of fraser near congul towing a 16ft quintrex c/console the do well with big wheels there light and powerful depending on the motor i can get hold of the photos if you like
Photographed on Noosa north shore
Larger tyres and raised bodywork seem to be the only modifications.
If you want to see Kombi vans head to Byron bay there are plagues of the bloody things down there.
There is a company in Brisbane fitting Subaru WRX motors into Kombis.
That would be fun!
chemmy
13-11-2005, 10:06 PM
i have seen that same kombie at moreton
gawby
14-11-2005, 10:51 AM
Thats two photos put together.
wiseguy67
16-11-2005, 06:04 PM
Funny business taking a Kombi off road.... My mum and her girlfriend took me and my sister in a fried-out Poptop kombi (well not quite fried out I think it was new) on a extended road trip way back in 1970 from australia by boat to morocco and from there we went across the sahara desert in western africa and other mad places such as afghanistan, ended up in Europe and finaly Canada where we settled.
She was wise enough to have sand rails and from the stories ( I was two and half ) there were days when we only drove a few hundred meters, having to use the rails!
Have a good picture in the middle of the sahara desert of me on the roof sitting on my tricycle ;D
I have never owned a vw and never will. Its something about breaking down all the time....
But as far as off road capabilities it has a lot to do with the driver and conditions. They go quite well in the snow as well with chains LOL
Tell you the truth though, when i bought my first car it was a toyota and had those handy things called locking hubs ;) Today i own a troop carrier.....
When i reflect on what she did i think why do we need GPS, HF, UHF, CB, SATPHONE, EPIRB, ETC ETC
Presently getting my Troopy set up for a trip around Oz and have been looking at all the extras available and keep reminding myself do i need it????
Yeah KOMBI on the beach, no worries mate, LOL there is always, well most of the time, someone nearby with a snatch strap ;)
mottsie
16-11-2005, 06:36 PM
I just found some pics on this website: http://www.baja.com/kombi/buspictures2.htm
Looks like you just need some good tires! and a snatch strap for your friends!! ;) :D
17-11-2005, 05:23 PM
I owned a Baja Bug ( slightly modifyied beetle) for years and neverhad a problem on the beach also used to take it on some bush tracks and did have the occasional misshap but i was really pushing it.
There big advantage is that there rear engine sits right over the rear axle so the load is on the driving wheels also they have torsion bar suspension that with the addition of air ajustable shocks can be raised at will to fit larger tyres and give great ground clearance . The floor pan is quite high in a unmodified vw and there is little hanging down to get caught up on,and so a little lift means alot to the performance. All in all they perform fabulosly on sand
the_group
18-11-2005, 02:03 PM
ive seen one roll on one of the beach access tracks at straddie. They seam to go pretty well but a bit top heavy
SURF_SNIPER
19-11-2005, 02:36 PM
seem to be good on sand, but dont count on going to fraser if your got one. all 2 wheel drives are banned on fraser island ie, bugs,beetles,buggies and combies or any other variant even if they have heaps of ground clearence and big tyres.
this came into play a coulpe of years back as it was found that vechicles using only 2wd on the island (inc 4wd ) were destroying/ degrading inland tracks etc. big penalties apply if your caught, thats even if they let you on the barge.