View Full Version : light conversion for hzj75 series

ol_bob
08-11-2005, 06:37 PM
anyone got any feedback/ideas in regards to changin the std cruiser sealed beams for Hella h4 conversion kits and what globes do ya recommend, obviously i have spotties 200w cibie oscars one pencil one spread beam but the normal high and low beam is about bright as the preverbial candle....any suggestion greatly appreciated

08-11-2005, 06:47 PM
G'day Bob,

I just replaced my sealed beams on the Patrol with 7inch H4 set up. The Narva kit was $130 at autobarn, i picked up the single H4 lenses for $20.00 ea and a yew beaut set of H4 globes that are on special at the moment $69.00 back to $54.00... much cheaper...and I was feeling pretty chuffed saving a few dollars...when my fijian/indian mate saw it he asked me why i didn't go the the truck wrecker to get the Lenses...$2.00 ea...mate some of our new settlers have the clues for a bargain...reckon it would be worth checking out, then getting the H4 globes from AB on special...a real cheap way out!!!

08-11-2005, 06:59 PM
By the way the H4 globes were those 55/60w blue jobbies with some inert gas charge...they reckoned them to be the most brilliant low wattage equivalent of 100 watters...I must admit I was a bit skeptical but decided to give them a go...absolutely brilliant :)

ol_bob
10-11-2005, 04:04 PM
cheers rhys,
ill give em a rip bloody std lights are useless....

bob

Big_Kev
10-11-2005, 08:10 PM
Bob- Piranah will do a replacement wire harness to replace the standard Toyota harness which is only just enough when new. A Toyota harness with some age on it will be down on performance. All Japanese manufacturers have poor level of harness quality.
This will be more evident when installing lights that will draw more power.
A good 4x4 shop will be able to get the goods for you.
Cheers Kev.

23-11-2005, 04:17 PM
Ol_Bob - I've got a 60 series cruiser with the H4 conversion. The globes I've replaced several times, but the lenses themselves are shot. Makes them less than useless!!!

Repco want $130 EACH for a lense to suit! My cousin is getting me a pair of them brand new (Can't remember if they are Hella or Cibie?) for $80! Then the globes will actually make a difference!

The other thing to make sure of is that the lights are adjusted correctly. Actually makes a fair bit of difference!

FLATHEAD1
25-11-2005, 02:36 PM
I replaced the the 7 inch circular light in may safari with crystal headlights. The have a clear lens with faceted reflector similar to the new cars. Upgraded the globes from 75/70w to 100/90w globes.

Made a big difference. Total cost $120-00.

The crystal lights are advertised on eBay.

25-11-2005, 03:56 PM
Like these?

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/PATROL-COMPLETE-HEADLIGHT-UPGRADE-KIT-LAMPS-LOOM-GLOBES_W0QQitemZ4591657220QQcategoryZ30862QQrdZ1QQ cmdZViewItem

FLATHEAD1
26-11-2005, 01:17 PM
Yes Mate

That is them. I did not upgrade the loom just the globes. They are worth doing and a lot cheaper then a good set of driving lights.

02-12-2005, 11:05 PM
Glad I read this thread it's made me feel a bit better, a couple of nights ago I bought one of those Ebay kits but was skeptical about everything but the loom, GQs have crap headlights.

Here is a great site on this sort of stuff, he cuts through the misconceptions on bulbs etc -

http://www.danielsternlighting.com/tech/relays/relays.html

13-12-2005, 01:25 PM
My cousin ended up getting me 2 new globes & 2 new reflectors the other week for just under $100 (Gotta love family discounts!!!) ;D

WOW - Did they ever make a difference! I can now see the road on low beam when I drive at night :o Best money I ever spent!

Although I reckon if replace the wiring loom, they would perform even better...