View Full Version : Which fourby for 10 thou
Streetkid
17-12-2005, 04:25 PM
G'day people, I have 10 grand to buy a 4wd and was after some opinions on what would be a good buy for that money. I would like something bid like a patrol so I can fit all my camping gear in it for trips up the beach. Running costs dont matter too much because I dont do many klms day to day. TIA
17-12-2005, 11:03 PM
I have just finished looking at every GQ patrol LWB for sale in Australia, at least that's what it seemed like. With the help of the internet I researched around 60 of these vehicles on price, condition, model (RX,DX etc) and engine type also other things.
This is what I came up with others may disagree, there is not a GQ LWB petrol engine worth more than $10000 on the private market and not one diesel worth more than $13000 (non turbo) as a private sale either.
To be worth more than this they would need to be very low Km for their age and be in spotless condition with a couple of decent aftermarket extras bolted on to just cross the line. Some were way overpriced, most were still for sale after 2-3 months.
So at least in the capital cities your 10grand will find you a really smick late model 94-97 model petrol GQ with 140 to 200 thousand km on it. Or a very nice diesel GQ with a sick engine but all low km.
For sand work and towing the petrol 4.2 has it all over the diesel 4.2 (a turbo diesel levels the score) everywhere don't let anyone tell you different! also the petrol including fuel, servicing, parts etc will be the all up cheaper car to own too, it just will not feel like it when you fuel up.
Be very careful buying a good GQ unreg that has been modified in the suspension height by more than a couple of inches. It is very hard ATM to find an engineer that will pass one of these in QLD I have been informed. It might cost you a lot to get it roadworthy.
Just one more thing aftermarket goodies are not worth very much from a buyers perspective so try and look through them ie $5000 dollars worth of aftermarket goodies or mods could add $1000-$1500 to the value but only if they were in as new condition and they are exactly what you would have fitted. Some would consider they actually depreciate the vehicles value.
Ps if you are buying through a dealer add 4 to 6 thousand depending where you live onto each of the prices above.
gawby
18-12-2005, 08:21 AM
Streetkid,
If you live in one of the capital cities i would suggest going to the government auctions or fowles auctions and having a look.
There is a bit of a down turn on large vehicle sales at the moment so you might get a god buy there.
Vehicles coming up for auction can be seen on the relative web sites.
Graeme
muzz30
22-01-2006, 07:49 PM
Look into the Nissan GQs and Hiluxe's just double check the history of the car
and make sure if it has had mods done to it then check for mod plate's my
preferance would be a Nissan anyway just like them and always can do mods
to them but dont get the 2.8lt model there pretty slack.
lighthouse69
22-01-2006, 09:42 PM
Hi Streetkid,
A couple of months ago I picked up a genuine 1 owner 1991 Turbo Diesel 80 Series GXL Landcruiser with 270,000 k's on the clock for $9300.
It is in great condition, loaded with extras and was owned by the principal of a Toyota dealership since 1991 so the service history is perfect.
They even threw in 12 months rego when I went to pick it up which was unreal.
I have already done over 10,000 k's in it and it runs perfect and doesn't use a drop of oil so I couldn't be happier with this truck for under $10K.
There are bargains out there at the moment so you will have no problems picking up something good for those dollars.
23-01-2006, 08:46 AM
Nice Score Brett...
Hi Streetkid,
I picked up a '92 GQ patrol turbo deisel auto, 200,00k's for $10500 off ebay before Christmas...good truck, couple of small items needing attention but noting serious...its a hooter...done 10,000klm in it so far...love it...good tow vehicle too
Like brett said there are heaps around atm so good luck
How's your truck going Scott???
24-01-2006, 12:25 PM
G'Day Rhy's. it's going OK busy fitting add-ons into my budget, not long ago fitted a Cav unit with built-in hand pump to replace the genuine unit, my idle revs went up 500 so not before time either.
Fitting a set of touring/towpack springs to it this fortnight sometime.
No new real problems yet mainly little things that I can trace back to shoddy dealer servicing last two things I found was the air filter assembly neck band was refitted and left loose so sucking air instead of through the filter at some level and the rear brakes were not bled properly leading to them pumping up because of air after I adjusted out the freeplay.
No care, no responsibility grease monkey category of problems found so far.
I do still have this oil light staying on too long which does relate to oil pressure on cold start up, so I will be cracking the bolts on the oil cooler and checking the relief valves with fingers crossed as there is not much I can actually do in there apart from haphazardly replacing valves at $200 each :o 3 oil related valves are replaceable in total.
Not too perturbed ATM as cold starts only cause wear if the engine is torqued or reved (he he) while without starup pressure. Sometimes it takes 7 sec to get pressure up if not started for a couple of days.
Hope your trip went well in the new boat and car over Christmas/new year, also did she stay cool through that lumpy section of the tow?
27-01-2006, 05:04 PM
Yeah G'day Scott,
Bit of a concern, the thermo fan certainly pulled her back but she did get pret-t-t-y warm on the big hills. I'm wondering if the radiator might have a couple of dead spots....thats the next port of call. Otherwise very happy...plenty of grunt....just driving it to the temp guage ATM
I'm replacing the suspension too, reckon I might add some poly air bags to a set of 2" over h/duty king springs and big bore koni's
rhys
27-01-2006, 08:49 PM
Rhys are you very hands on? if so I did some investigating on my system when it was playing-up and as I bought it. I ended up pulling the thermostat and running a test without it to see what the system is up to, anyway without a thermo it actually ran cooler at all speeds.
Consider pulling yours just to see, no sure-a-way to discount a not fully opening or enough opening etc thermo, I waited until some heat worked through the system before I put it into gear.
I have a set of kings downstairs, they were supposed to go in today but the rain got in the way. Tommorrow hopefully.
Would love a set of 88 Konis but shit they cost a lot!! $350each! I am trying to work the 82 Konis into the 4x4 budget for the rear only, not a great deal of luck yet, maybe in a month or so.
28-01-2006, 07:19 AM
I went to the car auctions at Springwood to get another car in December and most of the bigger 4X4's were cheap as chips with lots just not getting a bid. Saw a 94 V8 Discovery go for less than $1500, yep fifteen hundred. Needed a polish and a vacuum though and was dark blue. Nobody seems to want them anymore so a real bargain can be had.
Nissan, Ford and cruiser wagons were everywhere and have been there for a while.
You can see what's for sale online as well and the auction on Monday night and Thursday are all under $10k if I remember correct
http://www.autogroup.com.au/Home/default.asp
Buyers market. Real easy to talk turkey. The car I brought had a reserve of $5k. Went to auction, I was the highest bidder at $2,200 ended up buying it for $2,400 + the $250 auction fees ;D
grayson
09-02-2006, 03:30 PM
My recomendation would be a GQ patrol or a 60 series landcruiser. These are both awesome proven machines no matter what anyone says and there is probably more second hand aftermarket gear around for these than any other vehicle. Good value is assured. The best engine for my money was the Nissan 4.2 diesel but the cruiser diesel is good too, and remeber they are both slugs so if its power you want and running costs are'nt a worry you may prefer the petrol engines which are thirsty but fairly reliable and cheaper to rebuild.
Do yourself a favour and find the website for 4 x 4 Australia magazine and ask for a copy of the "buying second hand 4wd" by John Ruth. This is great and highlights good points, bad points and what to look for when shopping round.