View Full Version : Advice - What can a Cruiser do that a Prado can't?

grunta_75
21-02-2006, 11:32 AM
Have made the call to upgrade the Hilux 22R to either an 80/100 series crusier or a prado. Either Petrol 4.5/3.4 or TD 4.2/3.0....

I'm still having troubles deciding on exactly which one to chase and thought I you blokes might be able to

Usage:
- Around town driving 50%
- Hihghway driving 30%
- Beach - loaded with & without a trailer + Pulling a 6.2M stacer both locally & on the highway 10%
- Once a year or so trying to pull the boat to DI/Fraser.
- Planning a cape trip for 2008

I'm looking at spending upto a max of $25K, including any extras that I might need to fit.

I figure:
- Both cars will prbably have >100K on them so the longevity of the drive train and donk is a question
- Pulling the boast up the beach would most likely be only once a year and with a 2nd tow vehicle hooked up to pull me through
- Both have more than adequate levels of bells'n'whistles for me
- Both both have 7 seats which I'm after - given I'll be in the front driving, if it's a bit cramped in the back row, passengers are welcome to exit the truck and take the trusty foot-falcon is they wish

So what do you think? I'm leaning toward the Prado but not sure of their reliabilty >100Kms... Anything I haven't thought of or something I'm missing?

Any help/advice would be appreciated...

grunta.

grayson
21-02-2006, 12:58 PM
Hi Grunta,

Good choice either way IMO. I have a 1995 80 series GXL, 4.5ltr auto and I love it. I don't tow boats up beaches but trailers are common and I access some very soft sand and steep dune country here in WA. I have had a few 4WD over the years and this is my favourite. The petrol auto is just fantastic on the beach with a response that my Diesel work dogs can't match. Torque is also still good although not in the league of some diesels. I have had no reliability issue yet and have customised the bus a fair bit with no adverse affects. The down sides are that these vehicles are heavy in weight and heavy on Juice. I get around 18-20ltrs per 100kms around town and I use 18-24ltrs on my beach fishing excursions. I had a problem with the electric window controls on the drivers door but after pulling down and re-assembling it all still works (don't know what the problem was?). For the type of work you are detailing I would expect that the minimum mods you will need to do are a suspension lift (2" is good all round figure and only requires a fairly cheap castor cirrection plate as a mod on the 80 series) and get the pre-load on the clutch packs in the rear diff adjusted/tightened.

Toyotas make a less than perfect LSD that is prone to wear and then stops working or works when it wants. I have put a locker in mine, but I am told that tightening up the pre-load will get the LSD working properly.

Will an 80 do more than a Prado? Not sure on that one, but the 80 probably has more room and getting second hand aftermarket gear for an 80 series is probably a lot easier.

I have a friend who is trading his 80 series petrol in to get a 100 series and he has nearly 300,000kms on the clock. He fishes with me now and then and his bus seems to be going as strong as mine in the driveline department.

Hope that helps somehow.

Rob G

Cruiser93
21-02-2006, 01:31 PM
Grunta IMO for the $25k mark I'd be aiming for a turbo 80 series .... Tried & proven vehicle that'll do all that you require .....Not as refined around town as the Prado but it'll love the hard work when you need it ....

Try to target a turbo model built after 95 as the earlier ones had an inherient problem with bottom end (crankshaft) failures under certain high load conditions , this also applies to ones fitted with aftermarket turbos unless they have proof of bearing upgrades .......

Otherwise the only other weak spot is the front diff Ref LSD VRS LOCKED thread ........

You can pick up a petrol cruiser a lot cheaper & they have a lot of power for towing etc but your back pocket will notice it too with a higher fuel consumption .......

Can't really say too much about the Prados except that" I wouldn't have one given the choice "

Cheers Mal

SURF_SNIPER
21-02-2006, 03:39 PM
80/100 front and rear solid axles and coils
prado has IFS front

80/100 series will take you further off road hands down.

IMO diesle wins over petrol especialy on the beach for economy and tourqe

try and find a turbo diesle.

Any_Weather
21-02-2006, 08:42 PM
Maaaaaaate, go the Prado. I believe the 3.4l petrol is a bit thirstier the the current model but I am sure it wont be as bad as the Cruiser petrol. Knowing what you will want to do with it I am sure the Prado will be adequate, besides hopefully I will be the second vehicle pulling you out. The 3.0l deisels have plenty of go these days but I dont think the economy will be that much better to cover the extra serviceing and price of petrol. When towing they will be alot better on fuel but that does not make a big percentage of what we use them for really does it.

Lee

Big_Kev
22-02-2006, 09:45 AM
I would be going for the Cruiser. I think the Prado's look like a soccer mums 4x4.

grunta_75
22-02-2006, 10:29 PM
Cheers for your help lads - appreciate your taking the time to respond and give me your opinions....Will keep looking at it as well as some of the aftermarket additions such as improved airflow, headers/exhaust and performance chips...

Lee - you're right - I'm thinking Fraser Classic 07 if it keeps going that it is ! - Maybe we should just go halves in a tractor instead!

22-02-2006, 11:04 PM
Grunta_75

I've tried to contain myself but insomnia and the lack of anything better to do has got the better of me.

If you truly want to be happy with your vehicle get a GQ or GU patrol you will never look back ;)

Ian ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

grunta_75
22-02-2006, 11:14 PM
Ian,

Mate, badge rivelries aside, I agree - you can't take much away from the GQ/Us - great trucks...

I had seriously considered them, but with a Toyota mechanic in the family who can get me mates rates on the bits and will work for bourbon it's a tough call !!!

Will wave on the way past you in the soft-stuff up the beach !! :P

grunta...... ;)

rough_shag
26-02-2006, 11:15 AM
Hi all,my Prado 3.4ltr petrol has 278,000klm's on the clock and you still can't tell it's running in idle!.It is a great vehicle both on and off road and can be a soccer mum's car but once you get off rd she is a true 4x4 and not a pretend one that's for sure and won't rattle your bones like a lot of others.
I have had issues with brakes(soft rotors) and I think the clutch is 'weak' although fitting a heavy duty unit might help this.The gearbox is just starting to get notchy and mildly noisy if you listen carefully.For 80% non-4x4 use the prado is perfect and mine uses about the same fuel as my 3.8ltr commodore did.Having said that if you intend doing any serious offroad towing on the beach I would NOT recommend the Prado as it definitely lacks torque where you need it-but of course it was never designed with heavy towing in mind-that's left to the full size cruisers.
With 25k to spend you should be looking at a well looked after 80 series cruiser with petrol 6cyl engine imo as it will do the heavy towing easily with torque to spare,but of course there's always a compromise when it comes to fuel consumption.Having said that the larger 4x4's are selling a helluva lot cheaper on the 2nd hand market due to high fuel prices.
Conclusion,Prado good for everything but the heavy towing-80 series thirsty but will handle all jobs well.
Good luck mate!.Jace.

26-02-2006, 02:02 PM
Grunta,

What ever you get ....cruiser, patrol, so on etc. make it Diesel.

rebelone
26-02-2006, 04:29 PM
Interested in your comments rough-shag re the prado. I have a work mate who is thinking about pulling the pin and spending a couple of years going round the block. His plans are to buy an 18 to 20 foot c'van and is tossing up what to buy to tow it, either diesel prado or 80 series cruiser- bit of a no brainer question I reckon- aint nothing like cubic capacities when towing. He has been at me to post the subject on this site so seeing as we are talking prados and cruisers here I will throw it in for comment.
Merv :-X

insideout
26-02-2006, 08:16 PM
When in doubt, take the 100 series td out!

rough_shag
26-02-2006, 11:32 PM
Hi Merv,well I have had the Prado for 5yrs now and I am realistic about it's abilities and as I've said before it is a great all rounder but for the serious stuff it just isn't 'tough' enough and lacks torque where you need it-long hills etc etc.
It tows my 1290kg boat and trailer well on the road but I'd hate to get into the soft stuff with it.If I was considering a serious trip 'round the block' I would definitely go for a full sized cruiser or patrol without a doubt-the extra fuel costs would be worth it imo.
By the way I have test driven an auto Prado 3.4 petrol and was shocked by it's lack of pulling power and sluggish performance-glad I got a manual.
Regards Jace.

skippa
27-02-2006, 06:34 AM
Friends of ours have a prado. They couldn't get up the beach exits at Noosa north shore. He was towing a camper trailer. I thought it was a pretty good exit too., wasn't too soft.

I'd go the cruiser. Make it diesel. I think they have a lot more grunt than the prados.

Cheers Tracey
aka mrs skippa

BrandonH
28-02-2006, 07:32 PM
I bought a 96 80 series diesel curiser a coule of months ago. Was an upgrade from a 60 series diesel (am actualy trying to sell for parts with only 169thousand on the clock! 2k PM me ;)) would still be driving her but rust has started taking it over:(. anyways back on topic.. I get 13l per 100k out of mine (probablly 70% city and 30% highway) and thats with 175x12.5x16 tyers and a 2" lift.

I wanted a standard as i didn't want to have to start replacing all the electrical stuff (had an ea fairmont giha was 10 years old and 3 electric windows died in 2 months:( as well as a heap of other stuff). My 80 has done 270 thousand but it dosn't show it, first standard service cost $300 also. Just make sure you get it checked out b4 buying or know exactlly what to look for yourself..

It hasn't seen a beach since i have had it but it will be seeing one soon hopefully if work permits!!
On the road it picks up quicker and smother than the old 60 (60 has extractors and exhust also) and can get going in second from a stop start unless i am on a big hill. have towed my 3.75m boat heaps onroad and can't tell any difference with or without it on the back!! My dad has a 100series TD auto and loves it! it gets even better fuel consumption (bout 10-11l per 100k) mainly city driving and towing a 14 footer. I think if you get a turbo 80 and drive it resionably it would get similar consumption.

IMO towing a boat on the beach weither you do it once a year or 12 times a year you need a truck that can do it easily, you dont' want to have to can a trip planed for months just because of bad beach driving conditions stoping you getting to your spot!! what i plan to do is have 2 sets of tyres, one set at standard size with non agressive tread for every day driving and towing, and another set of bigger AT tyres for beach and offroad stuff. you don't want swampers or very agressive tread for beach work! Its all about having as much tyre on the sand keeping the truck up on top of the stuff!!!

Petrol will cost you an awful lot more then diesel on or off road (unless its on gas or very well tuned and driven extremly soft), think about this, with duel tanks in a diesel you shouldnt have to refuel on frasier (woddy and back) but if it was petrol i reckon you might with the difference in fuel consumption expecially driving on sand. (this is based on not towing too guys). I Had someone tell me awhile ago about his petrol 80 series when i was looking at getting the new one. When he goes on the beach he gets only about 300k outa the main tank!! This could be wrong and the truck in question could have had issues but as a lot of people on here have already said they are thirsty!!!

If you really want to get into all the little bits and pieces get onto outerlimits and check out some of the threads there.. I am a member though i have been spending most of my time on here of late, some of the guys there really know there cruisers and can give you a LOT of info in regards to Curisers and most other 4x4s. anyways enough ranting your probablly all sick of reading my post!!! Lol :P

Brandon...

muzz30
03-03-2006, 06:42 AM
G-day Grunta-75

The Prado and Cruiser are great for what you want to do but if you are asking which ones a bit better then i would go for the 80/100 Series a little more they
have that extra power under them but the prados no slouch mind you. Only the early 100 Series came out with Rigid Front Ends and there more of a personal choice but the IFS will do.

03-03-2006, 08:12 AM
i bought the 4lt 5 speed auto prado, and love it, i went in to buy a new 79 rv and come out with the soccer mum car, i tow a 5.25 meter tinny now worries, even through beach cuttings unassisted, only advise with your budget in mind, go diesel probably leaning towards the 80 td

rough_shag
03-03-2006, 01:36 PM
Hi Lippa, just wondering about your new Prado auto.The old 3.4 auto was a real gutless slug so can you tell me if the new 4.0ltr is as powerful as I've heard?.I am sick to death of changing gears behind old grannies in little compact sh!t cans with singer sewing machine engines doing 20k's up a steep hill!! and would like to know if you reckon the new models are up to the job more so than the old one's.Cheers!.Jace.

seabug
07-03-2006, 07:32 PM
Hi Grunta_75
I had a standard 80 series diesel
I bought it thinking that I could put a turbo on it.
I was told by the inspection engineers that it was not possible to do it legaly as it does not pass some Australian Standard.

It was 96KW and was a great vehicle for outback touring .But a real dog for towing.Heaps of traffic banked up behind me on every hill.

I believe the Factory fitted turbo 80 Series would suit your needs , but they are a bit scarce.

As a comparison The standard 80 diesel is 96KW.
The Holden Barina is 92 KW.

If the vehicle is not your main transport the V8 may be worth a look.

Seabug

Any_Weather
08-03-2006, 11:21 AM
Rough_Shag, mate I have the current model 4.0l petrol Prado with the 5 speed auto and yes they are very powerful. I tow a 6.5m plate alloy boat and it does this extremely easily (110km/h no worries). I have found the fuel to be quite good until you put something behind when the figures go through the roof to around 24l/100km. We tow the boat on the beach where it struggles when the going gets hard but most vehicles will with 2000kgs on anchor. I dont think you would be dissapointed.

Lee

08-03-2006, 04:35 PM
rough shag, any weather summed it up perfectly. p.s
nothing like blowing them coke can 4 cyls off at the lights!!!!!!!!!!! he he he

Alymar
13-03-2006, 10:45 AM
Guys I've talked to who have upgraded from 80 to 100 series wish the didn't. They seem to think the 80 series have more power. Just make sure if you get a 80 series turbo diesel that it's factory fitted turbo, non turbo engines in the 80 series didn't like being upgraded.
Alymar.

seabug
13-03-2006, 04:30 PM
"Guys I've talked to who have upgraded from 80 to 100 series wish the didn't. They seem to think the 80 series have more power"

YOU HAVE GOT TO BE JOKING! :o :o :o :o
100 series turbo puts out 151KW ;D ;D ;D ;D
Seabug

BrandonH
13-03-2006, 04:40 PM
It was only the early 80 series Cruisers that had the problem with upgrading to a turbo, late 95 + models arn't a problem (check out outer limits website there are heaps of threads on this exact topic!!). something to do with an Inner bearing I think.
I know a few people that have upgraded there standard 80 series with a turbo and get more power than the factory fitted turbos. Also gota get the intercooler installed with it otherwise that causes other problems!! well worth the extra $1100 for piece of mind and cooler running.

Brandon.