View Full Version : Rodeo, Triton, or Navara?

chillers
03-03-2006, 07:34 PM
Gday ausfishers

Advice Please :-[, I am currently looking for a dual cab 4x4 but am unsure as to which one performs better. To give you an idea i will be chasing a four cylinder turbo diesel about a 97 model. The questions are which one,
1: Handles better on and off road?
2: Has better reliability mechanically?
3: Towing capabilities?

etc, any further knowledge would be great. ;)

cheers chillers

Sniper
03-03-2006, 08:29 PM
Hi Chillers. Not sure about the Rodeos or Navara's but I have a 2004 Triton, 2.8 intercooled Turbo diesel. She's a little rippa. Pulls me 435 hornet trophy round at 120k's + no problems, that with the ac on and all the camping crap that one never even uses in the back. I know its a laterr model than what your looking for. I've heard the earlier Tritons had problems with the gear boxes. So far so good with mine. Also the earlier ones weren't intercooled so are a little sluggish and around 97 i think they were 2.5l diesels. Hope this helps a little.
Bill

familyman
03-03-2006, 08:41 PM
Chillers I've got a 3.5rodeo 2wd which tows great but is starting to pop out of 1st gear (manual) sometimes.Lots of rodeos around,no idea of their 4wd ability though.I get 500ks to 70litres most of the time with 3-400kg of gear and two ladders on the roof,mines done 105000km though.They take awile to loosen up.
cheers jon

onerabbit
03-03-2006, 08:51 PM
Hi Chillers,

I have a 91 triton twincab, 2.5ltr turbo diesel, what a great thing, bought 2yrs ago, pulls my seafarer around, (about 1 tonne) NO WORRIES, good in ramps , even at low tide, can even change up gears half way up a hill.
Only other diesel I 've had was an older Landcruiser, what a slug.
Off road , is a puddle jumper, thats about it, but does what i need these days.

03-03-2006, 09:53 PM
just to throw in a comment,,, i had a 2.6ltr mazda bravo c/chass,, petrol with gas conversion for about 2yrs,,, never missed a beat on h/way or mud and gave good economy as i do an average of 150k's each day,,,,6 days a week,,,,its one of the draw backs when you live on bribie isl and work the sunshine coast,,, but i was forced to update when the new boat came along,,, i stayed with the bravo,, went to the turbo diesel,,2002 model and even though i was hesitant at the start,,,, i'll never go back,,, there a bit scarce in the used car department to find,, especially ones that you know haven't been around the moon 10 times (like mine),,,the only hiccup its it towing capacity,,,,,,okay if you have the average size load,, but my new boat weighs in at just a squiz under 2 tonne so theres no travelling to far from the home base to launch it,,, and preferably early morning,,,,i've got the boat on the market actually,, maybe you will get a better idea of what i mean,,,,,,,,,oh to answer your questions,,,,1.no dramas on either,,2.i've spent $400 on a snorkel and just normal service costs,,3.pictures paint a thousand words,,,,,

03-03-2006, 10:03 PM
I've got the 99 Jackaroo with 3.0l turbo diesel (same as rodeo). Pulls the 575 outsider well.
I still drag people succesfully.
Am having a small problem with heat at the moment and think a new radiator will fix it..

chillers
04-03-2006, 02:51 AM
Gday fellas, thanks heaps for the info you guys provided that helps alot :). Sounds like the rodeo and triton are both good trucks, in the end i say it will wome down to availability and k's i've just got to find one that hasn't been around the clock.

cheers chillers

Feral
04-03-2006, 05:35 AM
Remember if your buying a second hand one near the coast, crawl underneath and stick a finger or two in the chasis rails, if you find sand - go elsewhere. There are plenty around that are only ever used for school duties these days, so you can afford to be choosy.

Also if you looking at a diesel, remember around south east Qld Diesel generally costs between 10 an 12c a litre more than petrol, so you really have to be sure your going to do the K's to make a diesel worthwhile, (with a diesel you get better economy, but fuels costs will probably be similar to a petrol, you are really looking for a lot of K's before rebuild or replacement to make a diesel worth while, particulary as a diesel is usually around $1000 to $1500 dearer than a similar petrol unit)

04-03-2006, 06:05 AM
Feral,
My 3.0l Turbo diesel gets 50% better economy than the 3.0l petrol I had.

Jackaroo Turbo Diesel
Towing--6.0km/litre
Cruising--9.0km/litre

Pajero 3.0 L petrol
Towing--4.0km/litre
Cruising--6.0km/litre

I would not ever go back to petrol for the tow vehicle as the economy makes it a better vehicle by far.

perko
04-03-2006, 01:34 PM
Rodeo gets the nod over the others for highway work and towing. Try and get a 99-02 tf99 model over the earlier model. It has a different turbo and doesn't have the lag that the other one does. I've got a mechanical repair business that was a holden dealership when they were sold new so we have worked on thousands. Getting a few with transfer case problems, most need better torsion bars, springs and shocks, but other than that they are pretty bullett proof especially the motors.
I have towed my 5.5 sailfish with mine with no problems at all and it weighed around 1.8t. Get 30mpg not towing and low 20's towing.

chillers
04-03-2006, 07:46 PM
Feral i will definately check to see if it has done beach work or not.

Angla those fuel consumption figures you gave are a good sign to go with diesel, plus the towing is a big bonus.

Perko if the rodeo is better for highway and towing then that suits me cause other than that it will only be very light four wheel driving. The transfer case and torsion bars etc, was there a certain model that had these problems or is most models.
You don't hear much about the Navara.

ps thanks again for the info it all helps ;)

cheers chillers

chillers
06-03-2006, 09:03 AM
Gday Daleprice,

Mate i've been in a nissan patrol with the 3lt turbo diesel which is the same as the navara but the navara has no intercooler and they have plenty of guts i just wish i could spend the money it costs to get one that new. Thanks any way any.

cheers Chillers ;)

DALEPRICE
07-03-2006, 05:28 PM
someone has to stick up for the navara's ;D
dont discount them, not a bad truck at all.
mate has a rodeo and with the boat on is
very sluggish, not a patch on the power
of the nissan. talking 3l td.

Just_One_More_Cast
09-03-2006, 07:41 PM
Seems to be a large mix of years and models here.

I have had a dual cab 1999 2.8L TD Rodeo for the last two years and have always been very happy with it. It currently has 222,000 km on it and was recently dyno tuned by the local deisel specialist - They wanted to know why I bothered bringing it in as there wasn't much they could do to improve it. Vehicle had 160,000k on it when I bought it and it has only had very basic services in that time. Only problem was a stuffed CV joint which was due to a split boot which I knew about and ignored :-/

I have used it regularly as a trade work vehicle/ tow vehicle and occassionally as a 4WD. I have previously owned Hiluxes and rate the Rodeo an excellent compromise. I'm afraid they aren't as robust or as 4WD tuf as the Hiluxes, but they are a bloody lot faster, more comfortable and fuel efficient on the road.

Having said all that, I have recently upgraded to a 2004 Navara 3.0L TD and couldn't be happier. This thing leaves the Rodeo for dead, BUT!!! paid $33 for it and Rodeo is up for sale at $16.5. Still confident that the Rodeo was the best dual cab on the market in 1999 if you're after a dual purpose road vehicle/off road weekender.

Be wary of paying attention to those who give advice based on post 2001 and pre 1995 vehicles. The 4WD market is moving rapidly and each model needs to be judged on it's merits. I know two people with 2005 Rodeos and they are very ordinary in my opinion. I'd rather have my '99 model.

As a last warning, if you are planning to do any amount of towing or 4WDing. DON'T BUY A PETROL. They are cheaper to buy, but you will pay later - trust me I have owned both. A TD will typically use about the same amount of fuel at 100kph whether towing or not. I had a petrol Hilux that used to use about 30% extra. The bloke I bought the Navara off back traded to a mate's 1999 Rodeo Petrol 2WD and his monthly fuel bill went up 40% >:( :'( >:(

P.S. The Rodeo's still for sale if anyone's interested

Alymar
11-03-2006, 09:28 AM
Have a look at a Hilux, you can do more with them as far as suspension is concerned, and they have a better turning circle than a Triton as the front torsion bars are on the top control arms on the Hilux. I had an old Triton 2.6 petrol, great to bash around in, but heavy on the juice and poor turning circle.

gawby
12-03-2006, 09:12 AM
I have driven and owned anumber of 4x4s. The last 2 being rodeos and i am more than empressed with them.
I had a 96 2.8 ltr turbo diesel and it served me well with just the basic services and tyres. The motor was sus when i bought it but went outback qld, s.aust and dont know how many times to fraser and it just kept going and going.
Sold it to a mate of mine who is a mechanic and he rebuilt it and spent a few other dollars on brakes and tyres atc and his daughter drives it now and wont part with it. They go to the boondoomba dam? sking and tow a trailer fully loaded up the d'agular range in 4th gear.
Now got a 03 rodeo auto 3lt i/cooled diesel and love it. Tows my boat with ease and does the sand with no problems.
The old rodee returned about 10 to the ltr and about 6 to 7 towing. The new one gets about 11 to 12 ks to ltr and 7 to 8 towing. But i dont tow at 80ks an hour though. On the open road if the limit is 110 i do that and thats that.
Some of the others talked about have soft suspension and are more trouble than enough so be careful.
Just my two bobs worth. ;)
Graeme

chillers
14-03-2006, 06:32 PM
G'day mate sounds like the rodeo is definatelly the one to go with and the hilux seem to costly and have heaps of km's.
cheers fellas ;)

chillers

davo
14-03-2006, 08:16 PM
I loved my old Rodeo but when a 6 month old 2.8 intercooler turbo ute with 6500Km turned up for 25K I grabbed it.

The design is the oldest out of them and it has a wider turning circle but it's all good. Yes the earler models has g/box troubles but that was pre 96.

The turbo 2.8's have been around since the MK was released in 96 but were not available in Australia until 2003????

I tow a Fisher 4.8M side console @ 1100Kg and I'm loaded. It has heaps of grunt. The turbo starts at 1400rpm and while I didn't buy it to blaze new trails I lauch the Fisher where I want to. Economy is 9.5l/ 100Km empty and for heavy towing about 12-13l/100Km depending on Air-con and how you drive it.

The best is no electronic diesel or free wheeling hubs and the diesel has been in Pajero's for about eight years so it's proven. I was never a Mitsy fan but that's changing. My brother-law has the turbo Bravo. First one got stolen and he didn't hesitate in buying another.

Don't get stuck on brands as we have a 01'Corolla and it is awful and so have Toyota in their service.