View Full Version : evans head beach acces
manchild
26-03-2006, 07:26 PM
g'day everyone just wondering if anyone goes to evans head beach and can help me with some info on them like permits and such any info would be much help thank you
bored with seven mile beach:)
JEWIENEWIE
29-03-2006, 11:17 AM
Manchild, I regularly go up seven mile and yes new grounds are always exciting. From time to time i take the ferry over to south ballina beach, and drive as if you are going to south wall. There is a access track to the right which will take you onto the beach, just past the last caravan park, can be very soft and take it easy as there may be vehicles coming off the beach, there is one blind corner in particular which is very soft so some guys come around that corner at crazy speeds!
Choose a very low tide as as you travell south towards Evans there is a swtretch of coffee rocks, need to go underneath as nearly impossible to go high. There are beach worms, pipis galore and usually swome very deep gutters along Airforce Beach, which produce jewies, especially now after all the rain.
Not to sure about the permit side of things as i have never sighted a ranger but in saying that,
Jewienewie
Gorilla_in_Manila
29-03-2006, 02:15 PM
Guys,
The Patches Beach entrance / exit is much better than the one up near the south wall.
Features on the beach will probably have been flattened after the heavy swell, but sounds like that has settled down a bit, so formations are probably starting to come back. There seems to always be a good hole straight down from or just near the patches beach entrance. Its tempting to drive past thinking there will be better spots up the beach, but have often ended up coming back there.
If you stay after dark, take a good hard look at the scenery around the entrance before taking off down the beach, or make some sort of marker coz the exit can be a bit hard to find after dark.
Attached is pic of chopper caught in middle of the day June 2004. We were just cruising down the beach and noticed some fish chopping in close. A quick cast with metals and Dad and I had 8 choppers in the bag in about 10mins. Bait ball melted away and so did the choppers. An unexpected bonus to the whiting we were targeting.
Jeff
manchild
29-03-2006, 02:19 PM
thanks mate for the info very helpful i think we are one of the last ones that share which reminds me pm me for the best spot for whiting in plague proportion around ballina :) my spot x cheers gotta be down seven mile on sat mornin if ya see a big dirty black 4wd come say hi cheers again
may your gulps be nervous
Gorilla_in_Manila
29-03-2006, 02:44 PM
Manchild,
I'm living in the Philippines at the moment; my eyesight is going, so probably won't see you on seven mile on sat unless you post some pics. ;) ;D
Hope to move back to aus for good later in the year, so might catch ya then.
Jeff
manchild
29-03-2006, 02:52 PM
thats was for jewie too :) gorilla i hope to take some nice fishy pics on saturday hope that doesnt make ya homesick :) cheers
JEWIENEWIE
31-03-2006, 01:08 PM
Manchild, the swell has completly flttened out down here mate, i reckon you might do alright over the weekend, light rain, dark skies, plenty of bait around, sounds like there might be a few schoolies in the deeper gutters.
Might call in sick tomorrow and have a crack myself!
Jewie
manchild
31-03-2006, 06:02 PM
i been today friday mate:) rainy day = tradie fishing day cheers