View Full Version : Need new tyres
03-03-2006, 04:58 PM
Need some new rubber for the Jackaroo.
Currently have Coopers HT's on & they have served me well.
But, just wondering if there is anything better out there atm?
Vehicle goes onto the beach a few times a year, so 95% of the time its on road.
Hi Heath,
IMHO bridgestone tyres by a country mile, I did go to olympic once because of price.... NBG.
I have heard Coopers are good brand of tyre, I just get so many kilometres from the bridgestones, think I would be doing about the same on road/ off road as you.
Regards Roz.
gawby
04-03-2006, 05:20 PM
Heath,
Gotta agree with Roz, got bridges on my rodeo and they are perfect on and off road tyres and last for yonks.
Graeme
04-03-2006, 10:00 PM
Heath, give Brad a bell on 07 32902511, and he'll give you good advice on any and all brands, that will suit your vehicle and driving habits.
cheers Phill
Just_One_More_Cast
09-03-2006, 07:54 PM
Heath, I've got to put in another vote for the Bridgies. I have run their AT's for several years now on several vehicles. Good value for money, good on the road and won't let you down off road as long as you don't get too serious. P.S. I probably do 70% bitumen, 20% dirt road and 10% off road.
Alymar
11-03-2006, 09:39 AM
Check out Kuhmo A/T's, had a set on my Triton for years, still got the wheels and tyres.
luckyone
11-03-2006, 03:23 PM
put maxims on the 100series from bob jane and they were the cheapes
and they are going realy well done over 50000 klicks and not a problem.and they were areal good price
I reckon coopers are a very good tyre if I could aford them. I use bridgstones, thay suit my buget
cooky
13-03-2006, 09:32 PM
P.S. I probably do 70% bitumen, 20% dirt road and 10% off road
this is all fair enough if correct, but I think the way they rate tyre use is ridiculous. I have just changed from Cooper ATs on my Hilux to Cooper STTs and love the STTs. Sure a bit more noise, but soak the bumps up better and look the goods. If I purchased and was honest (and if most people were) then I'd say I spend 99% on the bitumen. But who cares - for the one to five percent of off road time I want the grip and ride quality.
I can't get the 60 / 40 split, 80/20, etc. That means if you do 500kms per week, you spend 100kms on dirt or offroad. Unless you're living in the bush that's pretty unrealistic. I go camping, go offroading for fun (hooning ;D), etc - but when I compare to onroad (bitumen) time there is no comparison.
I really like the STTs, but I really think that you have to consider that when you DO go offroad - how hardcore is it? or what ride quality do you want.
CHRIS_aka_GWH
14-03-2006, 07:02 AM
Heath, give Brad a bell on 07 32902511, and he'll give you good advice on any and all brands, that will suit your vehicle and driving habits.
cheers Phill
Heath,
gotta agree with Phil - give Brad a call, I'm a happy customer.
those boys also seem to be the only ones who can do a decent alignment on my landy too.
Ps How many kms did you get from the Coopers ?
Gorilla_in_Manila
14-03-2006, 09:50 AM
Chris,
I got over 80,000 on the original Cooper ST's I put on my 100 series in sept 2001.
They were only $160 each back then. [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
Jeff
CHRIS_aka_GWH
15-03-2006, 07:25 AM
ta jeff,
i've got a set of H/T Coopers on the Landy - they improved the driving quality immensely & interestingly haven't been puntured in 2years of use - they still look as new, even though they get driven every day. They go well on the sand without deflation. I'd buy them again without a second thought.
2rods
15-03-2006, 09:06 AM
You might also like to have a look at the BF goodreach A/T's.
I am on my second set and got over 100,000kms out of the last set.
Coopers seem ok but they don't cover them for warranty in the NT.
cooky
15-03-2006, 11:44 AM
I am on my second set and got over 100,000kms out of the last set.
just like I find the 80/20% useage a load of BS - be wary of considering a tyre for kms life if you plan to actually use your 4x4. If you're just using it on bitumen, then tyre life can be important (to save $$), but if you are - then don't buy a 4x4 unless you need it to tow or like the height or something - you'll pay way more in maintenance fuel than your tyres will save you. My last truck was a Rodeo dual cab and it was the 4x2 based - the same tough truck as the 4x4 but without the transfer case. Saved a lot on purchase price and was a good car - great for dirt roads and anything up until you needed to engage all four wheels (sand/mud/rough). I used light truck tyres and not only are they cheap (about $90 from memory) but they last around 100k.
A 4x4 tyre is really only good for 4x4ing until about half the tread is gone. After that point most are like HT tyres anyway. So don't buy any more aggressive tread than a HT if you plan to get serious Kms out of them and use them for decent 4x4ing. I just upgraded from Cooper ATs to STTs and got 45,000kms out of ATs - they have a warranty for 80,000, and they most probably could have scraped through for another 35k (maybe), but I am very happy with 45,000 good kms. The tyres I had before were the standard Bridgestone HT tyres and they were almost bald at 27,000kms life. I plan to replace the STTs at around 30-40,000kms life because if you want grippy tyres, then you've got to keep them fresh. :)
Before I went down the 4x4 route I was used to having normal sedans with Pirelli, etc tyres as expensive as 4x4 tyres and would struggle to get 25,000kms from a set. I love anything over that.
Nothing worse than a nice 4x4 with low tread in my opinion. 2 landcruisers parked in front of work yesterday. 1 black 100 series Sahara (est. $90,000 car) the other next to it a black Lexus (landcruiser) (est. $130k)... Sahara had almost bald HT tyres and the Lexus had low tread left on AT tyres. They were both shiny and clean.... people forget about tyres, but they're just a disposable item on a car and are really quite in-expensive or should be to people who spend $40,000+ on a vehicle.
lloyd67
18-03-2006, 08:49 PM
cooper ST($250), very good tyres Have got 35000 & still have 70% tread left. my mate has over 90000 on his & still has about 20% tread left. I have just upgraded to cooper STT tyres($280) for off road work & are fantastic, but a little more noisey, they look awesome too. I Think cooper ST is probably the best all terrain available & is still very good on road & long lasting
Lloyd
perko
18-03-2006, 10:04 PM
If you have 245/70X16 on your Jackaroo I would be putting Bridgestone D694's on it. I am in the trade and have sold hundreds of D693 and D694's and have not had an unhappy customer. Going to get about 80 000 klm out of a set of D693's on my rodeo in that size. The D694 is the replacement pattern for the D693's and has been upgraded slightly. Tony.
Kevin_B
21-03-2006, 07:50 PM
Move away from HT tyres to ST's, AT's or STT's, and you will most likely use more fuel. Good point to remember. Ive just about worn my ST's down to the indicator, and ill never touch cooper tyres again. Look over at www.overlander.com.au and 4wdmonthly.com.au on the forums. Do a search on tyres, you will find lots to read. My coopers went for approx. 60,000kms. Wore down very quickly till they reached 1/4 tread, then the barstard blocks stopped wearing away. Had two flats, both in the tread, one was driving on the tar other on a fire trail. Sidewalls are like paper, and heard of one letting go at the walls driving up a gutter. STTs are obviously much better that the ST's in construction, but the MT/Rs are much better again than the STT's in all areas. Numerous tread blocks have been ripped off too. The ST-C's solve that, if you want to spend a bit more, but wasn't available when i bought mine.
Pirelli make some fine HT tyres, as do Toyo. If you want to the best aggresive all terrain, then the Wrangler MTR is it, bar none.
Eagle
23-03-2006, 12:11 PM
G'day all,
I'm a newbie in the 4x4's and I also need new tyres. I have a Kia Sportage with original tyres. These tyres are 205-70-15 and have done very well. When I started to look around for new ones I was told that 215-75-15 would be far better and are also cheaper. What do you blokes with the know-how think of this changeover? The tyres I was offered were Eldorado ZTR Sport SUV OWL all terain for $155.00. Can you give me any info about this tyre please? Will the bigger (only slightly) tyre affect the speedo reading much? And will the slightly wider profile cause any problems with steering and full lock turns? ie. will the tyres rub on the chassis/frame/ guards etc?
Eagle
Taken my coopers all over the place from the cape to coffs, 75000 kms and still going 8-)
boats
02-04-2006, 03:31 PM
Have Cooper STT Discoverer's fitted 03/2000 to 92 landy trayback with canopy, only have 66,725 Km on them still have about 10 to 12mm left in tread.
Bought 6off plus good old Sunrasia steel rims to begin with [got rid of o/size USA imported Firestone's on fancy mag's] , rotated as recommended.
Lost one due to staking. Others going ok.
Noisy as all get out. [sounds like a WWII Jeep] on the bitumen.
Can't complain about their performance Off-Road, and with plenty of beach/ sand work on Moreton Island. Would purchase again. But what is comparison to Bridgestones for 32 x 11.50 [115]s
Who is Brad on Ph 3290 2511 anyhow??? and where is he located. Probably miles from Redcliffe.
pirate_pete
03-04-2006, 05:59 PM
I have just replaced my Goodyear Wrangler A/tr s on my Pathfinder 75,000 very happy with them. I do not 4wd any more just tow the boat so went for Wrangler H/ts still too early to tell longevity but had them up the freeway and in the wet handle great and very quiet.
06-04-2006, 02:19 PM
Thanks for the imput guys.
Having Cooper ATR's fitted as I type ;)
cooky
07-04-2006, 12:50 PM
be interested to know how they go Heath - let us know
jefro
11-04-2006, 09:28 PM
Have a look at mickey thompson baja drive well on my 100 series time will tell on how they wear. When i bought them i was told they were on a par with coopers but a bit cheaper. Both good yanky tyres.
Have a look at the mickey thompson dick cepek i have them
on my new hilux great sand /road tire about $265 a tire
cooky
13-04-2006, 08:27 AM
mickey thompson dick cepek i have them
any chance you can post a photo? would like to have a look at - particularly how they look on the Lux.
mickey thompson dick cepek i have them
any chance you can post a photo? would like to have a look at - particularly how they look on the Lux.
Don't like your chances ;)
Unless it's a mickey front and a dicky rear
tonyp
14-04-2006, 05:27 PM
I have Cooper ATR's on my new Hilux and love them.
Great Tyre.