View Full Version : Fuel Consumption on Cruiser or Patrol

boatboy50
27-03-2006, 09:48 PM
Hey Guys,

I am looking for a big 4x4 to help with my towing duties.

Can any owners tell me how many k's they get out of their tanks of juice?

I am just starting to look for these trucks.

1997-2004 80 or 100 series Landcruiser, both in petrol and Diesel.

1997-2004 Patrol Petrol or Diesel.

The vehicle I buy will be a wagon.

Without starting a huge debate, is buying a Diesel in the above vehicles worthwhile over the petrol counterpart?

I need the maximum engine size in these vehicles, as a 3.0 Diesel won't cut it.

I note that all secondhand vehicles I have seen so far already have high k's, both in petrol and diesel, even in an 04 model.

I take it their reliability is good?

snave
28-03-2006, 08:46 AM
I'm looking at cruisers & patrols too so i'd be intrested to know what the fuel enconmy is like too

BrandonH
28-03-2006, 11:16 AM
I know your asking about 97 onwards but thought i would comment as i own a 96 diesel Cruiser.

I picked the diesel over petrol as these big trucks chew a LOT of fuel when running on petrol. I can't comment on LPG conversion but would guess that they would get better consumption. Anyways My Cruiser is a DX wagon and dosn't have a turbo. I got it with 270thou on the clock and have been getting 850km-900km out of both tanks (total 120 ltrs) witch works out to be about 13.5 ltrs per 100 kms. Anyways this is mainly city driving :( with a couple of highway trips with and without the little boat (3.75 tinny with a 15hp 4 stroke not sure on weight) and it dosn't seam to make a difference to fuel consumption!! My dad has the 2000 turbo diesel 100 series cruiser and gets around 11 ltrs per 100km towing his 4.35 trophy with a 50hp 4 stroke on the highway, got no idea what he gets around town. if i had the money thats what i would have got :(.. can't comment on the Patrols, i was looking at a couple b4 i got my cruiser. I think they are a good truck but have heard a few people tell me that the 4.2 turbo on them chews more than the cruisers.

Good Luck!!
Brandon.

28-03-2006, 01:13 PM
Darren, if towing is your main reason (and I guess it is with that new striper coming) then all I can say is Diesel Turbo, the extra power down low where you need it and they will hang on in the hilly stuff and wont send you broke trying to feed them. While the petrol models have a higher kilowatt rating its the torque you need to get a big rig moving. Typically diesels do their best work from about 1500 to 2500rpm whereas peak torque in a petrol is (usually) up around 3500rpm. What this means is you will nedd more rpm on board to get the torque in the petrol engine which in turn will burn more fuel.
Also turbo diesels will tow a lot better due to higher torque figures. Best bet if you can do it is take a turbo and then a non turbo for a run WITH THE BOAT ON, do a few hills and soon you will see what I mean about the turbo. For the record I drive a 3.2 turbo diesel Pajero and tow about 1200kg of boat, this thing will sit on the posted limit up hill or down dale all day and still return 10l/100km. 8-)
Obviously you will pay a premium for a T/D but IMO they are well worth it and you will reap the benifits in driveability and also they will fetch a higher resale.

Hope this helps and sorry to dribble on so much

Cheers and Beers

28-03-2006, 01:16 PM
Oh yeah, for your size rig I would recommend the 4.2 T/D 100 series Land Cruiser and you cant beat an auto with a T/D as they eliminate turbo lag.
The later 100's had a 5 speed auto and these are preferable to the 4 speed auto's which were problematic units.

Cheers and Beers

28-03-2006, 01:56 PM
Can add a little about the Patrols, the GU 4.8 petrol is an awesome engine with enough grunt everywhere even when loaded above legal and towing 2+tonne BUT the fuel economy is shocking I can remember the in dash readout droping to 4 and even 3km/L for long periods of time especially with a headwind. Other teams have noted even worse into the 2s :o but I have not seen it.

The 4.2 diesel turbo doesn't have the grunt of the 4.8 petrol but it puts out enought power and torque to make the tow easy enough but nothing spectacular.
To get worse than 18/20L per 100km in one of these heavy and towing something needs to wrong usually the driver (sand towing not considered).

JewseeTHAT
28-03-2006, 02:04 PM
HZJ 75 '95 model troopy 8.1 litres-100k's. pull anything anywhere...

Needmorerum
28-03-2006, 09:32 PM
I got a '93 80 series that hits the scales at 2.8t by itself. My CC weighs in just under 2t unloaded.
We comfortably pull it along the highway at 110kph without any drama's. Thankfully, cause most of the time when it is on the highway, the missus is driving and towing the big boat, as I take the tinnie behind our Shorty.
We average around 16l per 100 when towing.
I must say that if I could do it again, I would definately opt for a factory turbo model, as we do wash off alot of speed when on long hills.
I got a mate with a petrol auto 80 series, with the same mods as mine, and his economy is worse than mine when he is MT.

Just my two bob, interesting to see what your homework brings out.

Corry

David_P
28-03-2006, 10:15 PM
Hi Darren,

I've got a 2005 4.2 TD Patrol wagon. It tows a 6m extended Fisher. The Fisher weighed straight from the factory 2380kg (I put it over a weigh bridge the day I picked it up). Add 300l of fuel, ice, bait, gear and beers and I've got to be pushing 2800kg at least.

First car I towed this with was a 1989 petrol Maverick. Got 26 - 28 litres/100km on the highway. When I got the new Patrol I was disappointed with the highway performance when towing. Eg, flat to the boards in 4th to maintain 100kph.

Next step was the Motson stage 2 power up kit. Now it easily holds 100kph in 5th, and I suspect it would really cruise nicley at 110 - 120kph (I would never do this as it would be speeding). I recall working out the fuel consumption prior to upgrading the turbo, and found on the highway holding 100kph, returned 25 - 26 litres/100km.

I filled up today. 807km from 109l, around town, = 13.58 litres/100km. If I drive it hard around town, then it jumps to 15.5 litres/100km. No towing in either of those figures.

Virtually all my towing is on the highway. My last trip from southern side of Bris to Hervey Bay I ran at 90kph for the trip north, filled up when I got there and found I got 20 litres/100km. For the run home I got up it a bit, ie 100 - 110 in the respective speed zones and returned figures of 25 litres/100km.

Obviously a lot has to do with the weight of your foot and the size of the load you're dragging. No doubt at times I sink the boot into it, but when on a long run I like to get there as quick as possible. However, sitting on 90kph is the most sensible from a fuel consumption perspective.

QldKev
29-03-2006, 07:06 AM
My 100 series, aftermarket turbo/ intercooler diesel gives 14L/100km 75% town, 25% off road. I done a trip with Brisbane and back towing approx 350kg, sitting 100 -110 and it returned 13L/100km. Go the T/D for towing heavy weights.

fish-n-dive
29-03-2006, 07:19 AM

Theirs a big thread on litres per 100kms here

http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfish/yabb2/YaBB.cgi?num=1083759500/0

Check it out.

Cheers 8-)

29-03-2006, 10:27 AM
G'day Darren,

I borrowed a mate GU 4.8 litre petrol 5 sp manual patrol at Chrismas to tow the Riptide from Logan to Minnie water approx 360klm...used 130 litres of fuel...

I towed it back with our GQ 4.2 turbo diesel with auto...used 70 litres for the return trip...couldn't believe the difference

Go turbo diesel...particularly when towing

Swerve
29-03-2006, 12:32 PM
Hi,

Over Christmas 2005 we purchased a 2003 Nissan Patrol ST 3L TD Auto in Brisbane and drove back to Sydney the next day with a 1 tonne boat and 3 people and luggage.

Being the first drive I was a little pedal happy and used the Turbo every chance I had (This did drink more fuel) and I drove at 110/120km most the way home. Consumption was 17.86 L/100. Around town I am now getting around 14.2 L/100 and my next highway trip I will cruise at around 100 km/hr and will get even better consumption.

With the Auto make sure you disengage Overdrive BEFORE the hill and you will cruise up. If you leave O/D on the auto will hunt when changing and loose too much speed (In a diesel this is death)

With the Patrols the Manual can tow 3.2 tonne and the auto 2.5 tonne. (Gearbox issues) Also 2001 and earlier models have a small sump and blow up engines, stay clear from these. Nissan was replacing engines outside warranty for a long time. Problems after 2001 have been fixed but the stigma does hang around.

PS- Below is a log I have created.

Date Kms Trip Litres L/100 Location Notes
29/12/2005 51193 N/A 124 Ballina Bris-Syd Towing
30/12/2005 51893 700 125 17.86 Toronto Bris-Syd Towing
12/01/2006 52607 714 121.92 17.08 Peakhurst Commuting
20/01/2006 53482 875 113.26 12.94 Punchbowl Commuting/ 200km towing
29/01/2006 54230 747 111.77 14.95 Gosford Commuting/ 300km towing
8/02/2006 55053 823 117.39 14.26 Sydenham Commuting/ 100km towing
? ? ? ? ? ? Hugh loan car
25/02/2006 56279 1226 80.01 6.53 Chatswood Commuting
8/03/2006 57011 732 116.38 15.90 Bexley Commuting/ 400km Towing
19/03/2006 57880 869 122.39 14.08 Riverwood Commuting

boatboy50
29-03-2006, 07:25 PM
Thank you very much for the help so far guys.

I today found a 1998 Patrol auto in petrol with 90k's on it. Seems a very good buy, but perhaps I should keep looking, considering the last post?

I'm told only the very late 80 series will have the towing abilities I need, so these are kind of out of the question now.

I have seen a TD5 Landy also (here goes the landie brigade!), which is legal to tow 3.5 tonne I believe, but is it really capable of that? It seems too small and light to pull that sort of weight safely.

David_P
29-03-2006, 07:55 PM
Darren,

Would be interested in the landie capabilities myself. I had a 300tdi, 1997 crew cab ute. Loaded with a boat on roof, genny, freezer and all the gear for a 3 week cape trip. It surprised the hell out of me. Sat on 120kph fully loaded, for 20mpg. Apart from the cost of spares, it has been about the best 4wd i've owned. I dare say the TD5 is a better unit again.

Swerve
29-03-2006, 08:02 PM
Thank you very much for the help so far guys.

I today found a 1998 Patrol auto in petrol with 90k's on it. Seems a very good buy, but perhaps I should keep looking, considering the last post?

I'm told only the very late 80 series will have the towing abilities I need, so these are kind of out of the question now.

I have seen a TD5 Landy also (here goes the landie brigade!), which is legal to tow 3.5 tonne I believe, but is it really capable of that? It seems too small and light to pull that sort of weight safely.

Petrol are fine ;D

It's only the 3L Turbo Diesel from 2001 and earlier

Boz
29-03-2006, 10:34 PM
Have you considered petrol/lpg?

The extra consumtion is balanced out by the cost of gas and when not towing will definitely be cheeper to run over all.

Just a thought!

Boz

jethro6641
01-04-2006, 03:56 PM
Just bought a new 100 V8 Cruiser at only $55,000 on road I could not go past it. Having had a 100 Series 4.2 Turbo Diesel before I was tempted to go back. But as the salesman pointed out unless you can a rebate on Diesel you need to do almost 300,000 klms to recoup the cost.

Food for thought.

Good Luck,

Jamie

creeks4me
21-04-2006, 06:43 PM
8.1 l per 100km from a diesel cruiser boy i need your help how do u achieve that?

fishsmith
21-04-2006, 08:30 PM
You may need to wack another battery in the calculator as my zook struggles to acheive 8l per 100km's .... :o

VIRGIN
23-04-2006, 08:40 PM
Buy nothing but a crusier - I've an 80 series 95 model 90l LPG tank and a 80l petrol tank. LPG rocks and I wouldn't be driving a crusier/patrol if it wasn't on LPG.

$42.00 dollars to put 80l LPG compared to $110.00 to put unleaded .

I've drivin' Morteon Island and Stradie with heavy weight as well as highway and you would have to be a scientist to find the power difference between LPG and petrol.

LPG Rocks especially the way the Fuel prices are heading!

Good Luck on your decision!

VIRGIN
23-04-2006, 08:40 PM
Buy nothing but a crusier - I've an 80 series 95 model 90l LPG tank and a 80l petrol tank. LPG rocks and I wouldn't be driving a crusier/patrol if it wasn't on LPG.

$42.00 dollars to put 80l LPG compared to $110.00 to put unleaded .

I've drivin' Morteon Island and Stradie with heavy weight as well as highway and you would have to be a scientist to find the power difference between LPG and petrol.

LPG Rocks especially the way the Fuel prices are heading!

Good Luck on your decision!

bigblue
24-04-2006, 11:15 PM
Oh yeah, for your size rig I would recommend the 4.2 T/D 100 series Land Cruiser and you cant beat an auto with a T/D as they eliminate turbo lag.
The later 100's had a 5 speed auto and these are preferable to the 4 speed auto's which were problematic units.

Cheers and Beers

Problematic> Sorry! ...ive had a 4 speed TD 100 cruiser now with 145K not a minutes trouble with the box, i do service it every 30k, consumtion is 12litres per 100 , my mate has the TD100 Sahara with 5 speed box and computer readout, he also gets around 12litres /100

Mortalkombat
25-04-2006, 09:23 PM
80 series 4.2 diesel extractors 14~ 16 litres per 100 kms cannot do any better around town, on the highway around 11

27-04-2006, 08:19 AM
Rover TD5 2.5 auto pulls 3.5t happily and with excellent fuel figures compared to the others. (Haines 680 applause full cab - predecessor to the grand cruiser from Bris to 1770 and back)
Build quality just isn't the same though with the little things letting down an otherwise great tow rig/tourer.

Whitey81
28-04-2006, 08:46 AM
Boatboy,
Yes diesels will be cheaper to run when towing a boat, sand work etc. But you will never have the power of a petrol. It all comes down to how often you tow the boat, how far you have to tow it, how long you plan on keeping the car for. for the record I drive a 4.2 Turbo Intercooled Patrol and got from Brisbane to Gladstone 550km towing a Haines Formula 23ft using 135 litres sitting on 100 ks. 2 of mates have petrol cruisers and patrols running on LPG and they get better economy and a heap more grunt. I love my diesels but its a hard decision to make. Dont forget the added cost of servicing a diesel and they always seem to cost more, new and second hand.

fishscale
13-05-2006, 11:14 PM
hi virgin how do you go buying lpg on moerton.petrol or diesel they both have a good and bad but you cannnt beat the sound of a turbo diesel with a 3 inch exhaust cheers ash......... >:( >:( :o 8-) :-?

boatboy50
14-05-2006, 07:23 PM
Hey Guys,

Thanks for your help.

I've bitten the bullet and bought a 98 100 Series Cruiser on Petrol. Choice mainly come down to price as i think I got it for a steal.

I couldn't justify spending at least a few k more to get a diesel, to spend a lot of time trying to recoup the money. I do only about 15k each year, so it would have taken a lot longer to make that money back.

Thanks for your advice guys, i'll consider putting it on gas.