View Full Version : Deep Water Bend Disaster

Slider
24-05-2006, 09:27 AM
Thought I'd tell a little story about an incident at Deepwater Bend.

It was 1985 and I'd just come back from the National Youth Soccer Championships in Sydney as victorious captain of the Queensland side. First time that Queensland had ever won. Lots of media attention with my photo on the back page of the Courier Mail arriving back at Brisbane Airport with the trophy in hand and a beaming smile.
Having been away from my school and fishing mates for 3 weeks and still very much in celebratory mode, we decided we'd grab some grog and my old mans G60 Patrol and head to Deep Water Bend, drive the track over a couple of dry creeks towards 'The Oaks' on the far bank from Dohles Rocks. We had the canadian canoe on the roof along with the pots and we were all fired up for a big night. And a big night we did have, I think, as I can't remember too much of it other than putting the pots in and rolling the canoe in the process. It was mid winter and the water was freezing but the fire on the bank along with the Bundy and Beam warmed us all up nicely.
So the next morning arrives nice and sunny but brisk, with the tide just lapping over the bank and drenching my mates swag who was still unconscious. Alls good otherwise in that we'd survived the night and nobody had put an axe through their foot like on the previous trip causing a late night run to Redcliffe Hospital for stitches. Until someone who's actually managed to make their mind function says ' hey that tides going to flood the creeks' which was going to make our escape route treacherous to say the least. Instant action - it was school hols but we all had parents that were expecting us home earlyish, not the least was my old man. 2 of the boys are allocated crab pot duties while me and a mate pick up all the empties and sleeping stuff and generally clean up the site. We had some ethics even then. The boys come back into the bank after a while grinning from ear to ear carrying on about huge crabs and how we're going to have a great cook up for breakfast when we get home. And there was a couple of monsters that I doubt if I've seen better in the 20 years since. So with the tide half forgotten we all get a photo taken of ourselves holding the 2 biggest crabs before eventually climbing into the Nissan for the run home.
Well we got through the first drain ok and when we came to the second one which was more of a creek, I got out and walked it as I knew you should to assess the best path etc. Doesn't look too hard, should be a piece of cake.
Now my old man was paranoid about salt on his vehicles and the measures he took for rust prevention especially with a house at Teewah, were in my opinion a little over the top. However I respected this, so when I go to cross the creek having assessed that it should be easy, I've got only about 1500 revs going through and no speed in order to avoid the splash factor. Big mistake. I started to feel the wheels spinning too late and gave it a bit which just spun them faster and we stopped slightly past half way across in only 2 inches of water and no depth of mud. That's cool, there are 5 of us in the truck so shouldn't be too hard to push us through. Well no it wasn't cool and after an hour we had made zero progress despite the fact that the tide had gone out leaving just firm swampy mud. Ok, a decision is made for me, as the driver who'd put us in this predicament, to walk down to the kiosk at the Bend where there was a phone and ring a tow truck and we'll split the bill.
After about half an hour of waiting, we hear the sound of a truck heading our way and we start to celebrate thinking we're going to be into those crabs before long. However 15 minutes later the truck still hasn't been sighted. Wondering what's going on, we all go for a walk to find the towy down in a patch of mud up to the top of the wheels on one side. The driver tells us that he's radioed for another truck and he's only a couple of minutes away. Well that's ok then. So right on time here comes the other towy who attaches his winch on to towy no. 1 and takes up the tension and BANG, the winch blows up. Ohh Jesus, what now? Towy no. 2 says no worries I'll radio another truck and I'll go back and repair the winch. Except in turning around he manages to fall into a deepish hole pretty close to T1 and deep enough so that he can't open the drivers door. Great, this is starting to get a bit too untidy for my liking and I'm starting to stress. So are my mates as we are already past our due time home. After sitting around for another hour, towy no. 3 turns up in a fairly new truck and comes hurtling into the area like towies do, taking the wrong path and drops straight into a hole 20 metres short of T1 and T2. Not just any hole mind you, this one is deep and he's up to his door handles on both sides and has to climb out the window to get out. Now we've got 3 trucks in serious bogs and we're still 200 metres further on and completely forgotten about. One of the boys who isn't as racked by stress as I am decided that a photo would be a good idea while we wait for another truck to come and save the day. Couple of happy snaps with us in the foreground with artificial smiles was something we were able to laugh about later. Much much later. Right so T 4 turns up another hour later and it's the owner of the company and he's furious. First thing he does is get out of his truck and deck T1 for coming down here in the first place, telling him 'we do not rescue vehicles from Deep Water Bend' or something along those lines. T4 hooks up the cable to T3 which seems to be sinking and starts pouring the revs through the motor and T3 begins to shift slightly before a horrible grinding noise starts to come from the winch and T3 settles back into the mud pit. The expletives at this point were of a quality that I haven't heard since and I know some characters who have the gift.
This is all starting to get way out of hand and we're starting to wonder what sort of bill it is likely to be that we're going to be splitting.
Fortunately (I felt) T4 says he's going back to the shed for repairs and he'll send another truck.
T5 arrives an hour or so later like the Lone Ranger with a real confident swagger as he walks over to check out T3. 'Sh!t' he says. 'I don't think I got enough horses to pull that out.' ' We'll need another truck to hook on as well'.
This is starting to get a little lengthy and my recollection from this point is a little vague. But it was after dark when with the assistance of several towies we quite easily pushed the Nissan out and I managed to squeeze between T1 and T2 and I'm nearly free other than to approach the owner and ask for a bill. $200 bucks he says is what I owe him and we couldn't get the cash to him quick enough.
When we left at 9 pm, there were 7 trucks there and they were waiting for the Lawnton Smash Repairs truck which is used for towing trucks to arrive.
I had missed training for the night and as a semi professional player playing A grade senior soccer for North Star at the time, and having not rung in with an injury or any excuse at all, I was in the poo. I was also back in the media later that week with my coach telling the world what a bad attitude I had to training (true) and that I'd rather go fishing than go to training. (also true). Ian Chappel and Maxy Walker decided to also get on the band wagon that weekend on Wide World of Sports, questioning why a player with my talent would rather go fishing than to training.
The photos of the trucks were great, but sadly have disappeared somewhere since. Our parents and even the old man forgave us all after the explanation was offered and even thought it was quite funny. Glad he did as my sense of humour was yet to return. The crabs never got eaten as they died in the buckets in the back of the Nissan overnight and we never went back there other than by tinny.

24-05-2006, 10:06 AM
Ha ha ha ha ha ha good story, wouldve loved to see the look on the towie bosses face!! Shame about the crabs though :(

Cheers and beers

mcsalty
25-05-2006, 08:49 AM
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

fastmantis
25-05-2006, 07:10 PM
nice story mate have had my own fun down at deep water bend myself ;D :D ;D

nqboy
27-05-2006, 11:47 AM
thats gold mate bloody gold

griz066
30-05-2006, 06:45 PM
would love to see the pics

Bundy_Burp
06-06-2006, 10:34 PM
A mate of mine had a similar experience in a forestry at donnybrook by the time they added in the cost of broken winch cables 4 tow trucks and a forestery tractor it cost him well over $600 . Not a great way to spend your holiday pay or a friday afternoon . :'(

shrunken pojie
22-05-2010, 12:34 PM
Best Laugh I have had in a long time. Thanks for sharing! Worst I ever lost to the mud at the bend was a thong.

22-05-2010, 01:29 PM
I too had a few deep mud experiences heading onto the mud flats there in the early 80's for all nighters on the piss and I know just how bloody awful it is there.

Similar thing happened in Feb this yr (during the heavy rains) to my son in law who had a large vehicle towie move his 12t truck out onto his brothers block at Morayfeild. Towie was told to stay to the hardstand road where fully loaded semis run every day, but no he decided to swing wide and turn around before the turning circle where the semis turn and sunk the towie and the SIL's truck to the chassis on both in the culvert. End of the night it was 3 tilt trays all needing repairs and 1 heavy tow vehicle needing repair and one write off of a two week old tilt tray the towies decided to try and pull sideways from the mud. Towies charged the SIL the quoted $230 to deliver the truck, first driver got the sack and a few loose teeth i heard later on.
How do towies make any money when they wreck themselves so often?

BTW are there any boat hire places left in SEQ?

shano
23-05-2010, 09:03 PM
hahahahah that was a top read! thanks for sharing! made my night..... good night all!

griz066
23-05-2010, 09:29 PM
This thread will be 4 Years old tomorrow!!! Just noticed I commented back in 2006. Just Sayin.

shrunken pojie
23-05-2010, 10:33 PM
I noticed that too. It came up when I was doing a google search for deepwater bend and thought that it was worth bringing back up for those of us who weren't around at the time it was first posted and those who had forgotten about it. Happy reading!

30-05-2010, 10:09 PM
Nothing like a sunday night laugh. There must be a lot of good stories buried those archives

Cement truck drivers can get themselves in some bad situations too. Not easy climbing into the back and having to jack hammer out a full load as I've heard happen.

31-05-2010, 07:30 AM
Nothing like a sunday night laugh. There must be a lot of good stories buried those archives

Cement truck drivers can get themselves in some bad situations too. Not easy climbing into the back and having to jack hammer out a full load as I've heard happen.
That happened to a mate of mine.
A hydraulic hose blew a long way from home with a full load.
End of the story was that after 4 days with the jack hammer we learnt that nitropil works pretty good at removing concrete from agi bowls ;D
I got some pictures and a video somewhere....where though??

He used to deliver sheds too and some of the spots where people reckon you should be able to put a 40' body truck full of sheds leaves you thinking about the drugs they're on.
I remember on out of Murwillumbah where the bloke said yeah, no worries turning around at the house. After 500m up the driveway we found out they had to do a 4 point turn in their Volvo station wagon....and if they could we should have been able. :-X
Many a time we've lifted sheds off and placed them just over the boundary fence with cranky people threatening all sorts of rubbish.

Towies get themselves into bad spots because they don't think before hand.
A moments thinking can save a days work...and a wod of cash....

And the right gear for the job is a must too :)

Gon Fishun
05-09-2010, 08:30 PM
Couldn't help but comment. Betcha had a few laughs over beers with this one.:P
It was about 1980 we moved to Qld and I worked for North Pine Motors and did week about on the tow truck and racq. Real glad you didn't ring me.;D

wamjam
06-09-2010, 09:47 PM
That happened to a mate of mine.
A hydraulic hose blew a long way from home with a full load.
End of the story was that after 4 days with the jack hammer we learnt that nitropil works pretty good at removing concrete from agi bowls ;D
I got some pictures and a video somewhere....where though??

He used to deliver sheds too and some of the spots where people reckon you should be able to put a 40' body truck full of sheds leaves you thinking about the drugs they're on.
I remember on out of Murwillumbah where the bloke said yeah, no worries turning around at the house. After 500m up the driveway we found out they had to do a 4 point turn in their Volvo station wagon....and if they could we should have been able. :-X
Many a time we've lifted sheds off and placed them just over the boundary fence with cranky people threatening all sorts of rubbish.

Towies get themselves into bad spots because they don't think before hand.
A moments thinking can save a days work...and a wod of cash....

And the right gear for the job is a must too :)

Ah oh, here goes "myth busters" again !! :o

07-09-2010, 09:34 AM
Isn't there and american bloke that wrote a song about a similar sort of event, where half that town got bogged in a field??

snapperdan
07-09-2010, 10:20 AM
Same thing happened to me and my mate at his old mans farm up at Dimbulah west of cairns. Massive property, went for a drive in the ute. Tried to go through a running creek (a cyclone had just finisheds and everything was water loged and flowing). We launched off one side of the creek (we thought it would be better to hit it with speed) cleared the creek and crashed in to the far bank. We both hit the windscreen hard. The ute rolled back down into the creek and got bogged. Walked back to the homestead which took about 45 minutes and got the big tractor. Drove it down, attached a rope and pulled the ute up onto the the far side of the bank. We both drove about 20 meters before we hit some quick sand and both the truck and the tractor went down with there wheels under the wet sand. WE all walked back the 45 minutes and got the dozer and pulled both the tractor and ute out of the bog. The language used that day was perhaps the finest example of swearing i have ever heard. In all it took about 6 hours of our day and was just one of many disasters that happened on our trip to Dimbulah.

Fishoboy11
08-07-2012, 03:11 PM
:lol: - was just down at Deepwater Bend today in my kayak having a fish - which prompted my googling which found this thread. Very funny story and now I'm intrigued as to who slider is - did he go on to play adult rep soccer?

Zippidy
09-07-2012, 10:45 AM
Are you still involved in Football these days?

That's a bit before my time, but I could imagine Darren Hillier would have been around back then..

gruntahunta
09-07-2012, 04:25 PM

Has happened to me about 5 times.... Back in the old days the mixers used to have their own motor and were chain driven, never really a problem cause u could get back to the yard but new ones use the truck to power everything so if truck break downs at all, mixer stops turning>>>>>>> hard concrete. (and by the way they are concrete trucks...Cement trucks carry the powder to the concrete plant)

And yes it is a hell of a job jack hammering it out...you can not get any more than about 2 m3 out...any more than that and it is throw the bowl away.

Still_Dreamin
09-07-2012, 09:31 PM
Oldie but a goldie!

Slider
11-07-2012, 08:50 AM
Getting older like the author.

I played for North Star, Brisbane Lions - before they had to change the name, Taringa and Pine Rivers in the xxxx league Fishoboy. Fishing was a distractant that affected my career. Then it could have been the drinking. Or both. I was fortunate that I'd usually be sent off twice each year and get a week for accumulated yellow cards which gave me 5 weekends fishing at Teewah in the middle of the tailor season. Throw in the odd injury and my coaches were starting to wonder where my priorities lay. I did manage to get through a couple of hundred xxxx league games with 2 Ampol cups and the odd gig for Qld along the way.

Zippidy, I think Darren started playing senior football just as I was leaving the game. He did play with a couple of mates at City - I think.

Lindsay Dines

Zippidy
11-07-2012, 10:02 AM
A fair bit of history there. I too played for Lions before the new clubhouse and name changes. I was born in 86 so you were probably running around as I was growing up. I remember the days of Steve Jackson, Frank Mengotti, Hunter Brothers etc. My old man is good mates with Steve Fulton and he reckons Steve was brilliant when he was younger.

Darren is my coach now :-)

Slider
11-07-2012, 11:52 AM
Yeah, played with and against those guys. Think Frank and Jacko are still running around in the over 35s. Always had good battles with each of them - particularly in Ampol Cup finals. As a striker I volunteered for a central midfield job against Frank at Rivers one night -I stayed up front after that.
Believe there's been a few changes at Richlands since I was there. Wazza still hanging around?

What level are you playing at Zippidy?
Mention my name to Darren and see what reaction you get.

Zippidy
11-07-2012, 01:55 PM
I just play Div 1 at Western Spirit. PLayed at Ipswich Knights for a fair few years (Coalstars & St Helens)

Haven't seen Wazza in years, I know he had the groundsman job there for a few years after I left.

I think frank might be at Bris City.

I'll mention it to Darren. He's playing at Spirit in the O35's. Has had a hip replacement. Still got an awesome touch.

Slider
11-07-2012, 04:20 PM
There's a couple of grounds that I didn't enjoy playing at - St Helens and Coalstars. I wasn't popular with the pig pen at St Helens and Coalstars was just a pretty ordinary place to play football. Trying to think of a guy that was a striker at St Helens and for Qld and also played Claxton Shield baseball for Qld?? Played for quite a while and a quality striker.

Must be interesting running around after a hip replacement. Playing sweeper I hope?

Is div 1 the grade under state league?

MEG-A-BITE
11-07-2012, 04:26 PM
great story,man that would have made news in todays times.

Zippidy
11-07-2012, 04:42 PM
St Helens isn't used much these days; mainly for juniors. Although, it's been renovated. The Coalstars Clubhouse had to be demolished recently. We tried best we could to sandbag it before the recent floods, however the water went over the roof. We managed to save the memorabilia and some of the alcohol!! It's pretty sad seeing it as rubble after many years of history and memories.

Can't think who the striker would be. I'll ask Jon Kitching, he'll know who you're talking about.

It goes State League, Premier League then Div 1. In older times it would have been the one under XXXX League.

Zippidy
11-07-2012, 04:48 PM
Peter Vogler is the person you're after. Apparently went to a couple of Olympic Games for Baseball.

Slider
11-07-2012, 06:06 PM
Yep, I do recall him going to the olympics. Was always dangerous with the ball near goal.

New clubhouse at Coalstars wouldn't be a bad thing would it?