View Full Version : Tyres for the Landcruiser

boatboy50
10-07-2006, 09:23 PM
Hey Guys,

I will be in the market for a set of new tyres for the 100 Series Cruiser soon.

I know nothing about them, so am after opinions on the best value for money tyre.

Needs -

VERY occasional beach work
VERY often towing big weight boat
MOST often cruising the streets and highways doing what we call life!

I need good value for money tyres that will last many km's (how many should I expect?)

I am after a full set of tyres, 4 x 275 x 16 on standard alloy rims.

I did buy a set of GT Radials for my last 4x4, a Jackaroo. They seemed to be good.

Im looking at spending up to about $250 per tyre, is this reasonable?

Who should I buy from on the Gold Coast/Southern Brissie?

Does anyone else need some where we could maybe get a bulk buy and save money?

Any info appreciated.

SCOTTYGC
11-07-2006, 01:02 PM
Gday darren

mate i have a set of coopers on my navara and they are fantastic

garentee50000 km i think
have a look at them

scotty

boatboy50
11-07-2006, 05:56 PM
Thanks Scotty,

Any shop you can suggest locally?

fishingbarry
11-07-2006, 08:54 PM
Darren,
Just changed mine over ,did have Perrelli Scorpion AT's on got 60,000klms out of them mind you that is on a hj60 diesel so there is no high speed stunts done . They were great ,unfortunately The size that I needed are out of stock Aussie wide and I needed tyres now so have gone for Bridgestone desert duelers 31x11.5x15LT could get the perrelli's in other sizes but not that one. Bridges have changed there tread pattern so we will have to see how they go.
Barry.

TinarooTriumph
11-07-2006, 09:38 PM
BF Goodrich mate. Top quality tyre. Every mate of mine that has a cruiser, has BFG's, and they swear by them. And beleive me they get the $hit worked out of them, and still manage a heap of K's. They've got all the right attributes...

TT 8-)

12-07-2006, 06:12 AM
BFG A/T. This is what i run on my 2.2 diesel hilux, the 32 15 11.5. I've abused these over the last 2.5 years and they've still got life.

BrandonH
12-07-2006, 01:18 PM
aggree tinaroo and Blackened, I run BFG AT on my 80. they are 285 so bigger than you are looking at but I did have some 31x10.5.15s on my 60 and i put 50thou + on them and sold them with 20% of tread left on them (I didnt treat them that well either :-X)!!
They are known as one of the longest lasting tyres out there although i have been told that when they are getting close they tend to go a bit hard and can be a little slipery (didn't notice this at 20%). but i think is a good trade off for a long lasting tyre that works well on wet and dry roads and goes quite well on the beach as long as you let enough air outa them. my dad runs the Perrelli Scorpion AT's on his 100 series and love them, they are a little quiter than the BFGs but you don't get as many Kms outa them. they are a much cheaper tyre though.

When i was in the market for new tyres on my 80 i rang over 15 tyre mobs in Brisbane asking questions like witch 4x4 tyre give the best range and grip and thier price. i think this is a great idea as you find out who knows nothing and who the pros are ;) I got mainly similar answers but a couple of mobs gave me major bum steers!! in the end i saved $20 in total on my tyres by getting quick fit aspley to get them in and fit for me. you will be paying about $220 a tyre for the 31' tyres, don't pay over $230 for them!! best advise mate go to www.yellowpages.com.au and search tyres in your area and give every one of them a call and find out if they will match prices you will save alot doing this.

Brandon...

SCOTTYGC
12-07-2006, 02:17 PM
http://www.coopertires.com.au/default.htm

mine were new on my truck when i got it

ive now done 70,000km in two years and still plenty of tread on them

have a look at the web site and have a read about them i have the a/t model

scotty

SCOTTYGC
12-07-2006, 02:17 PM
just to add

A/T (ALL TERRAIN)

70% Road & SAND
30% Dirt & Mud

Guaranteed to last up to 80,000 kilometres
Designed for long mileage
Reduced noise
All terrain design
Incredible wet weather grip
Extra strength to reduce off road damage

BrandonH
12-07-2006, 03:58 PM
Scottygc, what size tyres do you ahve and what was the price on them? I did look at Cooper when i was searching for a new tyre but thought the price was a bit much (was looking as they are known as a dam good tyre)

Would be interested if Boatboy could get a set of coopers for under $250 each. I think in the size i was after (285) the price was in excess of $300 :-/ a lot more than what I was asked to pay for BFG A/T's of the same size.

Brandon...

SCOTTYGC
13-07-2006, 09:46 AM
Scottygc, what size tyres do you ahve and what was the price on them? I did look at Cooper when i was searching for a new tyre but thought the price was a bit much (was looking as they are known as a dam good tyre)

Would be interested if Boatboy could get a set of coopers for under $250 each. I think in the size i was after (285) the price was in excess of $300 :-/ a lot more than what I was asked to pay for BFG A/T's of the same size.

Brandon...

id would be interested in the price to , Mine were on my nissan when i picked it up so i have no idea

scotty

13-07-2006, 05:24 PM
I paid $270 per tyre for my 32'' R15 11.5 about 3 years ago. They are BFG A/T.

OISTA
13-07-2006, 07:35 PM
Fourbys at Marooka

Take your rig in, tell them what you do with it and they'll help you out. Good blokes

Needmorerum
16-07-2006, 09:12 PM
Can't beat BFG AT's for an all rounder. Cooper ST's are equally as good.

Don't judge everything by price, and don't cheap out for a few bucks. You get what you pay for. Cruisers are heavy vehicle, expecially when towing big boats.

Corry

GAFYM
16-07-2006, 09:44 PM
Sorry Fellas'
BF Goodrich the only way to go. Had a brand new set of Cooper Discoverer A/T that lasted 30,000k and the lugs just fell off in the rough. Was told if i wanted to wait around in Kununurra for a month or two until a rep could get there and access the tyres then he would look at a PROPORTIONAL warranty assessment. They were stuffed. Bought the BF's and never looked back. Still have them on 70,000k's later and looking good. (Although they are on a Patrol) ;D ;D ;D

Fat Chilli
16-07-2006, 11:25 PM
Sorry all you BFG (read: Michelin) lovers, they are not the way to go! :'( Some time ago the BFG tyres we recieve stopped coming from 'made in the USA' and started coming from 'made in Japan'. Now usually there is nothing wrong with that, as the Japanese generally make very high quality. However, the Jap made BFG's are not, they use a softer compound that wears alot quicker (personal experience with BFG tyres from both countries of origin).
I would look at the Coopers, not for the rediculas warranty, which is void unless you get a wheel balance every 10,000km or it you go off road (read the fine print) but because they do wear well, just forget about the warranty crap.

Maxxis MA-761, which is what I used for my daily driving tyre (Mickey Thompsons claws for offroading) are another long lasting good wearing tyre, also a lot cheaper. The Maxxis MA-761'come with a 50,000 mile warranty if you live in the USA so they should be good for a while over here.

At the end of the day it all depends on what, where and how you drive.

Footnote: living on Tamborine Mountain cuts through tyres fairly fast and the Maxxis seem to be holding up well so far.

Needmorerum
17-07-2006, 09:21 PM
I currently have 4 Cruisers, all running BFG's. I am getting around 100k klms, on average out of AT's, and around 60k klms with Mudders. I change them more due to damage from what we use them for, rather than wear. I have made it up to 110k klms on a set of KO AT's, and then got $350 on a trade for them for a set of Mickey Thomson Claws, ooops.
From experience, there isn't much wrong with most brands that are out there. Everyone will have their own opinions. My suggestion would be to go somewhere out of the city, and have a look around a carpark at all the 4B's and see what is the most common. Places like Cruiser Park are good to do this.
Have a look around and make up your own mind. You will always get the knockers when someone has had a bad experience.

Corry

Fat Chilli
17-07-2006, 09:53 PM
Corry - Good advise. But why do you have four cruisers?

Needmorerum
18-07-2006, 06:27 PM
He who dies with the most toys wins.

I used to be hard up for parking spots, but I just sold my CC Explorer, so this leaves me with an MT spot.
Got 2 40 Shorties, 1 60 Series, and an 80 Series. Goes with the Barina the missus drives around, and my tinnie. Looking at getting a dirt bike or another quad at the moment, and in the new year, a ski boat. Guess I need to extend the shed.
One 40 is in the process of being rebuilt for full competition, the other is for taking to work, the 80 is being retired from hardcore use to be modified back to touring, and the 60 is for when one of the others is broken. But it is soon to be pulled apart for some parts, and then the rest sold off.
The missus is talking about buying a new GU for touring instead of the 80, but not sure where I would put it.

Corry

Fat Chilli
19-07-2006, 11:02 PM
You should really sell them all and invest in a Jeep. ;D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v202/ausjeep/CarRamp1.jpg

shandos
24-07-2006, 10:51 PM
BFG ATs towing a 6.8m haines walkaround to places like Evans Head and 1770, plus off road work on an 80 series got 105 000 km out of them. ARB suspension set up helped. Could not recommend them highly enough.

Shandos

tiny_tinny
31-07-2006, 07:02 AM
I have to agree with OISTA - Fourbys on Ipswich Rd at Moorooka are a good place to deal with. They stock a range of brands (including Cooper), and know heaps about 4WDriving. Their prices are pretty competitive too.

pig75
04-08-2006, 06:14 PM
I brought a set of cooper’s HT 31 10.5 15 one thing I noticed was that I lost 5 klm an hour in speed (with a GPS) at the same rpm so there NOT 31” which means they look like they last longer [smiley=angry.gif]

hercules
05-08-2006, 08:28 PM
Had a set of coopers on my first chev that seemed ok. (the warranty does not include towing and the difficulty in sourcing them sent me to Bfg allterrains . they have about the best load capacity going which is legally essential for me because of the weight of the vehicle .
Interesting about the comment that they are wearing out a bit quicker these days as i only got 30k out of my last pair and the currant ones are wearing fast . I do tow a lot but have done for the last 8 years also .Also took a couple of knobs off the side of the back tyres the other day , but that was pulling a concrete truck up a slippery track ;) .
Either way i think i will stick with them unless there is a better alternative

trilogy
06-08-2006, 11:59 AM
Hi boatboy
I had Coopers on an 80 series and thought they were great for about 50000 kms good grip minimual wear untill motoring along the hwy half the tread separated off the back left wheel the peice of tread beating the rear tyre well sunded like world war 3.
Replaced with the spare drove into the next town and fitted a complete set of Desert Duelers,as I felt I could not trust the Coopers, it would have been worse if it was a front tyre :o before replacing them the pressure in that wheel was checked and was ok as the dealer said low pressure can cause this. A bit of research on the net found that separating treads was not uncommon with these tyres.

07-08-2006, 05:26 PM
Hi Darren

Made up your mind re the tyres yet?
Still doing the shake down cruise this week?

NeilD
09-08-2006, 06:58 PM
I have just spent a week looking into new shoes for my Disco. I spoke to all sorts of people including an interstate area manager for Bridgestone and I came up with Pirelli Scorpion AT's. They blitzed a recent 4X mags tyre shootout and no one had a bad word for them. I got themat $205 each balanced, fitted and old tyre taken away. Mine were 235 70R16's.

hotsy
10-08-2006, 10:38 AM
My brother and I have had 80 series and 100 series for a number of years and found that the BFG AT is a great tyre and hard to beat. Bro also sometimes changes over to the BFG Muddies when doing really heavy stuff. They are a bit noisyer on the road but do a great job in heavy going stuff.
I got 85K out of my last set of AT and they still had some life left when I changed them over..
You should be able to pick them up for between $230 - $250.
Hotsy

IcemanII
13-08-2006, 10:18 PM
Have had 6 cruisers and spent several years in NT, would say for off road BFG's are the only way to go........ there is no other option for a work tyre !, have also tried Pirelli Scorpion, Michelin and Coopers on a prado and wouldn't buy them again. If using on the road then stick to the Bridgestone that they are factory fitted with.

Mr__Bean
14-08-2006, 02:41 AM
If using on the road then stick to the Bridgestone that they are factory fitted with.

Factory fitment for a 100 Series Landcruiser are Dunlop GrandTrek. :-? :-?

- Darren

TinarooTriumph
14-08-2006, 09:31 AM
IcemanII - Is that username meant to mean 'Kimi Raikkonen the 2nd?' If you dont get what Im on about then dont worry.

TT 8-)

Wooly
16-08-2006, 10:32 PM
boatboy

I have 265/75 16 cooper atr on 80 series wagon. You can get this size in either 8 0r 10 plt rating and comes with 90000 warranty (conditional), I went for the 10ply. you will pay about $280-90 for these. The atr replaced my bfg at. Have found the atr to be an excelent driving tyreand much quiter, but a bit less grip in the dirt. I tow couple of ton of glass boat easy, including up the beach to DI and waddy. 3 years on still going good.

The bfg were fine, but have had Toyo (ice skates) Olympic (unbalancable) and Dunlop and could not recommend these.

IcemanII
23-08-2006, 10:52 PM
Darren,

thanks I stand corrected, Dunlop GrandTrek are standard on the landcruiser.