View Full Version : Need advice on 4wd Hilux
devocean
20-08-2006, 09:39 AM
Hi Guys wanting some advice on whether this is a good buy as well as a good 4wd. Its a 1998 SR5 Hilux dual cab done 166 thousand km. It has a 2.7 litre 4 cylinder petrol motor and is in very good condition.
Price is 17000 Also wanted to know if this size motor is okay to tow say a 5.5 metre tinny.
Any help would be great
Thanks Dan
ar-we-ther-yet
20-08-2006, 06:05 PM
I traded my 97 2.8ltr diesel duel cab with 152 000 ks in on a new truck 6 mths ago and the best price i could get was $14000 and a couple of dealers were only offering $10000. Although it was only a base model it was a pretty clean truck and had full service history.
It would want to be in very good condition to be worth $17000 I would think it would be worth more around $14k .
The motors are a good little engine and go for a long time if you look after them.
It should tow a 5.5mtr tiny without any trouble aslong as your not in a hurry.
lunatic
20-08-2006, 07:24 PM
G'day Dan,
I have a 1999 2.7 litre petrol hilux that I baught 2 years ago for 18000. I couldn't be happier with it.
It tows my 3.95 metre tinny with no problems at all.
I have had mine up to Fraser a few times where it definately holds it's own. Especially with the tonne of camping and fishing gear that I load it up with!
If you can get a good one I would grab it!
Lunatic
I had a 2.7 litre standard ute (work ute) that i used to tow my 6m sportfish with probably shouldn't have but i was desperate but it did the job fairly well suprisingly use to drink like a fish under tow but to be expected towing nearly 2 tonne fully loaded.
griz066
21-08-2006, 08:48 PM
$17000.00 no way tell him he is dreaming ;D
and by the way get a triton 8-) and not an overpriced toyota ::)
devocean1
22-08-2006, 01:40 PM
Thanks for the advice guys, I know it is a bit expensive but for what I have seen looking around it looks pretty good. Not much to buy up here in NQ most of them are either over 20k or done over 200 000km.
Anyway Ill post a pic t show you what it looks like. It also come with the style side tray as well
ar-we-ther-yet
22-08-2006, 08:33 PM
Certanly looks the part ;)
Just make sure it has original paint, is straight, has service book filled out and is clean through out.
If you are going to pay top dollar you dont want a dud.
Geoff_Atkinson
23-08-2006, 04:42 PM
Anything with Toyota on it is a good buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
treksmurf
24-08-2006, 08:03 PM
Nice looking truck , i have a 95 extra cab with a 2.8 diesel and it tows a 5.7 metre no worries, and i dont think 17 k is over the top anyway if its in as good nick as it appears
pig75
25-08-2006, 07:36 PM
Going by the redbook http://www.redbookasiapacific.com/au/vehicle/prices.php?key=TOYO98CZ
1998 TOYOTA HILUX
RZN169R SR5 Dual Cab Utility 4dr Man 5sp 4x4 2.7i
Prices based on km 160,000 - 240,000
Trade in price guide* $11,200 - $13,000
National average price - private sale* $13,900 - $17,000
Price when new (RRP) $37,730
all prices quoted are GST inclusive
devocean1
30-08-2006, 07:53 AM
Thanks for everything guys, i ened up buying it and will be getting it freighted up from brissy