View Full Version : HILUX or RODEO

22-11-2006, 07:00 PM
Well... coming to the final stages of finding a new vehicle...................

1997 LN167R Hilux 4x4 dual cab with a canopy. Has a steel arb bar, steps, towbar, very clean, 200000k on the 3.0L diesel, aftermarket turbo and intercooler and a 2'' suspension lift, running 31'' BFG A/T. 2 3/4 exhaust. Tray liner.
Drives great, some service history, asking 17k

2001 4xx4 dual cab rodeo with canopy. 2.8 turbo diesel, steel bullbar, scrub bars, steps, tow bar and rear bar, l/r fueltank, 31'' a/t tyres, god condition throughout, sound system, 184000km, UHF, apotties, set up as a tourer, full service history, asking $18k

Both are pretty negotiable and need to sell. I'm leaning towards the rodeo at this stage, purely on age and will be seeing it friday.

The only thing that turns me off on the rodeo is the ride height... any clearance issues offroad?

I know that both are pretty strong as far as the driveline is concerned.....

WHO HAS ONE? Tell me about any problems and what you love about it.

ANYFISH
22-11-2006, 09:06 PM
gday mate
I have got a rodeo trayback. Bloody love it.

I had an issue with the ride height up at fraser last year but got the torsion bar screwed up, got the springs reset in the back, along with new shocks in the front and an extra leaf put in the rear springs to carry a tonne and a bit ;) All that came to $450 and with 1000+++ kgs on it on the way up the beach this year i didn't have a problem at indian in the powdery sand.
The extra leaf in the rear made the ride a bit rough without a load on but i normally carry a couple hundred kgs on it and that makes it ride bloody beaut.

Power wise it shits allover the 3l non turbo hiluxes but the toyotas with the factory turbo have a bit more torque and power.

Mine pulls a 6m plate cuddy cabin with no worries but i just don't push it real hard up the hills.

I get about 11L/ 100 Km and my dads hilux (3l factory turbo) gets about 13-14L/ 100kms hi-way driving.

Hope that helps

griz066
22-11-2006, 09:57 PM
Neither get a Triton 8-)

23-11-2006, 11:13 AM
Haha fair enough,

I have driven a rodeo of the same model, just not this particular one.

Griz.... Grand_Marlins been onto me about a triton.... so i know about them :P

I suppose I will know by saturday wich way I will go. WHat do you think is a fair price for both vehicles?

Brett1907
23-11-2006, 03:48 PM
Blackened, naturally I will say the Hilux.

You should get another 150000 to 200000 kays out of the 3ltr, you won't get anywhere near that in the rodeo. This is based on my experience, also, one of my clients uses rodeo's, they have about 100 of them and the guys allways like my hiluxs'.

Screwing the torsion bars may give you clearance but will all but remove any articulation in the front end. And you will never be able to go everywhere the hilux can go.

Personally I would definately go the Hilux over any other ute except cruiser or patrol utes (but they are only single cabs). I have yet to see a triton follow me where I go, let alone keep up with me. The Pajero is another matter, I quite like them.

Anyway... HILUX!!

ar-we-ther-yet
23-11-2006, 10:20 PM
Don't worry about the poor delusional Toyota drivers...if they keep on saying there the best they might feel better about paying more for them. ;D

I traded my old 97 luxy with 150k on the clock, log books duel cab, clean...blah,blah blah. and the best trade in i could get was $14k, and i had to fight to get that.
The hilux is too old for that price.
and they dont go for ever ,mine blew an oil seal at 110k, it was only that i made it home before it dumped all its oil that i didn't blow the engine up.
You'll also find that after market turbos will shorten the life of the motor, because non torbo engines aren't designed for a turbo.
Dont know much about rodeo's but it seems a better buy and there is always after market lifts you can get.

marshy
24-11-2006, 11:33 AM
Gidday Blackened, I don't own a Hilux or a Rodeo, infact I don't own any 4wd utility but I have been servicing/repairing older model cars[5 years & over] for the last 18 years. I would rate the Hilux as far superior to the Rodeo .Actually I would put the Rodeo last on the list with Hilux first Triton second, Bravo/Courier & Navara tied third & the Rodeo a distant last. I am basing my opinion upon ease of servicing & faults that I have seen. [This is only my opinion so don't get too upset with me all you Rodeo owners]. I do, however think at times that Hilux's get overrated, they're good but not that good & this seems to make them a lot more expensive. So before you make a decision maybe you should check out some other models. Cheers

Marshy

24-11-2006, 03:59 PM
I'm not fussed on triton... dunno what it is, navara latish model turbo diesel is out of my price range.... courier and bravo not a fan...... and that leaves me with a hilux and rodeo.

I'm looking @ this rodeo 2morrow so we will see what that brings.

gawby
24-11-2006, 06:10 PM
Dave,

Everyone will bag what they don't like.
I prefer the rodeo and i am now on my second one and have no complaints about them at all.
I had a 1999 2.8 duel cab and bought it with a suspect motor and went everywhere in it. West to Boulia, south to S.A. over to Fraser i don't know how many times and it didn't miss a beat. I sold it to a mate and he rebuilt the motor and now will not part with it.

Having a quick look on red book the 2 you are looking at are over priced by a fair bit.

Toyota up to $14,000-00

Rodeo up to $13,500-00 lt crew cab

Rodeo up to $20,000-00 lt sports.

I now have a 03, 3lt diesel crew cab, auto and is a dream. No problems with clearance on the sand.

Be careful with after market turbos because if they are not installed correctly you will have trouble.

I am not about to bag the hilux but i personally wouldn't own one.

Hope this helps.

Have a look at red book yourself. Just google red book.

Graeme ;)

24-11-2006, 09:30 PM
Thanks graheme

I am well aware of peoples bias, and that's totally fine... as we're only human :)

Red book i've had a look at and understand they are overpriced, and will use redbook in my bargaining power.....

Great to hear you have had a good run out of your rodeo and that clearance was a no issue.

I'm looking at the rodeo tomorrow lunch now.

gawby
24-11-2006, 09:39 PM
Dave,

Something i didn't mention is that the 1999 rodeo i had my mate took the steel bullbar and side bars and steps off it and it raised the suspension by 2". :o :o :o

They are made of big gauge steel as when we went to Boulia we hit a roo at 110klm/h and didn't put a mark on the bar. The roo was rooted though. ;D ;D ;D

Graeme ;)

Kendall249
24-11-2006, 11:26 PM
gday mate
.I get about 11L/ 100 Km and my dads hilux (3l factory turbo) gets about 13-14L/ 100kms hi-way driving.

Hope that helps

surprised that the 3L uses 13-14l/100kms, as my 4.2 td (aftermarket) uses 11L/100kms. Though talking a pest control agent who bought a petrol triton because the V6 petrol uses less fuel than the 2.8td :o.

Bill_Klein
25-11-2006, 05:54 AM
I'm with griz get a Triton i'm on my second one (both from new)
i wouldn't buy a toyota because you are paying for a name not a vehicle
if i bought a new hilux i would have payed 10 g's more than the triton

gawby
25-11-2006, 04:16 PM
Dave,

How did the look at the rodeo go :-?

Graeme ;)

25-11-2006, 11:56 PM
Graheme, very well. Pending racq, revs and finalisation of hire/purchase arrangements, hope to have it by end of the week.

gawby
26-11-2006, 07:22 AM
Good luck with it, hope all goes well :)

Graeme ;)

Brett1907
26-11-2006, 10:56 AM
With toyotayou aren't just buying a name.

The reason toyotas have a better resale is that they have proven over the years that they are a tougher vehicle overall. They are traditionally more reliable, more capable off road (except maybe the new navara... debatable) and commonly have a better finish inside and out. But it all depends on what you want it for.

4WD monthly do many vehicle tests and comparisons, and they reallytest them. I mean, they had a new top of the line rangie up to its axles stuck in a bog!!! No respect for brand, just ability!!! The toyota hilux allways comes in the top 2, hilux and navara. Rodeo never places better than third and sometimes lower.

I am not saying hilux because I own oneI did HEAPS of research, and not just at the dealers. I spoke to mechanics, other 4WDers and clients who own everything possible. The rodeo couldn't match in any area, I considered the new navara but availabilty of the vehicle and aftermarket accessories combined with the price just ruled it out.

The hilux just came up trumps on all accounts. I have owned 2 x 2.8d and a 3ltr. Still have a 1993 2.8with over 300000km. Had my mechanic pull off the sump to check the big ends and he says it looks like new still.

Yes I am a bit biased, but that is a result of having a lot to do with 4WDs, I learnt to drive in shorty buffalo catcher cruiser in arnhem land when I was 5. I have had experience with allbrands and still can't go past toyota.

gawby
26-11-2006, 11:12 AM
Brett,

Are you sure you haven't got shares in Toyota. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

I respect your oppinion but i have had a top run out of rodeos like you with toyota. 8-) 8-) 8-)

Graeme ;)

26-11-2006, 05:39 PM
I understand where both of you are coming from, My first car was an XD falcon, second an LN46hilux........ nothing but dramas with the 'lux.

I'm giving the rodeo a go now (isuzu) 8-) and after that would be a defender, then a bentley continental GT.

Brett1907
27-11-2006, 09:01 AM
Graeme

No I don't have shares in toyota.... yet!! :D

Sorry, wasn't trying to put your opinion down, just impart my opinion and experiences. If you are happy with the rodeo that's great. I hate to see people having problems with their vehicles no matter what brand.

Good luck, and I am available for vehicle recoveries any time. ;D ;D ;D

27-11-2006, 10:17 AM
haha no worries.

Brett1907
28-11-2006, 12:13 PM
I do love a good debate though!!

gawby
04-12-2006, 09:31 PM
Dave,

Are you going to wack a pic on to show us.

Graeme ;)

05-12-2006, 12:00 AM
I could do..... but it wont happen.

Still searching.

I had a deposit on that rodeo during the week, had a mechanical inspection booked for sat'day... got a call from the bloke friday and regardless of a deposit, he'd gone and sold it >:(

I dont really mind, that wasnt meant for me.

gawby
05-12-2006, 06:47 PM
Dave,

I hope you got the deposit back and when you did called him what i would have. I have a bad habit of saying things that get me into trou >:(ble >:(
The right one wi ;)ll come along.

Graeme ;)