View Full Version : Looking for ideas

22-12-2006, 06:05 AM
G'day people. I am trying to refine an idea I had which will basically stop me from losing my front number plate on the Pajero. The problem I have and it seems to be a design thing with the Pajero is that when you traverse quick enough through water hazards the water somehow forces its way forward from behind the front number plate which either folds it upwards or rips it off all together. The last M&G I went on I ended up nearly losing it once again and it is only a reasonably new plate which now looks worse for wear having splits in it. I know I will lose it completely on the next trip if I don't do something with it so here is the idea. I want to design and cut an alloy sheet of metal to the same size and shape as the number plate to use as a backing plate to firm it up. Will line the mounting holes up with the number plate and drill them through and then bolt the whole thing to the front of the car. I doubt I would need much more than 3-5 mm in thickness to achieve what I want to. Is there any suggestions from any of you out there as to where the best place would be to buy a small piece of alloy to do the job? Obviously I wanted it to be strong, light weight and non-corrosive.

Thanks,

22-12-2006, 06:14 AM
poodroo,,,check ya local hardware for any offcuts laying around,,,ally would be the go,,easier to drill/cut,etc etc

one of the trades that came through work had a nice a neat little job,,,he used channel,,and sheet backing

cut at 45 angles and made a frame for the plate,,,painted up it looked really neat and tidy,,

some of the guys on here also play around with sheet metal,,,may be worthwhile getting in contact with scott (finga),,,and see if he can help ya ot as well

Brett1907
22-12-2006, 08:07 AM
Any sheetmetal or engineering shop would have off cuts of the right size you could probably have for nothing. Actually, I think I've got some lying around. If you're going to be down on the coast I would be happy to give you some.

22-12-2006, 10:27 AM
You aren't robinson crusoe there. A lot of 4wd's do it - including my hilux. I'd have second thoughts about preventing the water from exhausting through the front splitter though - where else is it going to go? what will pressurise?
My thoughts are that the radiator will block with water quicker causing the fan to vacuum forward into it.... You may have thermos on the paj so it might not be an issue.

I just wouldn't like to see you fixing something surplus to requirement causing a more detrimental effect than the one you're trying to circumvent?

C.J.

Roughasguts
22-12-2006, 04:40 PM
Cut up an old plastic cutting board, or a new one.
Be a lot easier to work with, and source.

22-12-2006, 05:12 PM
Mount it on hinges and let it flat instead of bend and then it won't build up pressure and impact elsewhere like rad.

Roughasguts
22-12-2006, 05:21 PM
He He now your thinking Chimo, little cable attached to it to pull up for the red light cameras.

Ah what am I thinking if it's like my Paj, can't possibly get a speeding ticket.

22-12-2006, 06:06 PM
LMAO.. you guys are full of good ideas. No wonder I posted this thread. Food for thought now. I could flick a switch which folds both front and rear plates upwards for when I go through speed cameras or redlight cameras. Gees you guys are good. Ahh but that's right. Pajeros cannot possibly exceed the speed limit. ::) Thanks for the tips one and all.

jimbamb
23-12-2006, 05:58 PM
i mounted my boat trailer plate on mud flap/floor mat rubber.saved if from damage.maybee u could do that

23-12-2006, 07:47 PM
As long as you can incorporate RAG's idea of the pull cord, the rubber "flap" not flat would be good too. If the hinges were used a rubber strip to keep the whole thing quite would be good too.

What am I thinking, its a Paj, there would be so many other noises you wouldn't hear a bit of extra metal on metal :D

Sorry didn't proof it too well originally, but the idea still got thru.

HarryO
24-12-2006, 01:39 PM
Hi Poodroo, et al.

You could apply for one of those slimline
front plates from the transport dept.

Harry.

24-12-2006, 03:56 PM
My house and will cost ya 2 5 stubbies.
One for you, one 4 for me whilst I cut and fold it ;D
You'll have to book after x-mas though ;D
I reckon we could tart the old Pajero a bit. ;)

24-12-2006, 03:58 PM
poodroo,,,check ya local hardware for any offcuts laying around,,,ally would be the go,,easier to drill/cut,etc etc

one of the trades that came through work had a nice a neat little job,,,he used channel,,and sheet backing

cut at 45 angles and made a frame for the plate,,,painted up it looked really neat and tidy,,

some of the guys on here also play around with sheet metal,,,may be worthwhile getting in contact with scott (finga),,,and see if he can help ya ot as well

thanks mate....dobing me in again ;)
Have a great x-mas matey and we'll catch up in the new year for sure. 8-)

Big_Kev
24-12-2006, 04:45 PM
Andy you need to convince your better half you need a new front winch bar to hold the plate on solid.
Preferably attached to a nice shiny new 4b.
If she does not understand I am sure the boys here will be able to coach you the correct approach to acheive your goals.
Kev.

Big_Kev
24-12-2006, 04:45 PM
Oh and merry Christmas too.

shano
24-12-2006, 04:46 PM
what i did on my old pajero was bolted down the bottom of the plate as well,so you will have the normal 2 bolts up top and then 2 more on the bottom, have never had this problem again;)

25-12-2006, 09:15 PM
My house and will cost ya 2 5 stubbies.
One for you, one 4 for me whilst I cut and fold it ;D
You'll have to book after x-mas though ;D
I reckon we could tart the old Pajero a bit. ;)

Well Scotty I know for a fact that beers come in lots of 6 so I would in reality have to bring a 6 pack which would probably equate to 5 for you and 1 for me right? :-? ;D I have this week off so something could be organized if you have the time. If not I will have to come up with my own design and get tipsy on your share. :)

27-12-2006, 07:29 AM
Poodroo,

Whatever solution you come up with, make sure you don't make only one, make two?? ;) ;) ;) Mine is split too and nearly falling off, I will lose the front one for sure, next time I rush through a puddle. ;D

27-12-2006, 07:55 AM
Poodroo,

Whatever solution you come up with, make sure you don't make only one, make two?? ;) ;) ;) Mine is split too and nearly falling off, I will lose the front one for sure, next time I rush through a puddle. ;D

Well I will have to sweet talk Scotty with more beer but it's all good. Hopefully he won't be too drunk by the time he gets to cut the second one. :)

27-12-2006, 08:37 AM
hang on a minute you guys,,,,,,,i'm sure that I'M THE ONE who placed the recommendation in this post to scout out scotty,,,,and in doing so,,,this sort of like makes me eligible for a spotters/management fee,,,,,

now,,,if scots charging 5 stubbies,,,,mine will have to bear the same value,,,and because i'm providing a service,,, theres GST,,, so thats 5.5 stubbies for me thank you

just let me know what day you have in mind,,,,i'll pop down and make sure you do it right,,,,

27-12-2006, 08:47 AM
Lol Choppa. Just waiting for Scott to name the day. Is turning out to be another M&G at this rate. :) Well if you are entitled to 5.5 beers that means one of us is going to have to swig half a beer down at some stage to give to you. I guess that will have to be me seeing as Scott can't exceed his beer entitlements/quota. I promise there will be no washback okay. ;) Kind of hoping this can be done before this Saturday because I am heading off to the Border Ranges National parks this Saturday and the number plate is already ripped to the sh!thouse and in danger of being lost next puddle.