View Full Version : Any Rangie drivers ?
robnjo
15-01-2007, 07:57 PM
any late 80s range rover drivers here that could anwser some questions for me?
I'v had 2 in the past(82&84 models) and loved them. been veedubing the last 10 years and now wanting anyother RR Classic model, sorry to all the Toyota and Nissan crew, I must have been droped at birth. please don't hate me... I still Fish [smiley=smug.gif]
1. what year did the Viscous coupling come in?
2. fuel cost compere between the carby and injection models?
3. what year did they change from 3.5 ltr to 3.9ltr?
4. an injected model on Gas suffer much in power loss?
any help would be great [smiley=scholar.gif]
Rob.
15-01-2007, 08:22 PM
Hi mate - I can answer one question for you. My 95 3.9 Disco on LPG (injection system on petrol and carby style mixer on LPG) has almost the same power on properly tuned LPG as petrol - the difference is that the LPG is smoother and has more torque down low. I have a 2002 Disco series II on LPG aswell and love them both. In fact I only need one to tow and go beach camping but I cant bring myself to sell one - and it nice to have the wife and kids in a little tank.
On behalf of LR owners accross the planet let me welcome you back into the fold and wish you years of trouble free and fun motoring with character that no other 4WD manufacturer can match!!!
thedeckie
16-01-2007, 10:16 AM
Try getting on to Blaze from Tassie,Im pretty sure he's a rangie driver/owner and could possibly answer your questions.
robnjo
16-01-2007, 08:13 PM
thanks guys, I'll wait and see if he see the post.
16-01-2007, 09:13 PM
got an old 89 vogue, first reg in 90.
fuel - when down to about 1/2 a tank I refill it. Not trying to be smart but the way I see it is if it does what I want to do (tow a 20 foot boat) and seconds as a work bus, does a couple of trips to the mainland a year, why worry about fuel. The simple facts are that if you have a 3.5l motor verus a 4.5l doing 90kmh the 3.5 has gotta be better. Good comfy ride and hasnt let me down yet. Only major problem I had was some loose earth wires, took a while to trace. Got a job on the transfer box to do, jumps out low range, $700 for paarts and havnt really had cause to fix it yet, its one the one day list.
It still has the 3.5 but I believe 89 was the year of change over. It also has the viscousis coupling and had no probs with it. 290,000 km there abouts on the clock
The guy over the road has an earlier one (non injected and he reckons mine is heaps better on fuel.
I often take it on a long drive because I prefer to drive it instead of our mazda 626.
gotta love a rangie
18-01-2007, 01:48 PM
just did fuel figues on the last three tanks, this includes be loaded up with my work gear and 2 ladders on roof racks
17l per 100k
14l per 100k
19l per 100k
most of this is running around town. doing a bit of a trip the weekend load for the the weekend but no ladders
robnjo
19-01-2007, 09:41 AM
thanks mate, it is an 89 that I'm looking at. this does help.
Rob.
22-01-2007, 05:56 PM
done some more fuel figues, dosnt seem to change that much with load/wind resistance but more to do with where and how ya drive
13.58l per 100km for a 323km fair highway, bit hilly
12.85l per 100km for 317km of good highway
17.64l per 100km for 241 of notorisus road of up and down hills full of 90 degree + corners.
this is the first time sinse onwing this bus I have rally done fuel figures, fairly happy with results
robnjo
26-01-2007, 12:12 PM
that is awesome mate,Thanks. You may even drop the figures more if you don't put to many of those Barra in the back :P
Rob.
Outdoor Guy
26-01-2007, 02:42 PM
Gotta love a rangey had a 76 2 door 10 year ago couldnt kill it
had the 4.4l P76 motor in it with a ford c4 auto hooked up to it
gotta love that rangey diff lock
27-01-2007, 07:06 AM
they even sound like a 4X should :)