View Full Version : Offroad Meet & Greet

08-01-2007, 06:45 PM
OK,  The research has been done and we are none the wiser     ;D

Seriously,  an Ausfish Offroad  M & G will take place at Archer Camp in The Mt Mee State Forest on the weekend of 3rd  and 4th of March 2007.

If you do not have a 4 x 4, you will still be able to get to the campsites and you may get a seat in a 4BY for a trip or two down the ' tracks '.

The plan is to meet at Archer Camp on Saturday morning and then try a few tracks out after lunch.  Stay overnight with a campfire and bbq, then have some more fun the next morning.

Facilities there are good with toilets, taps, swimming hole, grassed areas for kids to run amuck and level camp sites with camper trailers welcome. This is a modification. Camper trailers and caravans are NOT suited to this site, sorry

For your info, MT MEE state forest is west of Woodford on the Qld nth coast.

The tracks we will take are moderate to rough, and you will be able to detour around the rough stuff should you desire.  Below is a lot of info to take in.  BUT, importantly, you must obtain a permit to traverse. Free. camping permit costs minimal.  Any questions, just fire away.

Directions to  Beerburrum

From either north or south along the Bruce Highway, exit at the Glasshouse Mountain Rd /  Beerburrum - Donnybrook Rd. ...(  2007 UBD Refidex Sunshine Coast Map136 ,  L17 )

Take Glass House Mountain Road to the west of the highway.  Follow to Beerburrum and turn left at Beerburrum Road, cross over railway lines and Parrot Park is on your right.  There are toilets here.  (  2007  UBD  Refidex  Sunshine Coast Map136  C4 )

D’Aguilar Range Tour

, Beerburrum..........( 2007 UBD refidex Sunshine Coast map 136 C4 )

Continue South and T/R Beerburrum - Woodford road ( gravel )

Pass Old Gympie Rd on Right....continue ahead

Pass Glasshouse - Woodford Rd on right.....continue ahead

T/L into Golfcourse Rd at Cemetery.........( bitumen )

T-junction......T/R into George St.............

T-Junction........T/R into Archer St

Veer left into Neurum Rd ( towards  Woodford Correctional Centre )

continue on Neurum Rd passing Walker on left, Morrison on right

T/L into Stanton.........continue....sharp  right

T/R into Rasmussen....( gravel )

Find Archer Camp Ground on right.........

Enter grounds and find Ausfish Banner.

Legend:-

T/R  =  Turn  Right
T/L  =  Turn Left

DO NOT TURN UNLESS INSTRUCTED.

MT  MEE   M  &  G  2007

What's special?
At the northern end of the D’Aguilar Range, Mount Mee State Forest and Forest Reserve contains beautiful open forests, scribbly gum forests, rainforest remnants, hoop pine plantations and picturesque creek scenery.
Exploring Mount Mee
Have a picnic at the Gantry picnic area where you can see the remains of the old sawmill which operated here until 1981. Toilets, picnic tables, barbecues, and water are provided.

Go bushwalking. Along Piccabeen, explore the mysterious grove of tall piccabeen palms. Enjoy magnificent views over Lakes Somerset and Wivenhoe along the Somerset trail. Discover the rainforest along the Mill rainforest walk.

Choose from two small camping areas in the forest. Neurum Creek is 6km from the Gantry picnic area. Tent sites, toilets, fire rings and water are provided. You will need to supply your own firewood.

You can also camp beside Neurum Creek at Archer camping area, 16km from the Gantry picnic area along Loveday’s Road. Obtain a camping permit and  \l "permits_to_traverse" the forest beforehand. Toilets, and fire rings are provided.

Both camping areas are unsuitable for caravans or camper trailers.

Enjoy the view over the picturesque Neurum Valley and Bulls Falls from the Falls Lookout, 1km past the picnic area. Access to the lookout is by a 500m walking track.

Take care if swimming in waterholes along Neurum Creek.

Permits to traverse

Download an application form for "/publications?id=1812"
Download an application form for "/publications?id=1813"
Application forms may be mailed or faxed to the address on the form
Allow 5 working days for processing
Permits will be mailed out (not faxed or left for collection)
Walking
Wear sturdy shoes and take drinking water when walking.
Accessibility
Gantry picnic area is wheelchair-accessible. The Piccabeen walk is suitable for wheelchairs with assistance.
Getting there
Mount Mee is about 90 minutes’ drive or 60km north-west of Brisbane. From the south, travel through Samford and Dayboro then follow Mount Mee and Sellin Roads to the forest. From the north, turn off the D’Aguilar Highway at D’Aguilar south of Woodford.
Further Information
EPA Customer Service Centre
Ground Floor
160 Ann Street, Brisbane
PO Box 15155 CITY EAST QLD 4002
ph (07) 3227 8185
fax (07) 3227 8749
email "mailto:csc@epa.qld.gov.au"
Open 8.30am-5pm Monday – Friday, except public holidays and Christmas to New Year

Facilities that are available:-

Male & Female Toilets
Wheelchair access toilets
Fireplace
Table and chairs
Water
Lookouts
Walking tracks
Tent sites / camping
Vehicle parking for campers ( 2WD  & 4WD )

Tracks
Falls Lookout From Neurum Creek camping area: 1 kilometre return 20 minutes
Lophostemon walk    750m, 10 minutes

Mills rainforest walk
1·4km, 40 minutes

From Gantry Day Use Area:
Piccabeen walk
1km circuit, 20 minutes

Somerset trail
13km circuit, 3–4 hours
Here is the link to obtain your “ Permit to Traverse “. Permit is free, just tick “ all parks “.

Obtain this asap.  
http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/publications/p01812aa.pdf/Permit_to_traverse_with_a_motorised_vehicle_State_ Forests_Forest_Reserves_and_Timber_Reserves.pdf

cheers  Phill

09-01-2007, 06:22 AM
That weekend works in very well for me and you fluked it and picked a Saturday my wife will be rostered off work as she works every second Saturday so well done. So count me in for the weekend of fun. ;D
Anyone interested in coming and who needs to talk to an EPA representative about permit to traverse questions can call Jacqui Brock on 07 4699 4366 which is their Toowoomba office and where the permits will be mailed from. I also found a website where you can obtain camping permits from. https://www.epa.qld.gov.au/parks/iaparks/gds/IAGDS050.jsp?quickParkId=3

09-01-2007, 06:37 AM
wishing I had a real 4x4...only have the HiLux..wannabe nissan driver..LOL
might make it on the Saturday..my b'day on the sunday so might be home for that one.

Cruiser93
09-01-2007, 02:52 PM
All ready down loaded the " Permission to Traverse "
Penciled in Diary , just have to run it past the "OFFICAL keeper of my spare time"
I'll say I'll be there ............ Mal

27cameron
09-01-2007, 07:32 PM
already have the permits, non camping

so all should be good for this

looking forward to meeting all who attend..

27cameron
09-01-2007, 07:45 PM
ps.

the site allows you to choose 2 camping areas for permits,

where are you going to camp?

09-01-2007, 08:16 PM
ps.

the site allows you to choose 2 camping areas for permits,

where are you going to camp?

The campsite we are using is Archer Camp. Look forward to meeting you.

27cameron
09-01-2007, 08:49 PM
on the website booking campsites, under archer camp it doesnt specify site numbers so i assume you just book it and when you arrive choose 1 you like?

can anyone help with this?

ta all

09-01-2007, 09:40 PM
Cameron, as you book ( pay ) online it will ask you what site number you want. Choose from there. I have booked number 9 ;)

27cameron
09-01-2007, 11:54 PM
cheers phil!

11-01-2007, 09:05 PM
Im up for it but i could be at Fraser for that weekend ( well last week of holidays). If im not at fraser ill be there, let you know soon... ps will we need AT/MT for the harder stuff as im leaving the HT's on for Straddie then Fraser.

12-01-2007, 03:26 PM
HT's for DI, AT's or MT's for MT MEE.

I have AT's that are now ATR's instead of HT's and go better than AT/ MT's at MT MEE. For a RGT at MT MEE, use either AT, MT or ST's.

And the BBQ at the M & G will be RG and you should be RAOGLYAO with LP and TD. No BBQ is RG without VB, GGW or ARGP.

Now that everything is clear........... ::)

see you there

phill

12-01-2007, 03:45 PM
FYI. Below is a map that will show you Archer Camp. Access from the north can be made by 2WD etc.

From the south is definately 4WD.

You can download / print out a copy for your file.

13-01-2007, 08:31 AM
Yep thats pretty clear...... as mud ::) got the important bit VB for BBQ

13-01-2007, 10:22 AM
Finally managed to get the Pajero sorted out with its minor radiator problem so it is all systems go now. Not long back (Phill knows the story) had the cam belt and clutch, water pump all replaced just as preventative maintenance. Mechanics suggest "While radiator is out why not have it rebuilt and totally flushed?" Sure I say thinking to myself "Car has always run cool, always back flushed and replaced hoses myself and never had leaks or anything but what the hey!!!" Get the car back and murphy strikes again. A small annoying little leak that seemed hard to fix. Finally ended up back at the radiator place and discovered a tiny bit of solder had been broken where the overflow pipe meets up with the neck of the radiator under the cap. Fixed and no more leaks. Look out Mt. Mee, here comes Poodroo. ;) ;D

Foolish_Chicken
13-01-2007, 12:14 PM
Hi guys,
I'm unsure of my roster at the moment, but i'd like to join in if not working. I probably won't know until the week before.

Wags

27cameron
13-01-2007, 08:48 PM
done!

we're in archer site 7

looking forward to meeting all!

cameron

13-01-2007, 09:43 PM
I've got site number 6. Will definitely see you there. Did you guys use that link I posted earlier to book? I did and it works great.

13-01-2007, 10:38 PM
I'll read this post properly when I get more time, but I've penciled that weekend in.

Will repost once I've gone back over this...

27cameron
13-01-2007, 11:17 PM
poodroo,

yes i used that like and it worked fine for me!

cheers!

dirtdag
16-01-2007, 04:53 PM
sounds like a bit of fun will make note of the date might even bring the beast up and show the toyota 4wd bycicle owners what a real 4x4 looks like and handles like as well ( HEY FISHIN DAN )
WILL ALSO BE AVAILIBLE TO PULL THE SILLY ONES OUT OF THEIR PREDICAMENTS HA HA HA TOYota owners get a real 4x4 :-X :-/ ;D

16-01-2007, 05:30 PM
Cameron, as you book ( pay ) online it will ask you what site number you want. Choose from there. I have booked number 9 ;)

Glad you told us the number phil, I might book number 45 away from the late night buzz saw I am likely to hear around 1 or 2 in the morning.... Or are they all rumours?? ;D ;D

I'll have a look for a good camper trailer site if there is one??

stevo
16-01-2007, 08:30 PM
Hi just booked campsite 4, does not accept camper trailers online says there all tent sites. Thats ok I'll dig out the tent as have not used it in a while. ::)
Sounds like a good bit of fun as have not been to Mt Mee for a few years. ;D
will be taking whole family as the swim hole looks good on pic but will wait to see what it looks like right now. ;)

Stevo

16-01-2007, 09:15 PM
Yes, sorry about the false lead saying that camper trailers are OK at this site. I have just re-checked and found different.

Have tent will travel. ::)

Brett1907
17-01-2007, 12:46 PM
Hi everyone! Dropped off the edge of the world for a while there.

I thought that bog hole was a bit deep!! :D

Will try to convince the nightwatchman that she and the kids need a weekend away in the bush. And that we need the 'lux to get there. I may even forget to tell her about the 2wd access and come in from the south!Ha

17-01-2007, 10:41 PM
Well im booked, site 8, ill be coming off the back of a couple of weeks at straddie (the week at Fraser looks dodgy its 50/50 at best so with my first hols for a long while so i wasnt going to hang around), . From the online booking link, looks like only a few sites left, ah yeah Phil a set of At's go on as well

19-01-2007, 07:16 AM
Things are looking good for the Mt.Mee weekender. Looking forward to catching up with everyone again. Can't wait. At least Mt.Mee is in the opposite direction of Nimbin. lol :D

19-01-2007, 06:07 PM
Well Andrew, apparently the news is out that we are up that way and the owners of the Hemp Bar are keen to send up their Mobile Shop. OH, yes, Kimbra will be there, so you never know what will happen or where we will end up. :)

I now have in my possession a Hi-Lift Jack.

I will be in contact soon regarding " things " at the camp.

19-01-2007, 06:49 PM
Well Phil from what i saw on the Border ranges trip you come prepared, so Hi-Lift Jack, hmm...:D sounds like you expect to use it.

Bec and I are looking forward to the weekend. Any ideas yet of what we can all bring for food to share the load?, i am pretty keen on one of those campfire rotisseries.. i was thinking maybe that would be the go? anyway let us knoe

19-01-2007, 09:45 PM
Yeah I should be there guys...

Andy - Your just lucky it was your birthday the other day!

20-01-2007, 07:25 PM
Well, for a start people, if anyone can gather some wood. Dressed wood like Quilla or some sort of hardwood will do. NO CYPRUS PINE> ;)

rotisseries....... bit upmarket ??? But, if you are cooking, why not. I was thinking a Jaffle iron, baked beans and eggs ! OH, and VB to wash it down, followed by a soothing Scotch and Dry.......a wee Green Ginger Wine and to top off the night, a rather full bodied but less than " arrogant " Port.

HI'Lift jack can also double as a winch, as has been demonstrated to me.

I am doing up a ' beginners " and " I have insurance " trek for Saturday and Sunday.

More info as it comes to hand, so stay tuned.

Cheers "fearless " Phill

20-01-2007, 08:52 PM
Yep, Bec as well canned the rotisserie idea.. Look forward to rest of the info. Also Phil love to know how the hi-lift jacks can double as a winch as I was looking at one the other day.

"Fearful" mike

(Fearful of the resulting effects of baked beans, eggs, VB, Scotch, Ginger Wine and Port")

21-01-2007, 07:16 PM
Yes, Mike, Sunday morning could be a gas.........;)

OK, does anyone who is coming have a handheld or in-car GPS system ? I believe this will come in handy for a couple of " turn-offs " that I passed last time and did not see.

Further, does anyone have a PTO or Electric Winch on their vehicle ?

I hope to NOT demonstrate how the Hi-Lift gets used as a winch, but if need be !!

More info about to be placed up this week. Stay tuned.

21-01-2007, 07:57 PM
Phil, I have a in car GPS (with topo maps) and your more than welcome to wack it in your car for the weekend if you want ( assume youll be leading again like the Border Ranges trip and will need it more than me for those "turn offs"). cheers Mike

Brett1907
21-01-2007, 09:58 PM
If I can get there I have a couple of GPS units for work, but only one has full maps. I've seen malcolm douglas use a hi lift as a winch before. It is very SLOW. I have a magnum hand winch, as yet unused. They are good, faster than the hi lift but not as quick as an electric. Tough going too, easier with two on the handle.

The missus has booked most weekends up on us so have to see if I can get permission from the nightwatchman. Hoping to.

22-01-2007, 07:04 AM
Bah! Whinch sminch. When you own a Pajero you don't need one. Lol
Hey I noticed that link I posted to book the campsites isn't working at the moment. Seemed to work fine because I booked my site no worries. If anyone else has problems with it they may have to phone EPA up to book?

Cruiser93
22-01-2007, 03:55 PM
Gentelman I may not be camping , was wondering what would be the better day for the trip IE Sat / Sun ....... Mal

22-01-2007, 04:40 PM
Bah! Whinch sminch. When you own a Pajero you don't need one. Lol
Hey I noticed that link I posted to book the campsites isn't working at the moment. Seemed to work fine because I booked my site no worries. If anyone else has problems with it they may have to phone EPA up to book?

That is so true poodroo..when u bog a Pajero, you just walk away and leave it...looks at Sth Aust....must all be Pajeros

22-01-2007, 08:32 PM
Mal.... There will be an interesting adventure happening both days, but the Saturday one will be the one you should aim for. Be at Archer Campground by Midday to tag along.

Poodroo............... OK,, I see. I'll take that reply as a gimme for NOT assisting the Padg up ......YES UP......... A Break. You've done a Petersen.. "Put into print, words that will come back to bite you on the bot bot ". ;) ;)

22-01-2007, 10:31 PM
Phil - I'll be running a laptop with GPS mapping.

Also in regards to camping - If I'm not staying in a tent, but sleeping in the truck, can I share a site? Or do I need a site of my own?

If I do, then maybe Brandon & I can share a site as he's sleeping in his truck also.

23-01-2007, 07:05 AM
Poodroo............... OK,, I see. I'll take that reply as a gimme for NOT assisting the Padg up ......YES UP......... A Break. You've done a Petersen.. "Put into print, words that will come back to bite you on the bot bot ". ;) ;)

LMAO Phill. Let's hope that I don't need retreiving or I will have to like eating humble pie. ;D I can imagine you turning up with these words in print to flash in front of my face should I be stuck. ::)

Cruiser93
23-01-2007, 01:37 PM
Mal.... There will be an interesting adventure happening both days, but the Saturday one will be the one you should aim for. Be at Archer Campground by Midday to tag along.

Saturday it is then , will see you then with bells on ............Mal

23-01-2007, 05:10 PM
I will be erecting a rather large tarp and a couple of tents, so there appears to be room under said tarp, if required.

I might have to do a head count, nah, Andrew ? Can you go back through the posts and get numbers ? You'll have to so something towards this M & G :P :P ;D ::)

23-01-2007, 07:59 PM
Okay as requested Phill here is the list of who will be joining us:-

Definites :-

Phill, Kimbra, and Amber, Julianne & Thomas and Brooke

Poodroo(Andrew), Trudy, Kyle, and Sherray

27 Cameron and Selina

Igutso (Mike) and Bec

Fishing_Dan

thedeckie, Liz and Mitchell

stevo, Sue, Connor, Nick, and Kiah

Cruiser93 (Mal) for Saturday

Maybes:-

Scalem(Brian), Lesley, Kelly, and Jessica (90% sure he will get there)

Pinhead (Greg) maybe on Saturday(Will need birthday cake if he comes)::)

Foolish_Chicken(Wags) Maybe if not working.

dirtdag (maybe)

Brett1907 plus wife and kids(Assuming he doesn't have 10 kids) depending on his work commitments.

Dirtysanchez (Pending approval from his financier)

One thing we probably need to ask those who are coming exactly how many family/friends they are also taking to make the head count more accurate? So far I have 24 definites but that may increase once we find out how many they are taking with them eg: wife, kids, girlfriends etc.

stevo
23-01-2007, 08:20 PM
Stevo here with numbers for my crew. Myself, wife Sue and three kids Connor, Nick and Kiah. May I ask why we need numbers? Should be a good night around the campfire or Lantern if there is no fires. lol

Stevo

23-01-2007, 08:39 PM
G'day Stevo, I guess the best reason I can come up with for knowing numbers is purely from the organizing point of view. Eventually we will need to know how many people plan to be there and where and how they are going to get there eg: The 4wd owners might want to come in from the south and traverse the rough stuff first. It helps to know who we are waiting for at the rendezvous point.
It also helps the organizer have a good idea of just how big the M&G is going to be by knowing numbers and this makes planning activities a little easier like bushwalks, sight-seeing etc. I am sure Lucky_Phill will add to this. :D

23-01-2007, 10:46 PM
You'll see I have added 3 adults and 3 children to your list. ( now 23 )

There is another possible, but won't say anything yet.

Stevo, as Andrew said, purley getting numbers for a head count. Also, as my sly brain works, people see others getting involved and then decide to tag along. Sometimes folk don't want to put their hand up early, but seeing a good size crowd, entices them to come along.

Also the count will tell us about the number of vehicles coming,,as some will only arrive by 2wd and may want to be a " passenger " on a trip to places " scarey ". Or even get behind the wheel of a 4 x 4. :o

There will be more info coming to hand.

stevo
24-01-2007, 01:27 PM
G'day guys was only asking, thanks for replys.
We may run out of sites soon or we can just all breath in and then we can squeeze heaps more in,think there's only two or three sites left. As you have already said you will have a tarp set up if needed.
Looks like you will get a great turn up if we all come along. Plenty of photos to be taken of misshaps or anyone stuck etc. Can't wait,doing a great job guys;) ;D

stevo

24-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Yikes, I've only just read this one, sounds excellent. I'll talk to the financial controller, a lot on that month but geez I would love to come to this and meet all the members !! :)

Russ

24-01-2007, 07:50 PM
Hi Dirtysanchez. Sounds like a typical situation where we all seem to have two bosses. In my situation I have the Boss who giveth and then come home to the Boss who taketh away. ;) I hope your financial controller gives the nod of approval mate and we get to meet you at Mt.Mee. I added you to the list of maybes on page 3.

27cameron
25-01-2007, 10:16 AM
it will be myself (cameron) and my partner (selina) attending

Westie CALOUNDRA
26-01-2007, 09:18 PM
Guys a lot of the main roads/tracks have had the dozer over them >:( Inc
"A Brake", I was there last weekend, but the soft rocky climbs were still a challange at 20psi without lockers but all got through without to much of a problem .
Would love to join you out there but you seem to have more than enough vehicles to have a very exciting run.

JUST REMEMBER your Convoy Proceedures as it is very easy to loose the tail enders with that number of cars.:o

Have Oh did I mention the D U S T with all the loose soft roads
with 3" of D U S T on them. FILL THE WASHER BOTTLES;D

26-01-2007, 10:02 PM
OK i'll commit ::) i'll be flying solo, so i'll need help from a Hi-lux or "god help me" a Pajero ;D

I'll have plenty of room for fire wood in the Navara ;D and a couple (2) spare seats :) for any one else.

Might have to warn out the Park Rangers ::) it's not a wild boar but my snoring ;D ;D ;D

26-01-2007, 10:18 PM
I've got the permit application to drive in Mt Mee ;) Where can I secure a camping site ?

26-01-2007, 11:29 PM
Damo,

Those Pajeros::) I think there was a link posted earlier on camp sites/bookings...but with the likely numbers i sort of think we will end up all sharing campsites , looks like a big turnout, Poodroo I think has that info.. oh yeah i forgot, he has a Pajero as well;D..
mike

27-01-2007, 07:25 AM
Will be great to see you again Damo. Here is the link to secure camping sites again. When you see the part where you select the campsite just make sure you pick "Archer Camp."
Link: https://www.epa.qld.gov.au/parks/iap...?quickParkId=3

27-01-2007, 07:29 AM
Updated list as follows:-

27 Cameron and Selina

Igutso (Mike) and Bec

Fishing_Dan

Cruiser93 (Mal) for Saturday

Black_Rat (Damo)

Scalem(Brian), Lesley, Kelly, and Jessica (90% sure he will get there)

dirtdag (maybe)

Brett1907 plus wife and kids(Assuming he doesn't have 10 kids) depending on his work commitments.

27-01-2007, 07:35 AM
"A Brake", I was there last weekend, but the soft rocky climbs were still a challange at 20psi without lockers but all got through without to much of a problem .
Would love to join you out there but you seem to have more than enough vehicles to have a very exciting run.

JUST REMEMBER your Convoy Proceedures as it is very easy to loose the tail enders with that number of cars.:o

Have Oh did I mention the D U S T with all the loose soft roads
with 3" of D U S T on them. FILL THE WASHER BOTTLES;D

We may have to chain Phill's Navara to a tractor or something so the rest of us will be able to keep up with him. :-X ::) The reason they smoothed the tracks over I think is from the last storms that ripped through there the day before we went to Mt.Mee for the trial run. So much rain fell that the tracks had large washouts which made one particular part of a track very hard to negotiate. Glad that Phill's camera wasn't rolling on my first two attempts at it. :P

27-01-2007, 10:34 AM

JUST REMEMBER your Convoy Proceedures as it is very easy to loose the tail enders with that number of cars.

Soft roads :( Convoy Proceedures ::) :-/ Lockers :-[

Thanks for the heads up Westie.

Westie CALOUNDRA
27-01-2007, 02:37 PM
Guys just go and enjoy the day of wheeling and if it gets to the stage of getting to hard just remember, it makes good talk around the dinner table that night.

TRIP LEADERS NEVER GET LOST They are just exploring;D

thedeckie
01-02-2007, 07:36 PM
Is there a garage that supplies fuel at Archer Camp or a tanker available to keep the fuel up to me??

Some on this thread will know what Im talking about!!!!!

No!! nothing has changed

01-02-2007, 07:58 PM
Is there a garage that supplies fuel at Archer Camp or a tanker available to keep the fuel up to me??

Some on this thread will know what Im talking about!!!!!

No!! nothing has changed

Lol. Most of us would own at least one 20 litre fuel container. I own two. If you like we can all fill them up with fuel and take them with your interests at heart. ::) Premium or standard unleaded Paul? ;D

02-02-2007, 07:52 AM
As long as you make it through to Sunday you'll be right Paul as Phils hitting the baked beans Sat night.

thedeckie
02-02-2007, 08:39 AM
I dont think my car would run on Phill's baked bean gas!! ;D

02-02-2007, 02:08 PM
I dont think my car would run on Phill's baked bean gas!! ;D

LPG Gas conversions would be considerably easier I think. Just where would you mount Phill's.... Um... errrr..... never mind :-X ;D

02-02-2007, 05:27 PM
I've booked and paid for a campsite (no.5 I think) for 3, still flying solo at this stage and faxed off the permit to traverse today :)

Is there anywhere where one can purchase a map of the area we will be travelling through ? National Parks ?

EDIT:How many Klms are we likely to cover on the weekend ? Should we fuel up before heading up at Beerburrum :-/

02-02-2007, 06:33 PM
I've booked and paid for a campsite (no.5 I think) for 3, still flying solo at this stage and faxed off the permit to traverse today :)

Is there anywhere where one can purchase a map of the area we will be travelling through ? National Parks ?

EDIT:How many Klms are we likely to cover on the weekend ? Should we fuel up before heading up at Beerburrum :-/

I always like the peace of mind of having a full or near full tank to start off with just in case. Now to answer your question as best as possible according to the Dirty Weekends book if you use Dayboro as a starting point the total distance is 80klms and 53 klms of that is unsealed roads. Hope that helps.

thedeckie
02-02-2007, 07:01 PM
If you're like me Black Rat and drive a V6 petrol auto you will need to fuel up often.............very often!!!:(

Topped up Sunday,about 66L,tank holds 80L,have just under half a tank left and according to the trip meter I have done 271.6kms:-[

Iam on first name basis with the bowser at the local BP!!!!;D

Gotta love those fleet cards!!

02-02-2007, 07:38 PM
Bloody stinking V6 petrols ;D

80 klms hey ! That will set me back $12 in the diesel ::) ;D ;D ;D and that's in 4WD :P

If anyone has any firewood laying around, I can cart it up. :) I have a heavy right foot and need some weight in the back ;D

02-02-2007, 07:57 PM
80 klms hey ! That will set me back $12 in the diesel ::) ;D ;D ;D and that's in 4WD :P

If anyone has any firewood laying around, I can cart it up. :) I have a heavy right foot and need some weight in the back ;D

Well times 80klms x 2 because it is a weekend trip and no doubt we will be doing a bit of exploring. As for weighing the car down because of the heavy right foot I think you and Phill suffer the same disease. :-X Heavyacceleratorfootus disease.

02-02-2007, 08:10 PM
Poodroo, heres a possible solution to Pauls problemfile:///Users/mviner/Desktop/phil_cartoon_web01.jpg;D.. just had to knock it up

02-02-2007, 08:22 PM
Well times 80klms x 2 because it is a weekend trip and no doubt we will be doing a bit of exploring. As for weighing the car down because of the heavy right foot I think you and Phill suffer the same disease. :-X Heavyacceleratorfootus disease.

It must be a Nissan thing ::) no fear ! ;D ;D ;D

02-02-2007, 08:24 PM
Poodroo, heres a possible solution to Pauls problemfile:///Users/mviner/Desktop/phil_cartoon_web01.jpg;D.. just had to knock it up

RALMFAO !!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

thedeckie
02-02-2007, 08:42 PM
Mike,
can ya save me the original of that drawing or a copy,I will frame it for the bar!!!!!

What a great pic.

02-02-2007, 08:53 PM
thanks paul, no worries, i probably work it up a bit in colour and send it to you, look forward to seeing you at Archers Creek mate, ill bring some beans ;D

thedeckie
02-02-2007, 09:33 PM
You bring the beans & I'll bring the beer & wine!!!;D and maybe a little shot of port before bed :o

Looking forward to it.

02-02-2007, 09:53 PM
port;D and Phils talking green ginger wine... hey Paul you know you will be giving a running commentary on that fuel gauge::) cant see Poodroo letting you off on that one..

03-02-2007, 02:50 AM
Mike that is a classic little cartoon. Fantastic! LMAO

03-02-2007, 10:14 AM
Yeah yeah yeah !!!

my ***** isn't that hairy Mike..........or is it ?

not long now.

27cameron
03-02-2007, 08:21 PM
hi all

what are the facilities like at archer camp

1. toilets
2. showers
3. cooking

thanks all, sounds like it going to be a good weekend !

Brett1907
05-02-2007, 08:36 AM
Sounds like its going to be a great weekend. I'm looking good for the saturday at least. The family won't be coming as the missus is planning her mothers 50th and will be busy.

Talking of fuel, take some jerry cans. If exploring around that area you are bound to use extra right foot (It must be my steel caps) and therefore lots more fuel.

thedeckie
05-02-2007, 11:45 AM
IMPORTANT NOTICE!!

FOR THOSE THAT ARE INTENDING TO PARTICIPATE IN THIS M&G, I FAXED OFF MY PERMIT TO TRAVERSE TODAY AND HAD A CALL BACK FROM QPWS WITHIN IN 15 MINUTES REGARDING PERMITS.

THIS IS THE STORY:

IF YOU HAVE ALREADY SENT YOUR APPLICATION TO TRAVERSE AND RECEIVED THE PERMIT THIS WILL NOT CONCERN YOU.

IF YOU HAVE SENT YOUR APPLICATION IN THE LAST FEW DAYS YOU WILL PROBABLY NOT RECEIVE A PERMIT AS THE PERSON FROM QPWS THAT PROCESS THESE APPLICATIONS IS ON LEAVE AND NO PERMITS WILL BE ISSUED.

WHAT YOU NEED TO DO:

STILL SEND YOUR APPLICATION OFF TO QPWS BUT KEEP A COPY OF IT IN YOUR GLOVEBOX.

YOU WILL NEED TO WRITE THE FOLLOWING ON IT:

IAN BRYANT
07 4699 4359

THIS GUY WILL BE THE CONTACT SHOULD YOU BE REQUESTED TO SHOW YOUR PERMIT TO A FORESTRY OFFICER AND THE ABOVE STORY CAN BE EXPLAINED.

On another note,he also told me that those forests/parks that are mentioned on the Permit to Traverse form will soon require no permit at all,he said they are just going to erect signs with the do's and dont's.

Any questions should be directed to Ian Bryant on the above number.

Cruiser93
05-02-2007, 01:01 PM
Had Same Message Today also just to confirm above is correct word for word..... Mal
Numbers for myself will be 5 : Myself , wife & 3 ankle biters

05-02-2007, 06:13 PM
Updated list as follows as of 5/2/2007 :-

27 Cameron and Selina

Igutso (Mike) and Bec

Fishing_Dan

Black_Rat (Damo)

Brett1907 (for Saturday only)

Cruiser93 (Mal, wife, and 3 kids)

dirtdag (maybe)

Brandon H (Maybe )

05-02-2007, 06:52 PM
hi all

what are the facilities like at archer camp

1. toilets
2. showers
3. cooking

thanks all, sounds like it going to be a good weekend !

I know there is a toilet block there but should you wish to take a shower it is pretty much a BYO sort of affair. As for cooking facilities I also think a portable gas BBQ would be the go. I will be taking a portable cooker.

BrandonH
05-02-2007, 07:08 PM
I may be able to come along, not going to know till closer to the date:(. Have permit already so am keen!!! just need to wait and see what the other half is doing (B'day on the monday after:().

Brandon...

05-02-2007, 07:15 PM
Looks like its going to be a good turnout, gas.. ummm erggh ,,, i wont go there

mike

05-02-2007, 07:23 PM
I bought the dvd of Russell Coight on the weekend...sorry guys but I just could not stop thinking of Phill and Andrew as I watched it.

06-02-2007, 06:12 AM
I bought the dvd of Russell Coight on the weekend...sorry guys but I just could not stop thinking of Phill and Andrew as I watched it.

That's because Russell Coight is such a likeable fellow right Greg? ::)

06-02-2007, 08:06 PM
Also had a call with regards to the permits yesterday, if pulled up metioned the guys name and keep the number for him handy. :)

10-02-2007, 04:47 PM
Well guys, Im off this Sunday for a couple of weeks at Straddie R & R so ill catch up with you guys at Mt Mee...ill be doing the usual,, drinking,, 4WD, fishing etc...never tried the Pin so thats on the list

If there any embarrassing tales to report Ill post when i get back.

10-02-2007, 04:53 PM
Have a great time Mike. I wish I could join you. Will see you at Mt.Mee.

10-02-2007, 05:38 PM
Yep its going to tough, first decent break ive had for years. some relatives will lob over as well... when they are playing monopoly, ill be fishing..right now the patrols loaded with 2 eskies and my rods...then there's Becs stuff ::) nuff said ( theres a cartoon in there somewhere)

14-02-2007, 06:59 PM
UPDATE:-

The roads at the Archer camp end of the forest drive have been graded and are in good condition. A break is no problems in a Nissan.

further up date on directions to get to camp grounds.
Directions to get to Archer Camp Ground.

Travelling north on the Bruce Highway, cross over the Caboolture River and turn left. ( sign will say Woodford, Kilcoy )
Head towards Caboolture.
Follow signs to Woodford
Travelling through Woodford, take a left turn at Neurum Rd ( signed )
Reset tripmeter.
You will pass Woodford Correctional center on the right.
At 9.1 kilometers , turn left at Stanton Rd.
At 11.7 kilometers turn right into Rassmussen Rd
At 17.3 kilometers, turn right into Archer Camping Grounds
Find your camp site ( numbered ), and look for Ausfish Banner.

18-02-2007, 06:57 PM
Are we going to wait for the Toyo's after they leave the Highway ? ;D :P ;D ;D

18-02-2007, 07:49 PM
Lol Damo. I never give toyo drivers a hard time. I figure owning a toyo is punishment enough. :-X ;D Look forward to seeing all there. I will be heading up reasonably early on the Saturday morning. If anyone wants to meet up with me then either PM me or phone me on 0412 729 231. Phill is going to meet us there I believe because he will be coming from the coast.

18-02-2007, 09:07 PM
If anyone wants to know another way there from the south, let me know. There is a way into there that brings you out about the Ranger Station, and from there it;s not that far to Archer Camp. No ruff stuff if you don't want to go over it, there are alternate roads/ tracks.

Just to let you all know, if it is possible, bring along some firewood. some type of hard wood is best. We'll gather round a single area at night. If everyone brings along a little bit( say a milk crate full ) that'll be heaps for the night.

Andrew has promised to do some " Bush Poetry " ? didn't you ?

Paul is going to reveal his ' mudcrab ' secrets.... aren't you ?

Kimbra will do a night tour in search of " Tinkerbells '.

and phill will be extolling the virtues of ' mixing ones drinks ". ? !!

more info posted in the next couple of days. stay tuned , ferets. !!!!

( get the snatch strap ) Phill... <>< <>< <>< <>< <><

21-02-2007, 08:02 PM
I've had a look at the campsites booked tonight online and currently we're the only ones there with sites 4 - 9.

From what I have read elswhere the sites are of a good size ?

If anyone believes they have booked sites 1,2 or 3 it might pay to check :-/

21-02-2007, 11:41 PM
Officially my clan can't go, we have tripple booked! I will miss all the fun, but enjoy guys!:'( :'(

22-02-2007, 10:11 PM
Yes, Damo, the sites are large, and seeing as we are all together, it doesn't really matter where ya park ya tent. sort of ! ya can't park it under my tarp. !!!!

I have my bundle of wood, some nice 3 x 2 hard wood cut to size.

I'll post some more info during the coming week or on this weekend,.

Cheers phill

stevo
23-02-2007, 08:08 PM
Sorry guys we have to pull out of this trip aswell due to double booked.
Have already paid for campsite 4, so it's a spare spot for you guys to use, have fun guys.:D ::) ;) :2thumbsup: :jester:

stevo

24-02-2007, 01:45 AM
Is there any fishing in the freshwater hole ? :-/

Sorry, I can't help myself ;D

I'll sneek a rod in just in case !

24-02-2007, 05:26 PM
Sorry to hear that you aren't coming Stevo. Hopefully next time. Damo I am going to back some fishing gear but not to fish in the water hole however. My plan is to leave Sunday around midday and pop over to Bribie. ;)

25-02-2007, 08:21 PM
There is a meet on at Landcruiser Park just an hour up the road that weekend.

One of the Ausfish family is racing in the " extreme " section. He has an awesome scout. Apparently the thing can wheelstand.

If you're bringing a rod, dig up some garden worms for bait.

27-02-2007, 06:53 AM
Okay everyone, here is my plan for what I am going to do with regards to the Mt.Mee M&G this weekend. I am going to leave my place at Mt.Warren park at no later than 8am with the plan to be at Mt. Mee anywhere around the 10am mark. I want to personally get there in order to set up camp as early in the morning as possible so that I can free the afternoon for some sight seeing/4wd'ing etc. Now for anyone who wants to convoy with me to go there please let me know and I will organize a meeting point so we can go together. Just send me a PM to give me an idea of who will meet up. So far I have Cruiser93 and Igutso.

0412 729 231

27cameron
27-02-2007, 07:58 PM
regretably we can't make this weekend ! :(

we're building a new home which has limited time, plus i'm now required to train new staff at work !

a real shame as we were looking forward to putting faces to the names etc..

i have booked and paid for site number 7, so it's now yours to use!

all the best hope a great w/end is had by all :)

cheers guys,

cameron

Brett1907
28-02-2007, 08:28 AM
I am 99.9999999999% a goer for Saturday at least, and now a possibile overnighter as well. Also may have a mate in a patrol coming along too. I won't be able to get upe as early as you Poodroo, so the 'lux may be a bit late again. I WILL get there before the day is over though.

Are you planing on doing the Dirty Weekends trip backwards from the camp to head towards A Break? I have a PDA/GPS with mapping software so should be able to fing you with just a couple of GPS points if you leave before I get there. Can we all decide upon a UHF channel for the trip so those of us who may be ariving a little later can contact those of you who have started off without us (how rude!!). That way I can get the points off someone who has a GPS too.

Am really looking forward to this.

28-02-2007, 02:27 PM
We normally use UHF21 Brett. Look forward to seeing you there. I think we will be doing things backwards to A-Brake as well. See you when you get there.

Now so far I have three who will be joining me in the convoy. So far I have Black_Rat, Igutso, and Cruiser93. I am going to make the first meeting point the same place as the trial Mt.Mee M&G which is the Caltex Servo (Popular stop) Cnr. Beams Road and Gympie Road Carseldine. Will be leaving there by 9am sharp for anyone else who wants to join the convoy. My Pajero to look out for is pretty distinctive being blue and silver with Ausfish stickers on the rear windows so I should be easy to find in the carpark.

28-02-2007, 05:33 PM
The Caltex servo it is ! A cup of chicken chippies and an ice break at the servo and I'll be ready to roll ;D see you at 9am sharp !

I don't have a UHF in the 4B but I'll burrow one of those hand held ones from the future brother-in-law and some of that hardwood in their backyard ;) . That's the cost of marring my sister ::) ;D

( jeez damo, I hope you mean marrying in the sentence above ! )

28-02-2007, 06:38 PM
Lol Damo. Those handhelds work just fine. I have two of them and that's what I have been using when doing my annual Fraser trips. Mine have a 3klm range which is okay and the guys from our last 4x4 M&G said I was coming in clear. Looking forward to catching up Saturday.

28-02-2007, 07:21 PM
Lol Damo. Those handhelds work just fine. I have two of them and that's what I have been using when doing my annual Fraser trips. Mine have a 3klm range which is okay and the guys from our last 4x4 M&G said I was coming in clear. Looking forward to catching up Saturday.

I bought a set of hand held UHFs last year from an auto store for $80.

They were the more expensive of the "cheepie" hand helds so I thought it was money well worth spent. ::)

Charged them both up overnight and gave them a go the next day. Only to find that they were $hite when receiving even when driving on the highway and on the truckies channels. A few days later I was over at the previously mentioned future brother-in-laws place (....opppss.... my sister and her fiance'es place) to do some testing and there was no clarity between units at all even at 50m. >:(

I took them back and got a refund but I guess should have walked away originally when they had to walk out to the back of the shore to grab the units, chargers and booklets after picking up the only empty box off the shelf :-X >:(

28-02-2007, 07:42 PM
I bought a set of hand held UHFs last year from an auto store for $80.

They were the more expensive of the "cheepie" hand helds so I thought it was money well worth spent. ::)

Charged them both up overnight and gave them a go the next day. Only to find that they were $hite when receiving even when driving on the highway and on the truckies channels. A few days later I was over at the previously mentioned future brother-in-laws place (....opppss.... my sister and her fiance'es place) to do some testing and there was no clarity between units at all even at 50m. >:(

I took them back and got a refund but I guess should have walked away originally when they had to walk out to the back of the shore to grab the units, chargers and booklets after picking up the only empty box off the shelf :-X >:(

Mine are Oricom brand and were on advertised special at The Warehouse a couple of years ago. Got two for $49.95 and they work a treat. Can never tell how they are going to perform until you try them eh? Always keep the receipts. ;)

28-02-2007, 07:45 PM
Brett, The schedule for Saturday will go something like this:-

get to archer camp by 10ish, set up camps, have drinkies and lunch. About midday set out for A break, but we are going include some sight seeing on the way down and back. I think the afternoons trek will take about 4 hours. Maybe longer now that there is rain forecast for the next few days and into the weekend.

I will put up a better schedule in the next day or so. Might even include GPS marks.

Phill;

28-02-2007, 08:21 PM
Sounds good, well be heading up there with Poodroo, is there a final list of whos going along? looking forward to it... if theres rain, hopefully it will wash away the sand i got from Straddie... oh ps,, got back from Straddie and Bec and I got engaged, havent done a fishing report yet except to say dart, flatties and whiting. but caught the biggest fish getting engaged, and yep Bec got into fishing and caught a flattie on plastics in the surf, a few nice big darts and got used to an Alvey...

with the driving just a thought, what do you guys think about getting your partners to drive some bits of the tracks etc? just a thought.. could be a lot of fun

28-02-2007, 08:51 PM
Sounds good, well be heading up there with Poodroo, is there a final list of whos going along? looking forward to it... if theres rain, hopefully it will wash away the sand i got from Straddie... oh ps,, got back from Straddie and Bec and I got engaged, havent done a fishing report yet except to say dart, flatties and whiting. but caught the biggest fish getting engaged, and yep Bec got into fishing and caught a flattie on plastics in the surf, a few nice big darts and got used to an Alvey...

with the driving just a thought, what do you guys think about getting your partners to drive some bits of the tracks etc? just a thought.. could be a lot of fun

Congratulations Mike ;D

Heading down for a fish $10, catching a big fish while getting engaged $25, & getting Bec into fishing before/after she said YES priceless ! :2thumbsup:

28-02-2007, 09:11 PM
Thanks mate,

sort of lucked out there, was at Straddie for a couple of weeks, fished mainly Flinders as Main was a bit too rough with bec and my old man (75) still caught heaps of fish, Flinders fished well last couple of weeks, best thing was Bec ended up going to a big surf rod no problems, only thing i have to do now is to get her to do her own knots/rigs etc.

I sort of figure she thought she better like fishing otherwise could be a lonely holiday. Funniest thing was first day we went out she caught a flattie on SP's on the surf 2nd cast, she was hooked after that.... suited me

28-02-2007, 09:24 PM
Was it a Valentines Day proposal ?

congratulations to both of you.

YES, the ladies are expected to traverse A break, from behind the wheel. Although I will take into consideration the road conditions after rain.

OH, Mike did you pack the baked beans ???

28-02-2007, 09:30 PM
The Caltex servo it is ! A cup of chicken chippies and an ice break at the servo and I'll be ready to roll ;D see you at 9am sharp !

I don't have a UHF in the 4B but I'll burrow one of those hand held ones from the future brother-in-law and some of that hardwood in their backyard ;) . That's the cost of marring my sister ::) ;D

( jeez damo, I hope you mean marrying in the sentence above ! )

LMAO yes I do ;D hey that's my sister your talking about :stunned: ;D ;D

28-02-2007, 09:44 PM
Hi All,

Many thanks for the congratulations, Ill fess up, yep it was a Valentines proposal, actually only clear day i had between rellie's, but i will admit to having it planned,..never thought i had it in me.... funniest thing was half an hour before i popped the question bec asked if i was alright as i had apparently a really serious expression on my face.... as for baked beans... Bec reckons Boston Baked Beans are the go... large can.. guaranteed

mike

Brett1907
28-02-2007, 10:18 PM
Congratulations Mike. Good to hear she said yes.

Hope you guys have good insurance letting the missus get behind the wheel. LOL
(only joking)

Hope we do get a little rain in the lead up, but praying for clear skies All day Saturday & Sunday.

Geez, what a weekend for it. Comp at Landcruiser Park & 1st round of the V8 Supercars. Oh well, meeting new people, 4WDing, and of coarse a shandy or three will have to do! Anyone else out there partial to a red? (wine, not red head) Although I do like the latter too! LOL

My mate won't be coming in the patrol, something about being unable to keep up with the 'lux!!! My brother-in-law might come if he isn't working, I'll know toorrow.

28-02-2007, 10:38 PM
Brett,
thanks mate,, a red never goes astray and bugga didnt realise the V8's were on... but reckon ill see the replay on Foxtel at some point....whats the comp at Landcruiser Park?
look forward to meeting you guys.. ps Bec is insured for whatever thats worth (lol)

28-02-2007, 10:52 PM
.......My mate won't be coming in the patrol, something about being unable to keep up with the 'lux!!! My brother-in-law might come if he isn't working, I'll know toorrow.

What ! Nissan can't keep up with picking up the parts of the Lux ? ;D

Lockers are banned on this trip ! ::)

See ya Saturday night ;D

01-03-2007, 06:00 AM
Even though I said my congratulations by phone I will say it here also. Congratulations Mike and Bec!!!!!
Just a thought also about bringing people along. I have noticed that a couple of people who have paid for campsites have had to pull out. Now these would be okay for others to use however I think that they will somehow need to have proof on them that the site was paid for ( I printed out the receipt for my site) just in case the ranger stops in to check us out. I will have my permit to traverse in the car with my camping permit receipts. My daughter asked if her little best could come along too and I have to admit I did think about saying yes but then remembered that my camping application was for 2 adults and 2 kids so I had to say no. So basically what I am saying is whoever comes along should be accounted for on the paperwork so that should the rangers check us out we won't have any issues. ;)

01-03-2007, 11:15 AM
Hey guys, hope you have a great trip but go easy on poor old Cruiser93 (Mal) The big sook has just had two weeks off work because he pulled a heart muscle..or was it an eye problem so he couldnt see himself coming to work....oh thats right it was a "dartboard" related incident....I will let him fill you in but please please go easy on him because he's soft;) And Mal you didnt think I would miss the opportunity to have a dig at you did you? Have a good one mate and Ill catch you when I come back from hols.......if you feel up to coming back to work of course.

Cheers and Beers
Scott;D

Brett1907
01-03-2007, 12:44 PM
Thats a good point Poodroo. I have my permit to traverse in the glove box from the last trip there. If I do bring an extra body I'll make sure to add them tomorrow so the paper work is in order.

01-03-2007, 05:10 PM
Getting close now.

Ok, a quick re-visit.

I'll try to aim to get there by 10ish. My camp ( 9 ) is at the far end of the area. There is a big log....ya won't miss it. This site is also closest to the swimming hole.

Hope to erect tents/ tarps etc and have a cold drink and lunch. Set off south towards A break about midday. There are some places I would like to visit on the way down, but if that doesn't work ( as some are not well sign posted ) we will get to see them on the way back. There is one spot " Diana's bath " in the dirty weekends, that has a spectacular lookout. looks over to Wivenhoe dam etc.

We should be gone for about 4 hours I reckon, maybe longer, depending on road conditions and bravery !!!

I have a big 4 burner plate BBQ that can be utilized for dinner. We will set up the campfire.. somewhere. we'll know when we get there. Don't forget to bring torches.......for the little ones. A night time wander could be on the cards.

there are large Goannas there, so keep ya eggs etc tucked away in a secure place. Sunday morning is up and at it. BIG BBQ breakie and we can decide on what's doing. Maybe another trip to places scarey, and there is always a rainforest walk.

A good mate of mine ( and Andrews ) is racing his very extreme 4WD at landcruiser Park over Sat and Sun. It is about an hour up the road. Just a thought to see what REAL 4WD's can do.

If someone wants to bring along a rod, I suggest light line, a float and small hook with garden worm attached.

GPS's are going to be handy as well as the UHF. Make sure your batteries are charged if that is the type you use. Also the firewood, I have some, but more will be needed.

I will not be meeting you guys at the servo. I am going via a different route. That'll be interesting. If I am not there by say...........Monday, start panicking !

01-03-2007, 05:30 PM
Sounds good Phil, we are looking forward to it, also did you get your car sorted out?

01-03-2007, 07:12 PM
Well after serious consideration I may not bring the fishing gear on this trip. My original plan was to see if I could fit Bribie Island in on Sunday and maybe have a fish there but common sense tells me there won't be enough time for it after all the exploring. Ah well, plenty of other fishing opportunities will come up I'm sure. See you all Saturday.

01-03-2007, 07:23 PM
Yes Mike, the Nissan is GO !

details in the " diesel issues : thread in this forum.

Brett1907
02-03-2007, 01:32 PM
Hi guys, I'm a 100% definate for Saturday & Sunday. Just me this time as the nightwatchman is organising her mothers 50th birthday party for next week.
As is their fashion, it will be BIG.

Anyway, tried to pay some camping fees and of coarse there are no longer any available sites on the website. Nothing available means you can't pay. All I will have is the 'lux and a swag to sleep in (along with stuff that can stay in the 'lux). Oh yeh, and the red!! Basically, I'm hoping someone will let me roll out the swag in their camping area. Naturally there will be a beer or red offered in appreciation of their generosity. If the rangers come I will just tell them the truth and see what they say. Surely they wouldn't be too harsh.

See you all tomorrow. I'll try to get there before you go exploring, but if not I'll start backwards on the trek and call you on UHF21.

BrandonH
02-03-2007, 01:50 PM
Guys unfortuantly i'm not going to be comming to this one...

First thing is with all this wet weather around Mt Mee of late I am not keen to do this trip as a newbie bush basher (with a nice and ding free truck!!!!! as well as no money to fix it if I break it:-[ ). The main reasion i was keen to go in the first place was because of the amount of others being there to help if needed and give advise on situations and ways to manover through the bush tracks.

I was quite ok with the idea of doing this in dry conditions, but I think the tracks will be scoured out and quite slippery with the rain we have had the past week:-/

Secondly the weather tomorrow morning is looking way too good to pass up a trip out the front;) I haven't had a go at these Macs yet and realy want to give Phil's slugs a go on them;D
(you have to make use of good weather when you have a small boat!!).

I hope all that are going have a fun and safe trip!! Enjoy and hopefully next time I will be able to tag along:) will be looking forward to all the photos when you return!!!!!

Brandon...

02-03-2007, 03:16 PM
Brett,

It shouldn't be a problem as I believe there are two sites spare and the camp fees have been paid for. I have paid for 3 adults for campsite 5 and it's only myself so there won't be any dramas ;)

Still at work so catch up later the IT people may be watching me ;D

02-03-2007, 05:26 PM
Brett, write down this number:-

Now type it into your computer in your publisher program. print out a tag with this number on it. Hang the tag from your swag. all is good.

02-03-2007, 05:29 PM
brandon, the tracks will be OK, it's only the ' short cut ' tracks that will have issues.. No one will traverese these if we are unsure. There will be, well, I suppose everyone will want to stay. non-dinged .

Especially thedeckie in his new STX.

If you get the bug, turn up via Woodford on Sunday morning for breakie. bring some spottie mack fillets !!!!

02-03-2007, 05:43 PM
All looks set people.

Bugga me if I wasn't followed by a Paj, this arvo ::)

Looks like between Poodroo, thedeckie and myself, the firewood situation is under control, but by all means if you have some we'll burn it. ;D

I am not too worried about the forecast, and as I stated above, it's only the shortcut tracks that could be washed out and become a problem for those that do not want to scratch their baby.

I'll have my UHF on 21 from the time we depart Brisvegas and be travelling with thedeckie and crew.

or you could try me on 0419 020 697. Not that you'd want to talk to me anyway, well, maybe if you get bored !!!!!!

Andrew, I heard that Kyle wants to be in a real 4WD, one that CAN do Donuts !!!! ;D :P

Cu's there about 10ish..................sort of !

Cheers Team Nissan <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <>< <><

02-03-2007, 07:14 PM
Phill it was more like Kyle saying "Dad, there seems to always be a Nissan like Phill's to slow us down" and after a glance I realized it was you in front of me.::)
Well the car is all packed except for the esky which will be the last thing to be packed and go in in the morning. Cruiser93(Mal) called and is going to meet me at my place and we'll convoy to the first stop to meet up with Igutso (Mike) and Black_Rat (Damo) and be back on the road by 9am. Worked that GPS out yet Mike? Sure hope so. :P This is going to be good fun! 8-)

02-03-2007, 07:55 PM
Will see you all tommorow :)

Hopefully the Navara isn't a magnet for trees ;D

Looking forward to some challenges ;)

02-03-2007, 09:47 PM
well see you all tommorrow,

mike

03-03-2007, 04:55 AM
sighs..I was going to head to the camping ground for brekkie on Sunday but no..she who arranges the social activities has decreed that she wants to go to the home show. Now wait for it...if this is a replica of last years efforts I am in deep trouble. We went to just get a remote garage door set up...after leaving we had arranged for a new kitchen..all new stainless appliances in said kitchen..new pergola..new carpet...new drapes etc etc etc and still no bloody remote opener...I could have bought a 6m boat package with what I spent there....damn...I am feeling sick just thinking about it....so have a good weekend all.

03-03-2007, 05:36 AM
sighs..I was going to head to the camping ground for brekkie on Sunday but no..she who arranges the social activities has decreed that she wants to go to the home show. Now wait for it...if this is a replica of last years efforts I am in deep trouble. We went to just get a remote garage door set up...after leaving we had arranged for a new kitchen..all new stainless appliances in said kitchen..new pergola..new carpet...new drapes etc etc etc and still no bloody remote opener...I could have bought a 6m boat package with what I spent there....damn...I am feeling sick just thinking about it....so have a good weekend all.

Well bugger Greg. Was looking forward to seeing you there but never mind. Next time perhaps. I have a solution for you though. If from now on you were to organize all the M&G's then your Social activity organizer can't stop you from attending seeing as you are the organizer. :P Will see you at the RBW for sure. She can't get you out of that one seeing as it is at your place. ;)

03-03-2007, 06:27 AM
Ute has been packed, off to the future brotherin-laws (..errr... my siters) to do some one way swapping ;D

caloundra
03-03-2007, 09:31 AM
anyone heading down sunday?

whynott
04-03-2007, 05:41 AM
Looking forward to the trip report and pics!!!!!!!!!:D :D

04-03-2007, 07:31 PM
A lot of fun, laughs and beers had with a great bunch of people, too tired to make a long post, so I'll leave it up to someone with a few photos as I didn't take a camera. :sleeping: