View Full Version : I see colour. It's Red.....
Fixation
06-12-2005, 09:15 AM
We decided to go on a research mission off the sunny coast on Saturday arvo. Winds where predicted to drop off to 10/15 in the arvo so the deckie and I decided to brave it and see what it was like out there.
We left the ramp about 2:30 pm and headed out to area X. We found a couple of great shows on the sounder so we anchored up and cracked out the bait. First 3 drops for me resulted in 3 reds about 45 cm long (bummer). Then the deckie locks onto something with a little more size he called for the net so it must have been reasonable. It turned out to be a nice red. Sorry didn’t weight it so don’t know the weight and I don’t like estimating either. #The next 2 hours saw nice maori’s, snapper and heaps more undersize reds and a whole heap of unstoppables. Using floaters and dropper rigs with pillies and squid. Couldn’t get livies. Sorry I didn’t take too many photos. Was a great afternoon out there and I was just glad to be out on the water.
Fixation
06-12-2005, 09:16 AM
Deckies red
kitty_cat
06-12-2005, 09:56 AM
sweet catch
nrth or sth of moololaba
reds for xmas :) well done
Fixation
06-12-2005, 01:29 PM
Kitty_Cat:- Yeah we were north of moololaba. They were great conditions out there. Good to see bom got it wrong again.
Jay_S
06-12-2005, 02:39 PM
Great work mate :o ;D
They are very nice fish you caught ;D
Like Kitty_cat said, Reds for x_mas ;D :)
Jay
Jacksta
06-12-2005, 03:02 PM
So fixation.. wheres this spot X of yours ay ? :P Great fish, how big did the Maori's go ?
Fixation
06-12-2005, 03:38 PM
Wish I could tell you :-X
620sf
06-12-2005, 04:45 PM
Nice fish mate, don't tell anyone what boat your in or else everyone will be following you next trip.
Luke
Fixation
06-12-2005, 05:21 PM
The maori's weren't anything to write home about but it was good to get a mixed bag. The spot mustn't have been fished much i reckon.
Yeah we were fishing in one of james bonds boats that turns invisible at the flick of a button. ;D
markpeta
06-12-2005, 05:46 PM
Wish I could tell you #:-X
Your only new to the site we share everything here> ;D ;D
baldyhead
06-12-2005, 06:23 PM
nice fish M8 good on yuh
Great stuff Mate
What water depth did you fish in.
Thanks Stephen
SeaSaw
06-12-2005, 10:27 PM
Nice to see a few legal reds amoungst the rats ... well done [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] Hold on to that spot, finding maori's in numbers often means it hasn't been fished a lot. ;)
When you remove a pectoral fin you don't leave much behind :o :o ;D lol
outsiderskip
07-12-2005, 06:09 AM
nice cat of fish there
nice quality red and a good feed
cheers pete
Fixation
07-12-2005, 08:58 AM
Thanks for the replys guys.
The Animal:- The depth was about 120ft. I don't think you'd catch em in any numbers in shallower water than that.
SeaSaw:- We use some of those chicken scissors like they use in the deli at the supermarket to cut chooks up so the fin comes off with ease. Doesn’t make for a good photo though. Usually take photos straight away after capture. Have to do the right thing these days though with the fins.
Billo
07-12-2005, 09:34 AM
Thats the colour we like to see .....good work
TheSlyDeckie
07-12-2005, 09:58 AM
The red put up a pretty good fight. Was lucky to get it up.
Amazing what happens when you make a little change. Was using a dropper rig and getting nothing then changed to a running sinker then did really well.
Fixation
07-12-2005, 10:03 AM
Oh the slydeckie makes his appearance. :o Well all I can say is your one of the luckest fisherman around. 2 minutes before netting that one he's talking about how he's going to catch a big red. I think i had banana's on my hands or something. Thats my excuse anyway....
TheSlyDeckie
07-12-2005, 10:06 AM
yeah still riding my luck for the last 3-4 years I've been fishing.
never forget that time I said "I don't care if i don't catch anything as long as i catch a coral trout". Sure enough...
Fixation
07-12-2005, 10:09 AM
Lady luck can only be on your side for so long. Good catch anyway mate. ;D
reeldreamer
07-12-2005, 04:55 PM
Nice red mate they look awesome pulling them up in the darkness then seeing the red!
Those Reds would have to be one of the best looking fish in the sea, and sooooo good to eat. Yummo
Well done
regards Roz