View Full Version : fishing spots needed

basserman
19-03-2004, 06:22 AM
G'Day all you QLDers
i will be comeing up at easter to stay for a week or so at a mates that lives at Ormeau and i was just wondering hopeing that you kind canetoads could tell me a few places i could catch a few out of my 385 explorer given that my mate only like to dangle the odd prawn and if i could also get a idea of a good fishing charter and how much they cost up their!
PLEASE! [smiley=ears.gif]

19-03-2004, 07:41 AM
The closest spots to Ormeau will be Jumpinpin and the Southport Seaway. See Dave Downies site for heaps of information on Jumpinpin. Should be some tailor around, flathead and bream etc. Maybe a jew if you are prepared to work a bit harder. Similar for the seaway - there is a deep hole just at end of the North wall which forms an eddy on the flood tide. Often holds tailor, trevally. Also mangrove jack, jew and yellowtail kings.

There has been plenty written on fishing these spots over the years. A quick search on this site or one of the others should see you with enough info to bore you to tears.

I am sure that if you remind us closer to the time, there would be someone who is going fishing down that way over Easter who would be happy for you to follow them around. I would be for one, but not sure what my plans are for easter yet.

basserman
19-03-2004, 09:52 AM
yeh thank that is what i need some one to follow to find these places i'v heard of them but it is a big place.
last time i was up there we put in a cabbagetree i think it was called

propdinger
19-03-2004, 12:14 PM
yeah mate i can show you howe to catch grinners....................lol

joke

jeff

19-03-2004, 12:16 PM
Give spike2 a pm. He's a Gold coast boy, and knows how to dong a Bream or 2 ! Hey Steve ;)

imported_admin
20-03-2004, 05:56 PM
If you are looking for a charter give Mono a call, only 1 hour south of where you will be staying.

Mono's Sportfishing Adventures - 02 66851913
Brunswick Heads

basserman
20-03-2004, 06:00 PM
thanks alot steve will look into that one as well as the other that other have surgeted

Nugget
21-03-2004, 06:38 AM
Easter is a mad time - boats everywhere.
If I was you I'd look at the Coomera, Coombabah Creek as the best option.
You should get whiting, flathead, trevally, crabs, prawns and maybe a late season jack.

The Broadwater will drive you nuts with the jetskis.

Dave ><>